Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Indonesia
Setabuhan

Setabuhan
©

Setabuhan is a project created by Rully Shabara in 2017. In essence, it is a modern reinvention of tribal trance music delivered by the pure muscle and stamina of two heavy percussionists (Ramberto Agozalie and Caesarking), with voice (Rully Shabara) as the only other instrument. The project is originally inspired by the monotonous and interlocking beats of the ancient Central Sulawesian ritual, Balia; a dance associated with animism and sacred objects, particularly relating to traditional medicine used to treat someone who is affected by evil spirits.

The music of Setabuhan tries to maintain the concept of opposed yet somewhat synchronized duality, but then amplifies the energy with layers of heavy contemporary sounds. Their live performances are accompanied by pairs of martial artists fighting each other, or, in some cases, the band opens the pit to audience members or selected amateur fighters to participate in free-form street fighting styles. The project does not to promote violence, but rather aims to propose ways of managing aggression and body contact via an ultimate spectacle and release of raw energy.

Setabuhan released their first album this past March 2018 on Yes No Wave Music. They have performed at the Jogja Biennale XIV, Yes No Klub, Dark MOFO in Tasmania, and the Resonant Bodies Festival 2018 in Sydney, Australia.

Top

Setabuhan ©
Nusasonic in Yogyakarta, BlackKajiXtra

Setabuhan | Indonesien

Das Projekt Setabuhan wurde im Jahr 2017 von Rully Shabara initiiert. Im Wesentlichen ist es eine moderne Neuerfindung der Tribal-Trance-Musik durch die reine Muskelkraft und Ausdauer von zwei schweren Perkussionisten (Ramberto Agozalie und Caesarking), mit der Stimme (Rully Shabara) als das einzige andere Instrument. Das Projekt ist ursprünglich von den monotonen und ineinandergreifenden Beats des alten zentral-sulawesischen Rituals Balia inspiriert; ein Tanz, der mit Animismus und sakralen Objekten verbunden ist, insbesondere in Bezug auf die traditionelle Medizin, die benutzt wird, um jemanden zu behandeln, der von bösen Geistern beeinflusst wird.

Die Musik von Setabuhan versucht das Konzept der gegensätzlichen, aber etwas synchronisierten Dualität beizubehalten, verstärkt dann aber die Energie mit Schichten von schweren zeitgenössischen Klängen. Ihre Live-Auftritte werden von Kampfsportler-Paaren begleitet, die sich gegenseitig bekämpfen, oder – in einigen Fällen – öffnet die Band den Zuschauern oder ausgewählten Amateurkämpfern die Box, um an den Kämpfen im Straßenkampfstil teilzunehmen. Das Projekt dient nicht zur Förderung von Gewalt, sondern zielt darauf ab, Wege zur Bewältigung von Aggression und Körperkontakt durch ein ultimatives Spektakel und Freisetzung von Rohenergie vorzuschlagen.

Setabuhan veröffentlichten ihr erstes Album im März 2018 auf Yes No Wave Music. Sie traten bereits auf der Jogja Biennale XIV, dem Yes No Klub, dem Dark MOFO in Tasmanien und dem Resonant Bodies Festival 2018 in Sydney, Australien, auf.