Lily McCraith

​Lily McCraith

Artist

  • Artificial intelligence, Technology, Arts

  • London (Germany)

Lily McCraith (b. 1996) lives in London, where she studied design at Goldsmiths, University of London. She also has an educational background in computer science. In her practice she combines both disciplines. In doing so she uses a variety of different media and tools such as code, performance, film, augmented reality, 3D modelling and simulations, 3D printing, electronics and artificial neural networks.

Lily McCraith realised several works with machine learning-based text generators. For her project Now Make This, for instance, she trained an artificial neural network with DIY instructions from platforms such as wikiHow and Instructables. She uses it to ask: “What happens when humans follow machine generated instructions?” This question addresses pertinent issues such as the increasing outsourcing of decisions to algorithms (ADM), responsibility in the use of algorithms, self and other-determination, but also potentials for expanding our capabilities through algorithmic tools.

During her stay at the RICAIP (Centre for Research and Innovation for Advanced Industrial Production) in Prague, Lily McCraith not only intends to exploit the potential of AI, but also to address the connections of this technology to our planet. Thus, on the one hand, we promise ourselves that AI will solve a wide array of problems, but on the other, the resource consumption of its application is an additional burden on the planet. Another of her research interests is the binding of people to technology, in particular on what ways civic actors can exert influence on it.

Contributions by ​Lily McCraith

Lily McCraith

​Lily McCraith

Künstlerin

  • Künstliche Intelligenz, Technologie, Künste

  • Berlin (Deutschland)

Lily McCraith (geb. 1996) lebt in London, wo sie an der Goldsmiths University Design studierte. Sie hat einen Bildungshintergrund in Informatik. In ihrer Praxis verbindet sie beide Disziplinen. Dazu verwendet sie eine Vielzahl verschiedener Medien und Werkzeuge wie Code, Performance, Film, Augmented Reality, 3D-Modellierung und Simulationen, 3D-Druck, Elektronik und Künstliche Neuronale Netze.

Lily McCraith realisierte mehrere Arbeiten mit auf Maschinellem Lernen basierenden Textgeneratoren. Beispielsweise trainierte sie für ihr Projekt Now Make This ein Künstliches Neuronales Netz mit DIY-Anleitungen von Plattformen wie wikiHow und Instructables. Sie fragt damit: „What happens when humans follow machine generated instructions?“ Diese Frage thematisiert relevante Themen wie die zunehmende Auslagerung von Entscheidungen in Algorithmen (ADM), Verantwortung in der Anwendung von Algorithmen, Selbst- und Fremdbestimmung, aber auch Potentiale der Erweiterung unserer Fähigkeiten durch algorithmische Tools.

Während ihres Aufenthaltes am RICAIP (Zentrum für Forschung und Innovation für fortgeschrittene Industrieproduktion) in Prag möchte Lily McCraith nicht nur das Potential von KI nutzen, sondern auch die Bindung dieser Technik an unseren Planeten thematisieren. So versprechen wir uns einerseits die Lösung vieler Probleme mittels KI, andererseits ist der Ressourcenverbrauch ihrer Anwendung eine zusätzliche Belastung für den Planeten. Ein weiteres Forschungsinteresse ist die Bindung von uns Menschen an die Technologie, vor allem Möglichkeiten der Einflussnahme durch Bürger*innen.

Beiträge von ​Lily McCraith