Online Correspondences EU DIGITAL FUTURES

Unfold, Elena Falomo
© Elena Falomo
At the latest since the Corona crisis, it has become clear to a broad public that almost all areas of our social life will be translated into the digital sooner or later. However, the conditions under which this transformation will take place are still to be negotiated.
 
What values should guide our digitized lives? What does democratic digitization look like? How can civil society become aware of and exercise its central role in the digital transformation process?
 
In order to promote an exchange across borders and disciplines, the Goethe‑Institut, together with the grassroots think tank Polis180, organized a five-week digital dialogue on European digital policy under the motto “EU Digital Futures” in May and June 2021.
 
Five tandems, each with a representative from the fields of data science and art, devoted themselves to a weekly changing focus topic in a free format. Through the artistic perspective, we could illuminate further facets of these often technically and economically oriented debates and build playful and sensual bridges to these complex topics for a common exchange with all citizens.

In our five correspondences the interdisciplinary tandems entered into a dialogue on the following questions:

Topic 1: European Values and Digitization – what do we stand for?

Team
Marco Antelmi, visual artist and engineering theorist / Italy
 
Bennet Etsiwah, Doctoral Researcher at Weizenbaum Institute / Germany
 
First Results
Meta Refresh EU Values
 
Marco Antelmi and Bennet Etsiwah created a website that refreshes the values of the European Union every seven seconds and contemplates the meaning of values, their duration and their transformation as social constructs.
 
 
Topic 2: Data is everywhere - what are the key factors for a democratic use of data and how can we enable an educated discourse in civil society?
 
Team
Tiz Creel, artist, AI Residency Program / UK

Martin Skrodzki, researcher at the Computer Graphics and Visualization group at TU Delft / The Netherlands

First Results
Random Questions: The Test
 
Tiz Creel and Martin Skrodzki worked on an experiment inspired by the personality quiz popular in the 2000s. The experiments intention is to infer personal biometric data based on seemingly random questions. They formulated and designed four questions to enable them to mine information without the participants knowing …
 
 
Topic 3: Artificial Intelligence - What are the requirements for trust in AI systems and what decisions are best left to them?
 
Team 
Tom O’Dea, artist and art practice-based researcher / Ireland
 
Mathias Riechert, Strategic PM & Data Science Coordination at Allianz Digital Health / Germany
 
First Results
Can AI be trusted?
 
Tom O’Dea and Mathias Riechert used the platform Kialo to map out their debate on AI onto an interactive tree featuring arguments both pro and con. So on one hand, AI can be trusted, for example „if the AI models are transparent, explainable, interpretable, and fed/trained with non-biased data”. But on the other hand “most AI techniques make decisions based on factors that cannot be communicated outside of the system.” …
 
 
Topic 4: Fighting misinformation, online fraud and data breaches - how can our fundamental rights best be protected when using digital services?

 
Team
Elena Falomo, designer, engineer and artist / Italy
 
Matthias C. Kettemann, Senior Researcher “Regulatory Structures and the Emergence of Rules in Online Spaces” at the Hans-Bredow Institut / G“rmany
 
First Results
Fight for the Net – Card Game
 
Elena Falomo and Matthias Kettemann started to work on a card game. With fightforthe.net they want to let players of all ages discover the different actors of online misinformation, disinformation, hoaxes, conspiracy theories, ....
  • Fighting misinformation, online fraud and data breaches © Elena Falomo, 2021
  • Fighting misinformation, online fraud and data breaches © Elena Falomo, 2021
  • Fighting misinformation, online fraud and data breaches © Elena Falomo, 2021
  • Fighting misinformation, online fraud and data breaches © Elena Falomo, 2021
Topic 5: AI and Inclusion – for whom and by whom are AI applications developed?
 
Team
Hannah Pelikan, PhD student at Linköping University / Sweden
 
Tereza Hendl, Postdoctoral Researcher and Project Co-lead on the project “META – mHealth: Ethical, legal and societal aspects in the technological age”, University of Augsburg / Germany
 
Yifan He, artist / UK
 
First Results
Gather Town map: AI for whom and by whom

Hannah Pelikan, Tereza Hendl and Yifan He created a huge map and collected different perspectives on the question of “AI and Inclusion”. They collected articles, chats, quotes of activists, artist and researcher together with a lot of other materials to stimulate critical reflections about broader unequal social structures that AI and digital platforms are embedded within …
AI and Inclusion © Yifan He, 2021

Presentations

At our grand finale on June 30, 2021 at the Future of Europe Conference all participants of the correspondences could once again exchange their demands and questions directly with the citizens of Europe. On June 7 the first tandem shared the insights from their exchange at the “Long Night of Ideas”:

EU DIGITAL FUTURES at the LONG NIGHT OF IDEAS

7 June 2021, 19:00-20:00 pm CEST

 
At the “Long Night of Ideas” our first tandem - consisting of the distinguished media researcher Matthias Kettemann and the designer and engineer Elena Falomo - will share the insights and open questions from their exchange with the audience. Based on Elena's artistic works with the collective “News World Order”, which has developed speculative media platforms against Fake News or an interactive sound installation to manipulate news voices in terms of their “Trumpiness” and “Truthfulness”, we want to discuss with you the question: How can our fundamental rights be best protected when using digital services?
 
