Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Germany
mobilegirl

mobilegirl
© Niclas Hille

Berlin-based Bao-Tran Tran or mobilegirl is an affiliate of STAYCORE, a label launched by Stockholm-based producers Dinamarca and Ghazal and Scandinavia’s darker, outward-looking answer to the marketability of London’s PC Music. mobilegirl shifts tempos and adds triplet bleeps and bloops, metallic crunches, or reggaeton kicks to turn R&B classics into futuristic Afro-Caribbean dance tracks.
 
She first attracted attention with her remix on Dinamarca’s No Hay Break EP, after which she continued zapping hits by the likes of 90s idols TLC and J-Lo. Her remix of Brandy’s “Angel in Disguise” was included on STAYCORE’s hit Summer Jams 2K15 compilation. Her debut EP Poise, which was released in autumn 2017, was a project to decelerate – a reaction to the music industry’s fast pace and with strong sonic inspiration from roleplaying and adventure video games. Almost contrary to the high energy of her remixes and DJ sets, the 6-track-EP creates a calming atmosphere for one to escape to.
 
mobilegirl has performed in cities all over Europe, including London, Stockholm and Krakow's new club 89, and at festivals including CTM and Unsound. In 2017 she completed her first Asian tour, with shows in Taipei, Seoul, Hong Kong and Shanghai.
 
mobilegirl is funded by CTM’s Berlin Current initiative, which aims to support the city’s emerging artists and sound cultures. Funded by MusicBoard Berlin.

Top

mobilegirl © Niclas Hille
Nusasonic in Yogyakarta

mobilegirl | Deutschland

Die in Berlin lebende Bao-Tran Tran oder mobilegirl gehört zu STAYCORE, einem Label der in Stockholm ansässigen Produzenten Dinamarca und Ghazal und Skandinaviens dunkler, nach außen drängender Antwort auf die Marktfähigkeit von Londons PC Music. mobilegirl verschiebt Tempi und fügt Triple Bleeps und Bloops, metallische Crunches oder Reggaeton Kicks hinzu, um R&B Klassiker in futuristische afro-karibische Dance Tracks zu verwandeln.
 
Sie machte zuerst mit ihrem Remix auf Dinamarcas No Hay Break EP auf sich aufmerksam. Nach diesem Erfolg nahm sie sich Hits von 90er-Idolen wie TLC und J-Lo an. Ihr Remix von Brandys „Angel in Disguise“ wurde in STAYCOREs Hit Summer Jams 2K15 aufgenommen. Ihr Debütalbum Poise, das im Herbst 2017 erschien, war ein Projekt zur Entschleunigung - eine Reaktion auf die schnelllebige Musikindustrie und mit starker klanglicher Inspiration durch Rollenspiele und Abenteuer-Videospielen. Fast im Gegensatz zu der hohen Energie ihrer Remixe und DJ-Sets schafft die 6-Track-EP eine beruhigende Atmosphäre, in die man entfliehen kann.
 
mobilegirl ist bereits in ganz Europa aufgetreten, unter anderem in Städten wie London, Stockholm und Krakaus neuem Club 89, sowie auf Festivals wie CTM und Unsound. Im Jahr 2017 absolvierte sie ihre erste Asien-Tour mit Shows in Taipei, Seoul, Hong Kong und Shanghai.
 
mobilegirl wird von der Berlin Current Initiative von CTM finanziert, die aufstrebende KünstlerInnen und Klangkulturen der Stadt unterstützt. Gefördert vom Musicboard Berlin.