Themes

Bauhaus and Functionalism
The festival examines the societal and political conditions that gave rise to Bauhaus and Functionalism, as part of the modernist movement, and explores the political and social dimensions of emancipation – of states, citizens and individuals – that went hand in hand with the development of modern society. From a contemporary perspective, this is a development that is by no means complete, especially when reflecting on current political and cultural developments in Europe and, in particular, the current state of women's rights. To this end, the lesser known female protagonists of modernism and Bauhaus will make a significant contribution to the present-day gender debate.

Emancipation and the Modern Woman
The introduction of women's voting rights marked a significant step towards gender equality: in Germany this took place in 1918 and in Czechoslovakia in 1919/20. Another crucial precondition for the rise of "Emancipation and the Modern Woman" was women’s access to higher education. This was increasingly promoted in general education and the arts, for instance at the Bauhaus, where women were allowed to enter full-time studies. But there were still fundamental obstacles to further professional development of female students, influenced by social and gender determinants. This is evident in the inadequate and unequal representation of women in media and historiography. 

Constitution and Modern States
The societal developments taking place in Central Europe a century ago, explored through the theme of "Constitution and Modern States", were fundamental to the ideas of modern construction and Baukultur. They were behind the modern society’s embrace of modern architecture, Functionalism and Bauhaus. Particularly in the former Czechoslovakia, modern architecture gained great social importance, spurred by the positive legacy of the First Czechoslovak Republic. This is in contrast to Germany, where the 100-year anniversary of the Weimar Republic – the first modern, democratic state on German soil – is shrouded in the veil of a ‘failed state’ and the emergence of the Third Reich. 
 
Education and Interpretation
In the theme of Education and Interpretation, the festival links the contextualization of societal developments and Baukultur to discussions about materiality, media and meaning, as well as the methods and strategies of access. Following the approach of bauhaus reuse, contemporary interpretation and the conscious handling of modern heritage and elements or – depending on the perspective – their remnants [left-overs] stand in focus: outside a mere stylistic reference or ‘musealisation’ of icons like Bauhaus, or, what is also existing in the opposite, a public rejection to Modernism and its heritage; instead aiming on current and changing challenges and developments.  

The theme of Modern Reuse and DIY will offer haptic and conceptual points of access flowing from the extraordinary locations and built media involved in the festival: bauhaus reuse, PLATO Ostrava and the installation bauhausTWINS by zukunftsgeraeusche, which was built with reused façade elements from the Bauhaus in Dessau and serve as a stage for various discursive formats and events.
 

Special focus on Central Europe 

 
The five themes of re:bauhaus offer an innovative and alternative approach to celebrating 100 years of Bauhaus by exploring the context of Central Europe and the associated societal and political developments of the times – something of a blind spot on the current cultural map. The festival highlights the historical aspects of the key societal and political trends and explores them in relation to contemporary social, urban, architectural and Baukultur issues. 
 
In addition, the dedicated focus on Central Europe aims to overcome the former East-West divide that should have dissipated in the three decades following the end of the Cold War. In reality, Germany – especially its western parts – still associates with Western Europe, even though it is located well within the Central European region. A dialogue involving participants from Berlin, Prague, Ostrava and other Central European cities offers plentiful opportunities for access, reflection and exchange, and a chance to help redraw the outdated East-West geography. Against the backdrop of the 2019 European elections, and the upcoming 30-year anniversary of the ‘fall of the Iron Curtain’, the three sites represent a fitting constellation for exploring the foundations of the modern states established at the same time as Bauhaus.

This notion will be represented symbolically by the relocation of the architectural installation bauhausTWINS to PLATO Ostrava. Like bauhaus reuse in Berlin, the bauhausTWINS installation consists of elements recovered from the studio house façade of the Bauhaus in Dessau during its extensive post-war renovation in 1976. The installation was previewed in Potsdam for the Convention of Baukultur 2018 organised by the German Federal Foundation of Baukultur. By providing access to a tangible example of modernism and Bauhaus heritage, the installation serves as a clear link between the physical and conceptual locations of the re:bauhaus festival.

Themen

Bauhaus und Funktionalismus
Das Festival widmet sich der gesellschaftlichen und politischen Situation, in der als Teil der Moderne das Bauhaus und der Funktionalismus entstanden, und sondiert dabei das politische und soziale Maß an Emanzipation von Staaten, Bürgern und weiteren Individuen, das mit der Entstehung der modernen Gesellschaft einherging. Aus heutiger Sicht ist diese Entwicklung längst nicht beendet, und dies vor allem mit Blick auf aktuelle politische und kulturelle Ereignisse und Entwicklungen in Europa, zuvorderst der gegenwärtige Stand der Frauenrechte. Weniger bekannte Vertreterinnen der Moderne und des Bauhauses tragen in dieser Hinsicht wesentlich auch zur heutigen Genderdebatte bei.