Participants:
Elena Falomo, designer, engineer and artist
Matthias Kettemann, Leibniz Institute for Media Research | Hans-Bredow-Institut
 
Moderation:
Violeta Mezeklieva
 
The event will be held in English.

Online-Korrespondenzen EU DIGITAL FUTURES

Unfold, Elena Falomo
© Elena Falomo
Spätestens seit der Corona-Krise ist einer breiten Öffentlichkeit klar geworden, dass fast alle Bereiche unseres gesellschaftlichen Lebens früher oder später ins Digitale übersetzt werden. Die Bedingungen, unter denen diese Transformation stattfinden wird, sind jedoch noch zu verhandeln.
 
Welche Werte sollen unser digitalisiertes Leben leiten? Wie sieht eine demokratische Digitalisierung aus? Wie kann sich die Zivilgesellschaft ihrer zentralen Rolle im digitalen Transformationsprozess bewusst werden und sie ausüben?
 
Um einen Austausch über Grenzen und Disziplinen hinweg zu fördern, veranstaltete das Goethe‑Institut im Mai und Juni 2021 zusammen mit dem Grassroots-Think Tank Polis180 einen fünfwöchigen digitalen Dialog zur europäischen Digitalpolitik unter dem Motto „EU Digital Futures“.
 
Fünf Tandems mit jeweils einem*r Vertreter*in aus den Bereichen Datenwissenschaft und Kunst widmeten sich in einem freien Format einem wöchentlich wechselnden Schwerpunktthema. Durch die künstlerische Perspektive beleuchten wir weitere Facetten dieser oft technisch und ökonomisch orientierten Debatten und bauen spielerische und sinnliche Brücken zu diesen komplexen Themen für einen gemeinsamen Austausch mit allen Bürger*innen.
 
In den fünf digitalen Korrespondenzen traten die interdisziplinären Tandems in einen Dialog zu folgenden Fragen:
 
Thema 1: Europäische Werte und Digitalisierung – wofür stehen wir?
 
Team
Marco Antelmi, bildender Künstler und „Technik-Theoretiker“ / Italien
 
Bennet Etsiwah, Doktorand am Weizenbaum-Institut / Deutschland
 
Erste Ergebnisse
Meta Refresh EU Values
 
Marco Antelmi und Bennet Etsiwah kreierten eine Website, die alle sieben Sekunden die Werte der Europäischen Union erneuert und damit ein Nachdenken über die Bedeutung von Werten, deren Dauer und deren Wandel als soziale Konstrukte auslösen soll.
 
 
Thema 2: Daten sind überall – was sind die Schlüsselfaktoren für einen demokratischen Umgang mit Daten und wie können wir einen aufgeklärten Diskurs in der Zivilgesellschaft ermöglichen?
 
Team
Tiz Creel, Künstlerin, Teilnehmerin am KI-Residenzprogramm / Großbritannien

Martin Skrodzki, Forscher der Computer Graphics and Visualization group an der TU Delft / Niederlande

Erste Ergebnisse
Random Questions: The Test
 
Tiz Creel und Martin Skrodzki arbeiteten zusammen an einem Experiment, das von dem in den 2000er‑Jahren sehr beliebten Format des Persönlichkeitsquiz inspiriert war. Absicht des Experiments war es, persönliche biometrische Daten basierend auf scheinbar zufälligen Fragen abzuleiten. Tiz Creel und Martin Skrodzki formulierten hierfür vier Fragen, um Informationen zu gewinnen, ohne dass die Teilnehmer*innen etwas davon wussten …
 
 
Thema 3: Künstliche Intelligenz – Was sind die Voraussetzungen für ein Vertrauen in KI-Systeme und welche Entscheidungen überlässt man diesen Systemen überhaupt?
 
Team 
Tom O’Dea, Künstler und künstlerisch-praktischer Forscher / Irland
 
Mathias Riechert, Strategic PM & Data Science Coordination at Allianz Digital Health / Deutschland
 
Erste Ergebnisse
Can AI be trusted?
 
