Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Indonesia
Rully Shabara

Rully Shabara
©

Born in Palu, Central Sulawesi, Indonesia, Rully Shabara is interested in exploring oral traditions, folkloric texts, and the human voice as a medium of creation. Shabara is perhaps best-known internationally for his work as one-half of duo Senyawa (with Wukir Suryadi), where he explores the limits of the vocal range and vocal textures. As a solo artist, he has releases on labels dualpLOVER, Morphine Records, and Yes No Wave Music.

Shabara has initiated numerous concept-based projects around the human voice. For instance, Zoo (with Bhakti Prasetyo, Ramberto Agozalie, and Dimas Budi Satya) is a 20-year long conceptual project that “gradually builds up a reinvention of post-apocalyptic civilizations by addressing a specific theme, one album at a time.” The project has been released by Mexico’s Audition Records. Shabara conducts a series of improvisation performances/initatives, such as Kombo, Raung Jagat, and Gaung Jagat, and has given workshops around the globe, with a focus on fostering more systematic experimentation for vocal improvisation. He also participated in Biennale Jogja XIII, 2015.

Rully Shabara has collaborated with many notable international musicians and artists such as Keiji Haino, Stephen O’Malley, Otomo Yoshihide, Rabih Beaini, Damo Suzuki, Bob Ostertag, Yoshida Tatsuya, Trevor Dunn, and Greg Fox.

Shabara will also appear at Nusasonic as part of Setabuhan.

Top

Rully Shabara
Nusasonic in Yogyakarta, BlackKajiXtra

Rully Shabara | Indonesien

Rully Shabara wurde in Palu, Zentral-Sulawesi, Indonesien geboren und interessiert sich für mündliche Überlieferungen, folkloristische Texte und die menschliche Stimme als Medium der Schöpfung. Shabara ist vielleicht international am bekanntesten für seine Arbeit als eine Hälfte des Duos Senyawa (mit Wukir Suryadi), wo er die Grenzen des Stimmumfangs und der Stimmstrukturen erforscht. Als Solokünstler hat er bereits auf den Labels dualpLOVER, Morphine Records und Yes No Wave Music veröffentlicht.

Shabara hat zahlreiche konzeptionelle Projekte rund um die menschliche Stimme initiiert. Zum Beispiel ist Zoo (mit Bhakti Prasetyo, Ramberto Agozalie und Dimas Budi Satya) ein 20-jähriges konzeptuelles Projekt, das "schrittweise eine Neuerfindung postapokalyptischer Zivilisationen aufbaut, indem ein bestimmtes Thema auf einem Album nach dem anderen angesprochen wird". Das Projekt wurde von Mexikos Audition Records veröffentlicht. Shabara dirigiert eine Reihe von Improvisations-Performances / Initiativen wie Kombo, Raung Jagat und Gaung Jagat und hat bereits Workshops mit dem Schwerpunkt auf systematischeren Experimenten für vokale Improvisation auf der ganzen Welt geleitet. Er nahm auch an der Biennale Jogja XIII 2015 teil.

Rully Shabara hat mit vielen namhaften internationalen Musikern und Künstlern wie Keiji Haino, Stephen O'Malley, Otomo Yoshihide, Rabih Beaini, Damo Suzuki, Bob Ostertag, Yoshida Tatsuya, Trevor Dunn und Greg Fox zusammengearbeitet.

Bei Nusasonic wird Shabara auch als ein Teil von Setabuhan auftreten.