Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Indonesia
Yennu Ariendra

Yennu Ariendra
Yennu Ariendra

Composer/musician Yennu Ariendra was born in Banyuwangi, East Java, Indonesia. Most of his work takes traditional Indonesian values, history, and realities as starting points and weaves them into today’s world.

During his musical training, Ariendra became increasingly interested in interdisciplinary creation, with sound and music as his core focus. He perceives sound as method rather than merely a medium or product. In this spirit, many of his works depart from the strong practice of traditional art. Encompassing music, dance, performance, visuals, and rituals, Ariendra creates contemporary hybrid works with a critical narrative related to the history of Indonesian society.

The composer is currently working with the contemporary theatre collective, “Teater Garasi/Garasi Performance Institute,” as well as on his rock band project named Melancholic Bitch. He is also part of experimental and collective sound laboratory WYST (What’s Your Story Today). In 2018 he initiated a project with J. ‘Mo’ong’ Santoso Pribadi about the war of narratives during the Dutch occupation in Indonesia.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Indonesien
Yennu Ariendra

Yennu Ariendra
Yennu Ariendra

Komponist / Musiker Yennu Ariendra wurde in Banyuwangi, Ost-Java, Indonesien geboren. Die meisten seiner Arbeiten nehmen traditionelle indonesische Werte, Geschichte und Wirklichkeiten als Ausgangspunkte und verflechten sie mit der heutigen Welt.

Während seiner musikalischen Ausbildung interessierte sich Ariendra zunehmend für interdisziplinäres Schaffen, wobei Ton und Musik im Mittelpunkt standen. Er empfindet Klang als Methode und nicht nur als Medium oder Produkt. In diesem Sinne weichen viele seiner Arbeiten von der starken Praxis der traditionellen Kunst ab. Ariendra umfasst Musik, Tanz, Performance, Visuals und Rituale und schafft zeitgenössische hybride Werke mit einer kritischen Erzählung, die sich auf die Geschichte der indonesischen Gesellschaft bezieht.

Der Komponist arbeitet derzeit mit dem zeitgenössischen Theaterkollektiv "Teater Garasi / Garasi Performance Institute" sowie mit seinem Rockband-Projekt Melancholic Bitch zusammen. Er ist auch Teil des experimentellen und kollektiven Klanglabors WYST (What's Your Story Today). Im Jahr 2018 initiierte er ein Projekt mit J. 'Mo'ong' Santoso Pribadi über den Krieg der Narrative während der holländischen Besetzung in Indonesien.

Top