ARTIFICIALLY CORRECT HACKATHON 1.-3.10.2021


How does bias get into translation and what can we do about it? To find answers and solutions to this question, we invited activists, translators, software developers and everyone who is interested in the topic to join our online hackathon at the beginning of October 2021.
 

Illustration, to the left a magnifying glass, to the right a screen with a brain on it. © Goethe-Institut. Illustration: EL BOUM

 

Congratulations to the winning teams: Team 4c (A Word2Vec solution) and 3a (BiasByUs)!

Team 4c (A Word2Vec solution) looked at the fact that tools like Google Translate, DeepL etc. have difficulties with more complex content. The solution is a web platform that uses Word2Vec architecture which works by comparing words and identifying how "closely" they correspond to the context. The idea was praised for creating a very complete solution, which can be expanded for further languages and bias; the jury also liked the idea of making bias measurable.

Team 3a (BiasByUs) created a website: a crowdsourced database of bias examples and a source of information on the impact of bias. In future the database could be implemented as a browser plug-in. It's also about creating community around the subject and unbiasing the world collectively! BiasByUs was chosen because of its collaborative character and potential for further research. Users can educate themselves and find better alternatives. The jury encourages the team to work further on the browser plug-in idea.

An honourable mention goes to team 2b and the idea of a "gender neutral" toggle. With a "gender neutral" toggle - all German pronouns (sie/er/neo) would be changed into they/them pronouns in English. The jury stressed the relevance of the proposed solution for the non-binary community. The idea also pointed to the important fact that pronouns and grammar are always evolving.

A short summary of all Top 5-Teams who have pitched their ideas can be found on Goethe-Institut London’s twitter account.

Congratulations to all ten teams who made it through the hackathon! We loved the open-minded spirit of all participants and hope to see the ideas merging and evolving towards a better, less biased landscape of AI-based translation tools!

Huge thanks to all our partners, experts and jury members and all the participants who have shared their ideas with us! A special thanks to our Partner Impact Hub who have planned the Hackathon with us and have technically conducted it for us!
 

What was the Hackathon about?

The aim of The Artificially Correct Hackathon 2021 was to develop innovative, forwardlooking ideas and projects with regards to tackling bias in language and machine translation. The participants worked on one of the proposed challenges or their own projects, with the aim of coming up with innovative solutions, e.g. concepts, games, apps etc. The best projects developed during the event were awarded by the Goethe-Institut. 

 

Challenges

Click on the links below to get to know all the details for each challenge. You don't need all the skills that are stated in the description, as long as you are interested in the topic. The participants will be combined in teams by their interest and knowledge background, unless you are registering as a group.

Challenge 1: Interactive station for recording and crowdsourcing a multilingual speech dataset. Conducted by ZKM (Center for Art and Media, Karlsruhe).
Read more

Challenge 2: Gender-fair post-editing of Machine Translation. Conducted by University of Graz and University of Vienna. In this challenge, you will find strategies for post-editing and improving biased MT outputs to achieve gender-fair translations between the languages of English and German.
Read more
 
Challenge 3: Database and detection of gender bias in A.I. translations. Conducted by IfM (Institut für Medien- und Kommunikationspolitik) and FCAI (Finnish Centre for Artificial Intelligence).
The goal of this challenge is to define and analyse gender bias from machine translation systems and create a database in which all users can gather, describe and discuss cases of bias.
Read more
 
Challenge 4: Identifying sentences susceptible to machine translation bias. Conducted by Danielle Saunders. During this challenge, you will automatically identify bias- susceptible sentences, ideally in a way that generalises to other languages than English.
Read more
 
Challenge 5: Does bias in collections and archives survive translation and multilingualism? Conducted by Cultural A.I. In this challenge you will experiment with the Dutch tool SABIO (the SociAl BIas Observatory), which explores patterns of bias in museum collections and heritage archives, and build extensions for cross- and multilingual contexts.
Read more
 
Challenge 6: Measuring the effects of representational bias. Conducted by EQUITBL, and WASP-WARA-Media and Language. The goal of this challenge is to find a way to automatically test whether the amount of unbalanced representation of genders affect the quality of the resulting tools with regard to bias for example.  
Read more
 

Day 1: Friday

Please note: the time is according to CET

Arrive on Slack, get used to the platform and leave a friendly "hello" in your challenge space
A few words of welcome Introduction of partners & challenges.
   
Find your team members on Slack, get to know each other and LET'S GO
During the hack time, challenge partners can be booked for Q&A
   

Day 2: Saturday

 Arrive on Slack - Good Morning Team :-) 
Welcome & Agenda Day 2 
Physical warm-up stretching before we continue hacking  
Continue working on the challenge with your team 
Experts are available during hack time and can be booked via Calendly
Treat yourself for some nice lunch!  
Hack.Hack.Hack 
Experts are available during hack time and can be booked via Calendly  
   
Closing Day 2 
Open end hacking until you're out of coffee
 

Day 3: Sunday 

Arrive on Slack
 Welcome & Agenda Day 3
Brief guided meditation to start your day
Input about submission process & pitch training 
It's the final countdown... 
   