Emanzipation der modernen Frau
Ein bedeutender Schritt zur Gleichberechtigung der Geschlechter war die Einführung des Frauenwahlrechtes: in Deutschland kam es 1918 dazu, in der Tschechoslowakei zur Jahreswende 1919/1920. Ein weiteres Schlüsselmoment in der Emanzipation und des modernen Verständnisses der Frau war der erweiterte Zugang von Frauen zu höherer Bildung. Dieser Trend setzte sich zunehmend in der allgemeinen Bildung und auch Kunst durch, unter anderem auch beim Bauhaus, wo sich Frauen zum Präsenzstudium einschreiben konnten. Der Durchsetzung der Studentinnen auf professioneller Ebene standen nach wie vor grundlegende gesellschaftliche Hindernisse entgegen, soziale und das Geschlecht betreffende. Dies zeigt sich deutlich in der ungleichen Repräsentation von Frauen in Medien und Historiografie. 

Grundgesetze und moderne Staaten
Die gesellschaftlichen Begebenheiten in Mitteleuropa vor einhundert Jahren im Sinne moderner Verfassungsstaaten stellten hinsichtlich der modernen Architektur und Baukultur einen entscheidenden Impuls dar. Sie führten die damalige Gesellschaft zur Akzeptanz moderner Architektur, des Funktionalismus und Bauhaus. Gerade in der ehemaligen Tschechoslowakei erlangte die moderne Architektur eine große gesellschaftliche Bedeutung, wozu auch die hohe Akzeptanz der Ersten Republik beitrug. Im Gegensatz dazu wird in Deutschland, das an die Entstehung der Weimarer Republik vor 100 Jahren erinnert, dieser erste demokratische Staat vom „Versagen“ und der Entstehung des Dritten Reiches überschattet. 
 
Bildung und Interpretation
Mit dem Thema Bildung und Interpretation verbindet das Festival den Konnex gesellschaftlicher Entwicklungen und Baukultur mit Diskussionen über Materialität, Medien und deren Bedeutung sowie Methoden und Strategien von deren Erschließung. Die Plattform bauhaus reuse arbeitet an einer gegenwärtigen Interpretation der Moderne bzw. – in Abhängigkeit von der Perspektive – deren Resten und einem bewussten Umgang mit demselben bzw. denselben. Dieser Zugang versteht sich somit als Alternative zu einem rein stilistischen Nachlass bzw. der „Musealisierung“ von Ikonen wie des Bauhauses.

Das Thema Moderne Reuse und Do it Yourself bietet haptische und konzeptionelle Zugangsorte ausgehend von außergewöhnlichen Lokalitäten und Objektmedien des Festivals: der Pavillon bauhaus reuse, die Galerie PLATO Ostrava und die Installation bauhausTWINS des Studios zukunftsgeraeusche, die aus Fassadenelementen des Bauhauses in Dessau entstanden ist und die als Podium zur Präsentation verschiedener diskursiver Formate dient.    

 

Fokus Mitteleuropa 

 
Die fünf Themen des Festivals re:bauhaus bieten einen innovativen und alternativen Zugang zum 100-jährigen Jubiläum des Bauhauses: Das Festival fokussiert seinen Blick auf die geografisch gegebene mitteleuropäische Nachbarschaft sowie gemeinsame gesellschaftliche und politische Tendenzen und analysiert deren Beziehung zu gegenwärtigen sozialen, urbanen, architektonischen und baukulturellen Fragestellungen.

Der besondere Fokus auf Mitteleuropa soll auch die ehemalige Spaltung zwischen Ost und West überwinden. Diese sollte dreißig Jahre nach dem Kalten Krieg eigentlich keine Rolle mehr spielen, tatsächlich aber versteht sich Deutschland – und vor allem dessen westlicher Teil – als Teil Westeuropas, obwohl sie sich geografisch in Mitteleuropa befinden. Der Dialog zwischen den Diskussionsteilnehmern aus Berlin, Prag, Ostrava und weiteren mitteleuropäischen Städten bietet eine ganze Reihe von Gelegenheiten zur Reflektion und zum Gedankenaustausch sowie eine Chance zur Überwindung der veralteten mentalen Spaltung von Ost und West. Vor dem Hintergrund der Europawahlen 2019 und dem bevorstehenden 30-jährigen Jubiläum des Falls des Eisernen Vorhangs ist die Kombination der oben genannten drei Städte ein geeigneter Ausgangspunkt für eine Analyse der Grundlage moderner Staaten, die zur gleichen Zeit entstanden wie das Bauhaus.
 
Diese Idee wird symbolisch ausgedrückt durch den Umzug der architektonischen Installation bauhausTWINS in die Galerie PLATO Ostrava. Ähnlich wie der Pavillon bauhaus reuse in Berlin kombiniert auch die Installation bauhausTWINS Fassadenelemente des Bauhauses, die zu dessen umfassender Nachkriegsrekonstruktion 1976 gewonnen werden konnten. Dem Publikum wurde die Installation erstmals in einer Vorpremiere 2018 in Potsdam vorgestellt, und zwar auf einem Treffen zur Baukultur veranstaltet durch die Bundesstiftung Baukultur. Als erfühlbares Beispiel des Modernismus und Nachlass des Bauhauses bildet diese Installation eine klare Verbindung zwischen den physischen und konzeptionellen Orten des Festivals re:bauhaus.