Data Detox

​​

Detox Workshop © Lena Ziyal In 2020 and 2021, online training courses for library staff of Goethe-Instituts abroad will be offered as part of the project "Generation A=Algorithm". These training courses are designed to empower libraries as third places actively shaping the digital transition.
 
Each of the four-day training courses will focus on our relationship to algorithms: How do digital technologies affect society and individual autonomy? How do algorithms change the way we access and react to information? What role do we play as users and consumers? How are we influenced by algorithms and how "transparent" are we? How can we be confident that images and texts on the web are "real"?
 
In the Train-the-Trainer courses, participating librarians of Goethe-Instituts abroad will learn how to present knowledge about algorithms and their influence on all our lives to young adults in a selection of workshops and with the help of various exhibitions. Education about online data protection and the preservation of autonomy in an algorithm-driven world is as much a focus of the training as is raising awareness of one's own data track on the web.

If you work as a librarian and are interested in the content of the training courses, please contact the Goethe-Institut in your country.

Partners

The training courses are offered in cooperation with Tactical Tech, a Berlin-based organisation working with an international audience of committed citizens and civil society actors to investigate and mitigate the impact of technology on society. Tactical Tech is also providing the poster exhibition The Glass Room Exhibition.


The Glass Room
Tactical Tec

Data Detox

Detox Workshop © Lena Ziyal Im Rahmen des Projekts „Generation A=Algorithmus“ werden 2020 und 2021 Online-Fortbildungen für die Mitarbeiter*innen von Bibliotheken der Goethe-Institute im Ausland angeboten. Diese Fortbildungen sollen die Bibliotheken als dritte Orte stärken, welche den digitalen Wandel aktiv mitgestalten.
 
Im Mittelpunkt der jeweils viertägigen Fortbildungen steht unsere Beziehung zu Algorithmen: Wie wirken sich digitale Technologien auf die Gesellschaft und die individuelle Autonomie aus? Wie verändern Algorithmen die Art und Weise wie wir an Informationen gelangen und darauf reagieren? Welche Rolle spielen wir als Nutzer und Konsumenten? Wie werden wir durch Algorithmen beeinflusst und wie „gläsern“ sind wir? Wie können wir darauf vertrauen, dass Bilder und Texte im Netz „echt“ sind?
 
Die teilnehmenden Bibliothekar*innen der Goethe-Institute im Ausland sollen in den Train-the-Trainer-Fortbildungen lernen, wie sie jungen Erwachsenen in unterschiedlichen Workshops und mit der Hilfe von verschiedenen Ausstellungen Wissen über Algorithmen und deren Einfluss auf unser aller Leben vermitteln können. Die Aufklärung über Online-Datenschutz und über den Erhalt der Autonomie in einer algorithmus-gesteuerten Welt steht dabei ebenso im Focus wie die Sensibilisierung für die eigene Datenspur im Netz.

Sollten Sie als Bibliothekar*in arbeiten und Interesse an den Inhalten der Fortbildungen haben, wenden Sie sich bitte an das Goethe-Institut Ihres Landes.

Partner*innen

Die Fortbildungen werden in Kooperation mit Tactical Tech angeboten. Die in Berlin ansässige Organisation arbeitet mit einem internationalen Publikum aus engagierten Bürgern und Akteuren der Zivilgesellschaft zusammen, um die sich Auswirkungen von Technologien auf die Gesellschaft zu untersuchen und abzuschwächen.Tactical Tech bietet auch die Posterausstellung The Glass Room Exhibition an, die eingesetzt werden kann.


The Glass Room
Tactical Tec