Finish line - please submit your solutions
... your deserve it  
Announcement of the Top 5 
The Top 5 pitch their projects  
Time to celebrate  
Final Closing Hackathon

Contact

If you have any questions or inquiries, don't hesitate to contact us:

Partners

Read more

Partnerlogos Logos Logos

About the project

Language defines the world. The Goethe-Institut stands for inclusive language; and thus, for an inclusive world.

With Artificially Correct, we work with experts to develop a translation tool that minimises the bias in translations. We want to strengthen the position of translators by developing a conscious approach to Machine Translation, and promote awareness of social diversity and inclusion.
Specifically, Artificially Correct deals with AI-based translation tools and their built-in biases (e.g., towards gender and race). Artificially Correct creates an active network of people affected by this problem - translators, publishers, activists and experiential experts, and identifies partners who will pursue the issue with us in the long term. We bring together perspectives, create awareness, share knowledge and stimulate discussion.

Timetable

ARTIFICIALLY CORRECT HACKATHON 1.-3.10.2021


Wie kommt Bias in eine Übersetzung und was können wir dagegen tun? Um Antworten und Lösungen auf diese Frage zu finden, luden wir Aktivist*innen, Übersetzer*innen,  Softwareentwickler*innen und alle anderen Interessierten vom 1.-3. Oktober 2021 zu einem Online-Hackathon ein. 
 

Illustration, auf der linken Seite eine Lupe, auf der rechten Seite ein Computerbildschirm, auf dem ein Gehirn abgebildet ist. © Goethe-Institut. Illustration: EL BOUM

 

Herzlichen Glückwunsch an die Gewinnerteams: Team 4c (A Word2Vec solution) und Team 3a (BiasByUs)! 

Team 4c (A Word2Vec solution) beschäftigte sich mit der Tatsache, dass Tools wie Google Translate, DeepL etc. Schwierigkeiten mit komplexeren Inhalten haben. Ihre Lösung hierfür ist eine Webplattform, die die Word2Vec-Architektur nutzt und Wörter vergleicht sowie feststellt, wie "eng" sie mit dem Kontext übereinstimmen. Die Idee wurde dafür gelobt, dass sie eine sehr vollständige Lösung darstellt, die auf zusätzliche Sprachen und Bias erweitert werden kann; der Jury gefiel zudem die Idee, Bias messbar zu machen.

Team 3a (BiasByUs) erstellte eine Website, die als Crowdsourcing-Datenbank mit Beispielen für Bias sowie als Informationsquelle über die Auswirkungen von Bias dient. In Zukunft könnte die Datenbank als Browser-Plug-in implementiert werden. BiasByUs geht es zudem darum, eine Gemeinschaft rund um das Thema zu schaffen und die Welt gemeinsam von Bias zu befreien! BiasByUs wurde aufgrund seines kollaborativen Charakters und seines Potenzials für weitere Forschungen ausgewählt. Die Nutzer*innen der Webseite können sich selbst weiterbilden und bessere Alternativen finden. Die Jury ermutigte das Team, weiter an der Idee des Browser-Plug-ins zu arbeiten.

Eine lobende Erwähnung ging außerdem an das Team 2b und die Idee eines "geschlechtsneutralen" Toggles. Mit einem "geschlechtsneutralen" Toggle würden alle deutschen Pronomen (sie/er/neo) in die englischen Pronomen they/them umgewandelt. Die Jury betonte die Relevanz der vorgeschlagenen Lösung für die nicht-binäre Community. Die Idee wies auch auf die wichtige Tatsache hin, dass sich Pronomen und Grammatik stets weiterentwickeln.

Kurze Zusammenfassungen der Top 5 Ideen, die während des Hackathons gepitcht wurden, können auf dem Twitter-Account des Goethe-Institut London nachgelesen werden:

Herzlichen Glückwunsch an alle zehn Teams, die es durch den Hackathon geschafft haben! Wir waren begeistert von der Aufgeschlossenheit aller Teilnehmer*innen und hoffen, dass die Ideen zusammenwachsen und sich zu einer besseren, weniger voreingenommenen Landschaft von KI-basierten Übersetzungswerkzeugen entwickeln!

Vielen Dank an alle Partnerorganisationen, Expert*innen, die Jury und alle, die teilgenommen und ihre Ideen mit uns geteilt haben! Ein besonders großes Dankeschön auch an Impact Hub Berlin, die den Hackathon mit uns geplant und technisch durchgeführt haben.


Worum ging es beim Hackathon?


Ziel des Artificially Correct Hackathons 2021 war es, innovative und zukunftsweisende Ideen und Projekte zu entwickeln, die Bias in Sprache und maschinellen Übersetzungen minimieren. Während des Hackathons arbeiteten die Teilnehmenden an einer der vorgeschlagenen Challenges oder an ihren eigenen Projekt, um innovative Lösungen zu finden, zum Beispiel Konzepte, Spiele, Apps usw. Die besten Projekte wurden mit einem Preis ausgezeichnet. 



