MUSIC | WORKSHOP

BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic– Cari Padu

BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic
©Goethe-Institut/James Hii http://©Goethe-Institut/James Hii

Fri, 19.07.2019 8:00 PM

The Substation

45 Armenian St
179936 Singapore

Details

Language: English
Price: Interested parties to apply at
info@theobservatory.com.sg

Related links

Rully Shabara (Indonesia) leads a public choir using structured improvisation and freeform expression.

BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic is a special two-day programme on 20–21 July 2019 in Singapore, with panels and workshop in the day, and concerts at night. The workshop will be held on Friday, 19 July, where Rully Shabara of Setabuhan will form a public choir, Cari Padu, which comments on human pursuits and governance of social structures. The choir, led by Shabara, will learn vocalisation exercises and collectively devise a work that will be performed on the second day of the Nusasonic programme.   
 
Nusasonic is a multi-year project that plunges into a broad spectrum of experimental sound and music cultures in Southeast Asia, enabling dialogue within the region, with Europe, and beyond. Adopting a multi-perspective approach, the project is collaboratively created by Yes No Klub (Yogyakarta), WSK Festival of the Recently Possible (Manila), Playfreely/BlackKaji (Singapore), and CTM Festival for Adventurous Music & Art (Berlin). Nusasonic is an initiative of the Goethe-Institut in Southeast Asia.
 
Taking its title from “Nusantara,” an ancient Javanese term which is nowadays used to address the multiple connections between Southeast Asian countries, Nusasonic incorporates a mix of formats such as artistic labs, commissioned works, concerts, installations, festivals, lectures, publications and more to look at how contemporary sound practices enable connections and dialogues within the Southeast Asian region and with Europe, all while paying critical attention to local contexts and ongoing global asymmetries. In addition to presenting outstanding artistic voices to the public, the initiative aims to support artists in their practice, to strengthen local networks, to encourage cross-border and inter-cultural cooperation, and to contribute to broadening the understanding of contemporary sound practices.
 
Nusasonic kicked off in 2018 in Yogyakarta. The project will take different shapes and formats and visit Manila, Singapore, and other locations in Southeast Asian over the coming years. The initiative will also connect to Berlin and to some extent the globe.

MUSIK | WORKSHOP: BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic– Cari Padu - Goethe-Institut
MUSIK | WORKSHOP

BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic– Cari Padu

BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic
©Goethe-Institut/James Hii http://©Goethe-Institut/James Hii

Fr, 19.07.2019 20:00 Uhr

The Substation

45 Armenian St
179936 Singapore

Details

Sprache: Englisch
Preis: Interessierte können sich bewerben unter
info@theobservatory.com.sg

Links zum Thema

Rully Shabara (Indonesien) leitet einen öffentlichen Chor mittels strukturierter Improvisation und freien Ausdrucksformen.

Das BlackKajiXtra: Nusasonic Programm vom 20. bis 21. Juli 2019 in Singapur besteht aus einer Reihe an Vorträgen, Workshops und Konzerten. Während des Workshops am Freitag, den 19. Juli, wird Setabuhan-Projektgründer Rully Shabara einen öffentlichen Chor leiten (bezeichnet als Cari Padu), der menschliches Streben und Überwachung durch soziale Strukturen kommentiert. Der Chor wird Stimmübungen erlernen und gemeinsam ein Stück erarbeiten, das am zweiten Tag des Nusasonic-Programms aufgeführt wird. 
 
Nusasonic ist ein mehrjähriges Projekt, das sich mit der Gegenwart und Vielfalt experimenteller Sound- und Musikpraktiken in Südostasien befasst und diese mit Soundkulturen in Europa und andernorts in Austausch bringt. In einem multiperspektivischen Prozess entwickeln Yes No Klub (Yogyakarta), WSK Festival of the Recently Possible (Manila), Playfreely/BlackKaji (Singapur), und CTM Festival for Adventurous Music (Berlin) das Projekt fortlaufend weiter. Nusasonic ist eine Initiative der Goethe-Institute in Südostasien.
 
Benannt ist Nusasonic nach dem alten javanischen Begriff Nusantara, der im heutigen Gebrauch die Vielfalt an Beziehungen und Verbindungen zwischen den Ländern Südostasiens bezeichnet. Unter Berücksichtigung von lokalen Kontexten und fortdauernden, globalen Asymmetrien möchte Nusasonic Künstlerinnen und Künstler in ihrem Schaffen fördern, die auditiven Kunstpraktiken aus Südostasien verständlich und sichtbar machen, lokale Netzwerke unterstützen und die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Akteuren aus Südostasien, Europa und anderen Teilen der Welt fördern. Dazu verschränkt das Projekt eine Bandbreite verschiedener Aktivitäten und Formate, die sich in wechselnden Konstellationen der Produktion, Reflektion, Präsentation und Vernetzung experimenteller Musikszenen und Soundkulturen widmen.
 
Nach dem Auftakt in Yogyakarta letztes Jahr tritt Nusasonic in den kommenden Jahren in unterschiedlicher Form in Manila, Singapur und Berlin sowie an weiteren Standorten in Südostasien auf.