Daniel Szalai

​Daniel Szalai

Artist

  • Artificial intelligence, Technology, Arts

  • Budapest (Hungary)

Daniel Szalai (b. 1991) lives and works in Budapest and studied art and design theory and photography at the Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design there. During his studies he spent time abroad in Cologne and Vienna.
His work is centred on human-animal relationships, through which he represents our relationship to our environment on a social, political and economic level. One example is his work “Novogen”. “Novogen White” is a variety of egg-laying hens, the breeding of which is increasingly undergoing technical optimisation. The most suitable chickens can be evaluated on a genome basis for specific husbandry conditions. The chickens are advertised as easy to handle and efficient. Daniel Szalai portrayed 168 of these chickens in front of a blue photo studio background. They appear to us there as unique, individual creatures.
During his residency at the Artificial Intelligence and CAD Systems Lab in Sofia, Daniel Szalai will work on a project on the implementation of algorithms/machine learning in dairy production and calf rearing, supported by genomics databases. A core issue here is also the algorithmic control and optimisation of farm animals and our relationship to this practice.

Contributions by ​Daniel Szalai

Daniel Szalai

​Daniel Szalai

Künstler

  • Künstliche Intelligenz, Technologie, Künste

  • Cambridge (Vereinigtes Königreich)

Daniel Szalai (geb. 1991) lebt und arbeitet in Budapest. An der dortigen Moholy-Nagy University of Art and Design studierte er Kunst- und Design-Theorie und Fotografie. Währenddessen absolvierte er Auslandsaufenthalte in Köln und Wien.
Im Zentrum seiner Arbeit stehen Mensch-Tier-Beziehungen, mit denen er unser Verhältnis zu unserer Umgebung auf sozialer, politischer und ökonomischer Ebene repräsentiert. Ein Beispiel ist seine Arbeit “Novogen“. “Novogen White“ ist eine Rasse von Legehühnern, deren Züchtung zunehmend technisch optimiert wird. Für je spezifische Haltebedingungen können die geeignetsten Hühner auf Genom-Basis evaluiert werden. Die Hühner werden als leicht handhabbar und leistungsfähig angepriesen. Daniel Szalai portraitierte 168 dieser Hühner vor einem blauen Fotostudio-Hintergrund. Dort erscheinen sie uns als einzigartige Lebewesen.
Während seiner Residenz im Artificial Intelligence and CAD Systems Lab in Sofia wird Daniel Szalai an einem Projekt über die Implementierung von Algorithmen/ Maschinellem Lernen in die Milchproduktion und Kälberzucht, unterstützt durch Genomik-Datenbanken, arbeiten. Zentral geht es auch hier um die algorithmische Steuerung und Optimierung von Nutztieren und unser Verhältnis zu dieser Praxis.

Beiträge von ​Daniel Szalai