Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Indonesia
Uwalmassa

Uwalmassa
Uwalmassa

The concept behind the trio named Uwalmassa is the fusion of international sounds – from traditional to modern – with translation through an Indonesian lens. Uwalmassa acknowledge that the Indonesian identity is not something that is diminishing, but rather in need of being reconstructed – that it is still subject to reinterpretation. This does not justify erasing existing cultural identities, however. Instead, it is an incentive to continue to build upon pre-existing foundations. Throughout their work and research, they challenge shallow and narrow thought processes used in understanding the vastness that is Indonesia.

Elaborate production techniques and non-conventional composition methods are at the core of Uwalmassa’s music. By incorporating elements from a broad musical spectrum, Uwalmassa aim to convey a relevant narrative within the contemporary climate. Instead of preservation, they take on the initiative of bringing Indonesian arts and culture into more explorative and imaginative sonic realms. Simultaneously, this opens up the path for more thorough research into the parts of Indonesia’s musical knowledge and history that have been lost.

In 2018 they released their Bumi Uthiri EP on DIVISI62, a Jakarta-based sound and visual arts label aiming to reach new heights in the continual construction of the Indonesian identity. The same year they also featured on a split EP, Animisme, with a track described by Boomkat as a “combination of swinging syncopation and fragrant vocal samples coming off like Shackleton dubbing Senyawa.” They have performed for Raung Raya (curated by Rabih Beaini) in Berghain, Berlin, and at Alur Bunyi at Goethe Institut Indonesia in Jakarta. They held an exhibition, titled “Paripurna,” at Ruci Art Space in Jakarta.

Top

Uwalmassa Uwalmassa
Nusasonic in Yogyakarta

Uwalmassa | Indonesien

Das Konzept des Trios Uwalmassa ist die Verschmelzung internationaler Klänge - von traditionell bis modern - mit der Übersetzung durch eine indonesische Linse. Uwalmassa räumt ein, dass die indonesische Identität nicht verschwindet, sondern rekonstruiert werden muss - dass sie immer noch einer Neuinterpretation unterliegt. Dies rechtfertigt jedoch nicht das Auslöschen vorhandener kultureller Identitäten. Es ist vielmehr ein Anreiz, weiterhin auf bereits bestehenden Grundlagen aufzubauen. Während ihrer Arbeit und Forschung fordern sie flache und enge Denkprozesse heraus, die zum Verständnis der Weite Indonesiens verwendet werden.

Aufwendige Produktionstechniken und nicht-konventionelle Kompositionsmethoden bilden den Kern von Uwalmassas Musik. Durch die Einbeziehung von Elementen aus einem breiten musikalischen Spektrum zielen Uwalmassa darauf ab, eine relevante Erzählung innerhalb des gegenwärtigen Klimas zu vermitteln. Statt der Bewahrung übernehmen sie die Initiative, indonesische Kunst und Kultur in explorative und fantasievolle Klangwelten zu bringen. Gleichzeitig eröffnet dies den Weg für eine gründlichere Erforschung der Teile des verlorenen musikalischen Wissens und Geschichte Indonesiens.

Im Jahr 2018 veröffentlichten sie ihre Bumi Uthiri EP auf DIVISI62, einem in Jakarta ansässigen Sound- und Visual-Arts-Label mit dem Ziel, neue Höhen in der kontinuierlichen Konstruktion der indonesischen Identität zu erreichen. Im selben Jahr spielten sie auch auf der EP Animisme, mit einem Track, der von Boomkat als "Kombination aus swingender Synkopierung und duftenden Vocal-Samples, die sich anhören, als würde Shackleton Senyawa synchronisieren" bezeichnet wurde. Sie traten für Raung Raya auf (kuratiert von Rabih Beaini) in Berghain, Berlin, und im Rahmen der Musikreihe Alur Bunyi am Goethe Institut Indonesia in Jakarta auf. Sie veranstalteten eine Ausstellung mit dem Titel "Paripurna" im Ruci Art Space in Jakarta.