Tom O’Dea und Mathias Riechert nutzten die Plattform Kialo, um ihre Debatte über Künstliche Intelligenz in einer Art interaktiven Baumdiagramm mit Pro- und Contra-Argumenten abzubilden. Das Diagramm verrät, dass man auf der einen Seite KI vertrauen kann, zum Beispiel „wenn die KI-Modelle transparent, erklärbar und interpretierbar sind sowie mit unvoreingenommenen Daten trainiert werden“. Doch andererseits „treffen die meisten KI-Techniken Entscheidungen auf der Basis von Faktoren, die außerhalb des Systems nicht kommuniziert werden können“.
 
 
Thema 4: Kampf gegen Fehlinformationen, Online-Betrug und Datenschutzverletzungen – wie können unsere Grundrechte bei der Nutzung digitaler Dienste am besten geschützt werden?
 
Team
Elena Falomo, Designerin, Künstlerin und Ingenieurin / Italien
 
Matthias C. Kettemann, Forschungsprogrammleiter „Regelungsstrukturen und Regelbildung in digitalen Kommunikationsräumen“ am Hans-Bredow-Institut / Deutschland
 
Erste Ergebnisse
Fight for the Net – Card Game
 
Elena Falomo und Matthias Kettemann haben begonnen, an einem Kartenspiel zu arbeiten. Mit fightforthe.net wollen sie Spieler*innen jeden Alters die verschiedenen Akteur*innen der Online‑Fehlinformation, Desinformation, Hoaxes und Verschwörungstheorien entdecken lassen.
  • Kampf gegen Fehlinformationen, Online-Betrug und Datenschutzverletzungen © Elena Falomo, 2021
  • Kampf gegen Fehlinformationen, Online-Betrug und Datenschutzverletzungen © Elena Falomo, 2021
  • Kampf gegen Fehlinformationen, Online-Betrug und Datenschutzverletzungen © Elena Falomo, 2021
  • Kampf gegen Fehlinformationen, Online-Betrug und Datenschutzverletzungen © Elena Falomo, 2021
Thema 5: KI und Inklusion – für wen und von wem werden KI-Anwendungen entwickelt?
 
Team
Hannah Pelikan, Doktorandin an der Linköping Universität / Schweden
 
Tereza Hendl, Postdoktorandin und Projekt-Co-Leiterin im Projekt „META – mHealth: Ethische, rechtliche und gesellschaftliche Aspekte im Technologiezeitalter“ an der Universität Augsburg / Deutschland
 
Yifan He, Künstlerin / Großbritannien
 
Erste Ergebnisse
Gather Town map: AI for whom and by whom

Hannah Pelikan, Tereza Hendl und Yifan He erstellten mit der Plattform Gather Town eine große Karte, die verschiedene Perspektiven zum Thema "KI und Inklusion" aufführt. Sie sammelten hierfür Artikel, Chats, Zitate von Aktivist*innen, Künstler*innen und Forscher*innen sowie viele andere Materialien, um damit eine kritische Reflexionen über ungleiche soziale Strukturen anzuregen, in die KI und digitale Tools eingebettet sind ...
KI und Inklusion © Yifan He, 2021

Präsentationen

Zum Abschluss konnten sich alle Teilnehmenden im Rahmen einer Veranstaltung bei der Konferenz zur Zukunft Europas am 30. Juni 2021 noch einmal untereinander und mit den Bürger*innen Europas über ihre Forderungen und Fragen austauschen. Am 7. Juni 2021 teilte das erste Tandem im Rahmen der „Langen Nacht der Ideen“ seine Erkenntnisse mit den Zuhörer*innen:
 
EU DIGITAL FUTURES bei der LANGEN NACHT DER IDEEN

7. Juni 2021, 19:00–20:00 Uhr MESZ
 
Bei der „Langen Nacht der Ideen“ wird unser erstes Tandem – bestehend aus dem profilierten Medienforscher Matthias Kettemann und der Designerin und Ingenieurin Elena Falomo – die Erkenntnisse und offenen Fragen aus ihrem Austausch mit dem Publikum teilen. Anhand von Elenas künstlerischen Arbeiten mit dem Kollektiv „News World Order“, das spekulative Medienplattformen gegen Fake News oder eine interaktive Soundinstallation zur Manipulation von Nachrichtenstimmen zwischen „Trumpiness“ und „Truthfulness“ entwickelt hat, wollen wir mit Ihnen die Frage diskutieren:
Wie können unsere Grundrechte bei der Nutzung digitaler Dienste am besten geschützt werden?
 
Teilnehmende:
Elena Falomo, Designerin, Ingenieurin und Künstlerin
Matthias Kettemann, Leibniz Institut für Medienforschung | Hans-Bredow-Institut
 
Moderation:
Violeta Mezeklieva
 
Die Veranstaltung findet auf Englisch statt.