The New New Fellowship Increasing inclusion and diversity in digital society

The New <I>New</I> Fellowships
The New New Fellowships | © Lena Ziyal

How do we want to shape digital society? That is the question being addressed by the trailblazers behind 12 projects selected as fellows for The New New, the recently launched Europe-wide fellowship program. Each of the fellows will receive a stipend of €1,000 per month for six months (March – August 2021), along with professional training, to drive their innovative ideas forward.

Their projects take highly diverse approaches to realizing visions of a digital society that does more to consider the attitudes and needs of groups, which are underrepresented. The goal is to use digital change to promote opportunities for participating and for advancing the common good. The program’s initiators are the Ethics of Algorithms project at the Bertelsmann Stiftung and the nonprofit Superrr Lab in cooperation with Goethe-Institut and the Allianz Kulturstiftung. The selected fellows come from nine European countries: Germany, the UK, Denmark, France, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands, Romania and Switzerland.
 
The New New fellowship wants to open up the discussion on shaping digital change to new perspectives, a discussion that has been dominated until now by economic considerations. In the selection of the civil society projects, therefore, the focus has been on diversity criteria and an inclusive character. As a result, many of the chosen projects engage with social groups – such as BIPoC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color), refugees and LGBTQ+ – whose concerns usually receive little attention in the digital discourse.  
 
The selected fellows thus address a wide variety of issues, technology and media – ranging from virtual assistants with synthetic voices, to a feminist online radio station that focuses on user participation, to a digital platform offering help to victims of domestic violence, to a card game that takes a critical look at the excesses of tech capitalism.
 
More about the program and the selected projects: https://thenewnew.space/
 
 
As part of the project "Generation A=Algorithm" the Goethe-Institut supports four projects that are dealing with artificial intelligence online and offline and that use this technology to promote inclusion:

Algorithms of Late Capitalism
The Netherlands
Team: Karla Zavala Barreda & Adriaan Odendaal
  Karla Zavala Barreda © Anna Niedhart Adriaan Odendaal © Anna Niedhart






Algorithms of Late Capitalism is a community co-designed critical card game that induces players to reflect on the absurdities of our technological present and imagine futures that are more fair.
https://algorithmsoflatecapitalism.tumblr.com/
https://internetteapot.com/
 
Interview with Karla Zavala Barreda and Adriaan Odendaal: “Algorithmic systems and their similarities to game design processes


[multi’vocal]
Denmark
Team: Frederik Tollund Juutilainen, Mads Pelt, Stina Hasse, Alice Baird and Nina
Cecilie Højholdt
Frederik Tollund Juutilainen © Anna Niedhart Mads Pelt © Anna Niedhart Stina Hasse © Anna Niedhart Alice Baird © Anna Niedhart Nina Cecilie Højholdt © Anna Niedhart





 
[multi’vocal] works towards an alternative future for digital voice-assistants by creating performative synthetic voices that can present with more than one age, gender and geographic origin.
https://multivocal.org
 
 
Syb: Queering voice AI
UK
Team: Feminist Internet & Cami Rincòn
Feminist Internet © Anna Niedhart Cami Rincòn © Anna Niedhart






Syb is a voice interface designed by and for trans people which connects users to media created by the trans community. The project was developed through a participatory design process with a team of trans and non-binary people.
http://syb.feministchatbot.com/
 
 

Networks of Trust
Greece
Team: Kyriaki Goni
Kyriaki Goni © Anna Niedhart  






Networks of Trust is an offline network running on IPFS, which hosts stories about
tech, population movements and the climate crisis. It proposes fiction as a method
for building community, understanding the present moment and envisioning possible
futures.
https://archipelago2092.xyz
https://kyriakigoni.com/networksoftrust.html

The New New Fellowship Für mehr Inklusion und Vielfalt in der digitalen Gesellschaft

The New <I>New</I> Fellowships
The New New Fellowships | © Lena Ziyal

Wie wollen wir unsere digitale Gesellschaft gestalten? Mit dieser Frage setzen sich die Macher*innen hinter zwölf Projekten auseinander, die als Fellows des neuen europaweiten Stipendiums „The New New“ ausgewählt worden sind. Über einen Zeitraum von sechs Monaten (März bis August 2021) erhalten sie eine Förderung von jeweils 1.000 Euro pro Monat sowie professionelle Trainings, um ihre innovativen Ideen voranzutreiben.
 

