Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Iran
Sote

Sote
©

Ata Ebtekar aka Sote is an electronic music composer and sound artist based in Tehran, Iran. Over the last two decades, he has published his work via established labels such as Warp, Sub Rosa, Opal Tapes, Morphine, Digitalis and Repitch, among others. He is a co-founder of the SET Festival in Tehran.

Known for creating compositions that range from the delicate to the abrasive, using sounds both of acoustical and electronic origins, Ebtekar sees music as the expression of cultural habits and views on sound and anti sound (silence). Seeking to expand such traditions he creates music that, while rooted in many cultures at once, itself belongs to none in particular. His works show a strong emphasis on electro-acoustic techniques, microtonal systems and polyrhythmic motifs.

Aside from his solo work and multi-channel sound installations, Sote has recently developed a new project with celebrated audiovisual composer Tarik Barri and performers Arash Bolouri (on santour, a Persian hammered dulcimer) and Behrouz Pashaei (on the long-necked, four-string setar). Titled Sacred Horror in Design, the work merges electronics with traditional acoustic instruments for a “Persian techno apocalypse.” The project, was put out in album format by Opal Tapes in July 2017, and on vinyl via Sub Rosa this summer 2018.

Sote has created commissioned work for and performed at, among other, Berghain and CTM Festival (Berlin), Unsound Festival (Krakow), Cafe Oto (London), Jazzhouse (Copenhagen), TodaysArt Festival (The Hague), Bozar (Brussels), Ultima Festival (Oslo), and Donaufestival (Krems).

Top

Sote ©
Nusasonic in Yogyakarta

Sote | Iran

Ata Ebtekar alias Sote ist ein Komponist und Klangkünstler für elektronische Musik mit Sitz in Teheran, Iran. In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten hat er seine Arbeit über etablierte Labels wie Warp, Sub Rosa, Opal Tapes, Morphine, Digitalis und Repitch veröffentlicht. Er ist Mitbegründer des SET Festivals in Teheran.

Bekannt für die Schaffung von Kompositionen, die von delikat bis aggressiv reichen und sowohl akustische als auch elektronische Klänge verwenden, sieht Ebtekar Musik als Ausdruck von kulturellen Gewohnheiten und Ansichten über Klang und Anti-Sound (Stille). Um solche Traditionen zu erweitern, kreiert er Musik, die zwar in vielen Kulturen gleichzeitig verwurzelt ist, aber keinem besonderen Musikgenre angehört. Seine Arbeiten zeigen eine starke Betonung elektroakustischer Techniken, mikrotonaler Systeme und polyrhythmischer Motive.

Neben seinen Soloarbeiten und Mehrkanal-Klanginstallationen hat Sote kürzlich ein neues Projekt mit dem gefeierten audiovisuellen Komponisten Tarik Barri und den Künstlern Arash Bolouri (auf Santour, einem persischen Hackbrett) und Behrouz Pashaei (auf der langhalsigen, vierseitigen Setar) entwickelt. Unter dem Titel Sacred Horror in Design verbindet das Werk Elektronik mit traditionellen akustischen Instrumenten für eine "persische Techno-Apokalypse". Das Projekt wurde im Juli 2017 im Album-Format von Opal Tapes und im Sommer 2018 auf Vinyl via Sub Rosa veröffentlicht.

Sote hat Auftragsarbeiten für u.a. das Berghain und CTM Festival (Berlin), das Unsound Festival (Krakau), Cafe Oto (London), Jazzhouse (Kopenhagen), TodaysArt Festival (Den Haag), Bozar (Brüssel), Ultima Festival (Oslo) und Donaufestival (Krems) entwickelt und ist dort aufgetreten.