 

Challenges

Detaillierte Informationen zu den Challenges findet ihr, wenn ihr den Links unter den Beschreibungen folgt. Um an einer Challenge teilzunehmen, müsst ihr nicht alle Vorkenntnisse in der Beschreibung mitbringen, solange ihr euch für das Thema der Challenge interessiert. Ihr werdet in passende Teams eingeteilt, es sei denn, ihr meldet euch als Gruppe an.

Challenge 1: Interaktive Station für die Aufnahme und Crowdsourcing eines mehrsprachigen Sprachdatensatzes. Durchgeführt vom ZKM (Zentrum für Kunst und Medien, Karlsruhe). In dieser Challenge entwickelt ihr ein Set von Tools und eine Schnittstelle für Crowdsourcing, einen Sprachdatensatz, der in eine interaktive Station eingebettet werden kann. 
Weitere Informationen

Challenge 2: Genderfaires Post-Editing maschineller Übersetzung. Durchgeführt von Universität Graz und Universität Wien. In dieser Challenge entwickelt ihr Strategien zum Post-Editing und zur Verbesserung von MT-Outputs, um Übersetzungen zwischen den Sprachen Englisch und Deutsch genderfair zu gestalten.
Weitere Informationen
 
Challenge 3: Datenbank und Erkennung von Gender Bias bei maschinellen Übersetzungen. Durchgeführt von IfM (Institut für Medien- und Kommunikationspolitik) und FCAI (Finnish Centre for Artificial Intelligence). Ziel dieser Challenge ist es, Gender Bias in maschinellen Übersetzungssystemen zu definieren und zu analysieren und eine Datenbank zu erstellen, in der alle Benutzer*innen Fälle von Bias sammeln, beschreiben und diskutieren können.
Weitere Informationen
 
Challenge 4: Identifizieren von Sätzen, die anfällig für Verzerrungen bei der maschinellen Übersetzung sind. Durchgeführt von Danielle Saunders. In dieser Challenge geht es darum, Wege zu finden, Bias-anfällige Sätze automatisch zu identifizieren - bestenfalls in einer Art und Weise, die andere Sprachen als Englisch zum Ausgangspunkt nimmt. 
Weitere Informationen

Challenge 5: Wird Bias in Sammlungen und Archiven durch Übersetzung und Mehrsprachigkeit überliefert? Durchgeführt von Cultural A.I. In dieser Challenge experimentierst du mit dem niederländischen Tool SABIO (SociAl BIas Observatory), das Verzerrungsmuster in Museumssammlungen und Kulturarchiven untersucht, und arbeitest an Erweiterungen für sprachübergreifende und mehrsprachige Kontexte. 
Weitere Informationen
 
Challenge 6: Messung der Auswirkungen von Repräsentationsbias. Durchgeführt von EQUITBL und WASP-WARA-Media and Language. Das Ziel dieser Challenge ist es, einen Weg zu finden, automatisch zu testen, ob die Menge der unausgewogenen Repräsentation von Geschlechtern die Qualität der resultierenden Tools beispielsweise in Bezug auf Bias beeinflusst. 
Weitere Informationen
 

Bitte beachten: alle Zeitangaben entsprechen MEZ.

Arrive on Slack, get used to the platform and leave a friendly "hello" in your challenge space
A few words of welcome Introduction of partners & challenges.
   
Find your team members on Slack, get to know each other and LET'S GO
During the hack time, challenge partners can be booked for Q&A
   

Kontakt

Hast du Fragen oder Anregungen zum Projekt? Schreib uns eine E-Mail an:

Partnerorganisationen

Mehr dazu

Partnerlogos Logos Logos

Über das Projekt

Sprache definiert die Welt. Das Goethe-Institut steht für eine inklusive Sprache – und damit für eine inklusive Welt. 

Mit Artificially Correct entwickeln wir mit Expert*innen ein Tool, das den Bias in Übersetzungen minimiert. Wir möchten die Stellung von Übersetzer*innen und einen bewussten Umgang mit Übersetzungsmaschinen stärken und in diese die Realität möglichst vieler Menschen inkludieren.     

Konkret beschäftigt sich Artificially Correct mit KI-basierten Übersetzungstools und den Verzerrungen (z.B. gender/racial-Bias), deren Übersetzungen sie generieren. Artificially Correct schafft ein aktives Netzwerk an Menschen, die dieses Problem betrifft – Übersetzer*innen, Verlage, Aktivist*innen und Erfahrungsexpert*innen – und identifiziert Partner*innen, die das Thema gemeinsam mit uns langfristig verfolgen. Wir bündeln Perspektiven, schaffen Aufmerksamkeit, vermitteln Wissen und regen die Diskussion an. 

Tagesplan