Mit ganz unterschiedlichen Herangehensweisen zeigen die Projekte Visionen auf, wie in der digitalen Gesellschaft die Ansichten und Bedürfnisse von bislang unterrepräsentierten Gruppen mehr Berücksichtigung finden. Dadurch soll der digitale Wandel Teilhabechancen erhöhen und das Gemeinwohl fördern. Initiatoren des Stipendiums sind das Projekt “Ethik der Algorithmen” der Bertelsmann Stiftung sowie das gemeinnützige Superrr Lab in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut sowie der Allianz Kulturstiftung. Die geförderten Teams stammen aus neun europäischen Ländern: Deutschland, Großbritannien, Dänemark, Frankreich, Griechenland, Italien, den Niederlanden, Rumänien und der Schweiz.
 
Das Fellowship möchte die bisher vor allem durch die Wirtschaft dominierte Diskussion zur Gestaltung des digitalen Wandels für neue Perspektiven öffnen. Bei der Auswahl der zivilgesellschaftlichen Projekte wurde deshalb Wert auf Vielfaltskriterien und inklusiven Charakter gelegt. Daher legen viele der geförderten Projekte einen Fokus auf gesellschaftliche Gruppen, deren Anliegen in digitalen Diskursen zumeist nur wenig Beachtung finden, beispielsweise BIPoC (Black, Indigenous, People of Color), Geflüchtete und LGBTQ+.
 
Entsprechend bedienen sich die ausgewählten Fellows einer großen Bandbreite an Inhalten, Technikformaten und Medien. Diese reichen von digitalen Sprachassistenten mit synthetischen Stimmen und einem feministischem Online-Radio, das auf Mitgestaltung setzt, über eine digitale Plattform, die Opfern von häuslicher Gewalt Hilfe anbietet, bis hin zu einem Kartenspiel, das sich kritisch mit den Auswüchsen des Technologie-Kapitalismus auseinandersetzt.
 
Mehr Informationen zum Programm und den ausgewählten Projekten: 
https://thenewnew.space/
 
 
Im Rahmen von „Generation A=Algorithmus“ unterstützt das Goethe-Institut vier Projekte, die sich mit Künstlicher Intelligenz offline und online auseinandersetzen beziehungsweise diese nutzen, um Teilhabe zu ermöglichen:

Algorithms of Late Capitalism
Niederlande
Team: Karla Zavala Barreda, Adriaan Odendaal
Karla Zavala Barreda © Anna Niedhart Adriaan Odendaal © Anna Niedhart  






Algorithms of Late Capitalism ist ein vom gesellschaftlichen Gruppen mitgestaltetes kritisches Kartenspiel, das die Spieler dazu anregt, über die Absurditäten unserer technologischen Gegenwart nachzudenken und sich eine gerechtere Zukunft vorzustellen.
https://algorithmsoflatecapitalism.tumblr.com/
https://internetteapot.com/
 
Interview mit Karla Zavala Barreda und Adriaan Odendaal: „Algorithmische Systeme und ihre Ähnlichkeiten mit Spielentwicklungsprozessen


[multi’vocal]
Dänemark
Team: Frederik Tollund Juutilainen, Mads Pelt, Stina Hasse, Alice Baird, Nina Cecilie Højholdt
Frederik Tollund Juutilainen © Anna Niedhart Mads Pelt © Anna Niedhart Stina Hasse © Anna Niedhart Alice Baird © Anna Niedhart Nina Cecilie Højholdt © Anna Niedhart  






[multi’vocal] arbeitet an einer alternativen Zukunft für digitale Sprachassistenten, indem es performative synthetische Stimmen schafft, die sich mit mehr als einem Alter, Geschlecht und geografischer Herkunft präsentieren können.

https://multivocal.org
 
 
Syb: Queering voice AI
Großbritannien
Team: Feminist Internet, Cami Rincòn
Feminist Internet © Anna Niedhart Cami Rincòn © Anna Niedhart  






Syb ist eine von und für Trans-Personen entworfene Sprachschnittstelle, die Nutzer*innen mit Medien verbindet, die von der Trans-Community erstellt wurden. Das Projekt wurde in einem partizipativen Designprozess mit einem Team von trans und nicht-binären Menschen entwickelt.
http://syb.feministchatbot.com/
 

Networks of Trust
Griechenland
Team: Kyriaki Goni
Kyriaki Goni © Anna Niedhart  






Networks of Trust ist ein Offline-Netzwerk in dem Geschichten über Technik, Bevölkerungsbewegungen und die Klimakrise erzählt werden. Es schlägt Fiktion als Methode vor, um Gemeinschaften aufzubauen, den gegenwärtigen Moment zu verstehen und sich mögliche Zukünfte vorzustellen.
https://archipelago2092.xyz
https://kyriakigoni.com/networksoftrust.html