Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Iraq
In Iraq, women make up the numbers in politics and no more

Iraqi women in politics
©Goethe-Institut/"Perspectives", Manar Al-Zubaidi

Since 2003, Iraq has seen minimal change in terms of the participation of women in politics and the promotion of women to decision-making positions. Throughout this period, women have held no important executive or leadership positions, and to date all 3 presidential administrations and their representatives have comprised men.

By Manar Alzubaidi

Indeed, men have also dominated local government positions and there has been a decline in the representation of women in the present executive, without a single woman becoming a minister. Moreover, it is apparent that some political groups deliberately nominated women who werenʹt qualified sufficiently to lead a ministry, thus casting doubt as to the seriousness of their nominations.
 
Despite the presence of a number of female deputies in the Iraqi Council of Representatives, there are no achievements they can claim, or at least none for which they are allowed to take credit. The party leaders take most of the decisions and control their movements so blatantly that these entities have prevented the formation of coalitions of active and influential women. This has led to the failure of a feminist movement within the Council, despite repeated attempts to declare an independent womenʹs coalition.
 
In addition, it is men who have assumed the task of managing the autonomous authorities, with women assigned secondary behind-the-scenes jobs. And in the governorates, men have been appointed to the top slots as governors, deputies and executive assistants.
 
Yet the patriarchy does not end there; its shadow extends over the management of central and local government enterprises and institutions. The political parties and alliances assert control over local administrations and they entrust men with management, implementation and advisory posts. Significantly, women have consistently been excluded from political negotiations over forming a government or other crucial national issues.  
 

The authority of the party and the subordination of women

 
According to Maysoon al-Saaʹidi, a member of the current Council, the selection of political figures to assume responsibilities within the government is agreed by the leaders of political blocs and parties that donʹt have any women in their ranks. These choices are made with the clear purpose of excluding women.
Maysoon al-Saaʹidi
Maysoon al-Saaʹidi, member of the current Iraqi Council

 
Despite al-Saaʹidiʹs efforts – along with her colleagues in the Council – to form a parliamentary womenʹs coalition with 83 deputies, she got nowhere. Most female deputies quickly withdrew and fell into line with the orders from their parties. Despite the fact that there are many women with particular capabilities in economics and personal and political leadership, they are completely excluded from executive positions, according to al-Saaʹidi. She points to the popular perception of women as weak and emotional, as well as to a society in which customs and traditions are among the pivotal reasons why women are excluded from the leadership of key parliamentary committees and crucial ministries.
 

A partisan agenda and a patriarchal mentality


In the opinion of Hakima al-Shibli, a member of the Diwaniya Governorate Council, the most important reason for the limited participation of women in politics and in executive positions is the lack of community support for women candidates in the elections. Thus, the number of women in politics is less than the quota of 25%.
 
Al-Shibli holds deputies in the Council of Representatives responsible for the lack of female representation and accuses them of obeying the orders of their political and party leaders at the expense of the national interest and human justice.
Hakima al-Shibli
Hakima al-Shibli, member of the Diwaniya Governorate Council

 
She adds that "despite the presence of leading feminist voices and the absence of any clause in the Iraqi constitution which precludes women from assuming governmental positions, women are marginalised and kept out of discussions, meetings and crucial political decisions by the rule of men". Al-Shibli goes on to say that "more women need to be brought into leadership positions in the Council of Representatives, especially those with political experience and expertise."
 

War of threats and purges

 
Some parties use intimidation and threats in order to prevent women from playing a supervisory role, especially in the investigation of corruption and uncovering the facts. Al-Shibli is convinced that this has had a negative impact on the image of women in politics, that is, that they are just there to make up the numbers and have no political weight.
 

Role of civil society organisations

 
"How can we demand that women be appointed to ministerial jobs, if they donʹt ask for it, neither for themselves, nor for others?" asks Feryal al-Kaʹabi, president of Awan Organisation for Awareness and Capacity Development. "The rights of women in society cannot be protected unless there are women active in executive roles to defend these rights. So, what is the purpose of having women in the Council of Representatives? What is the purpose of the quota (of seats allocated to women)?"
 
Al-Kaʹabi continues by asking what we should hope for now from our female representatives in the Council and how we should believe in them as defenders of the most basic rights, including the Constitution, when they themselves have acquiesced to their status? Some may argue that owing to the circumstances at the heart of this conflict, it was not the right time to appoint women to ministerial or leadership roles, but the truth is even bigger than that. The current goal is actually to keep men happy and to give them more ministries and privileges.
Feryal al-Kaʹabi, president of Awan Organisation for Awareness and Capacity Development Feryal al-Kaʹabi, president of Awan Organisation for Awareness and Capacity Development | ©Goethe-Institut/"Perspectives", Manar Alzubaidi
Not only that, ministries have been handed to unqualified people. Meanwhile, for most of the women who made it to the dizzy heights of the Council, their only aim has been to take advantage of the benefits and privileges that come with their position. Thus, they exist between the two societies, one modern and democratic, which believes in the rights of women, and the other, established and traditional, in which there is no place for the views of “the other”.
 
Al-Kaʹabi adds: "I have become convinced that the quota system in our new state is merely to make a token show of the female sex from a biological standpoint. It is not done as a reflection on the relative roles of men and women in society, with a view to change and social development. Thus, women are no more than a luxury commodity, to be added to the seats of parliament, like the spices we smell in any political kitchen."
 

Support for the notion of female leadership


Al-Kaʹabi explains that the UN Security Council Resolution 1325 which was adopted on 31 October 2000 recognised the importance of the contribution of women to peace and security and of their full participation in all spheres of life, including political, social and legal. The most important of these is their contribution to the decision-making process, and Resolution 1325 stipulates that women should hold at least 25% of party leadership positions.
 
Al-Kaʹabi explains that the quota system which was laid down in paragraph 4 of Article 49 in the current Constitution of Iraq 2005 set a fixed percentage for female representation in the Council of no less than 25% ("election law aims to ensure that women make up not less than a quarter of all members of parliament"). The quota is therefore an important factor in achieving womenʹs involvement in the political process.
 
The main reasons for the poor level of participation and under-performance of women in politics can be summarised as follows:
 
  1. The lack of influential female figures in politics and the inexperience of many women in politics generally;
  2. The specific control exerted over women by party leaderships and political factions;
  3. The constant questioning of womenʹs abilities;
  4. The lack of provision and support for the development and training of women;
  5. Most political parties and factions deliberately exclude women from their own decision-making processes;
  6. The stereotyping of women in the media, reducing their role predominantly to issues relating to women, the family and children. 

There are many other challenges which continue to hamper women from advancing in politics, which include:
 
  1. Disparaging and defamatory attacks on social media websites;
  2. Temporary deteriorations in the security situation;
  3. The customs, traditions and patriarchal character of society, which is used to having men in decision-making roles;
  4. Societyʹs lack of confidence in the ability of women to work in the political arena;
  5. The negative rivalry between women and the lack of self-confidence of some;
  6. Lack of money and resources of most women to form parties and to pay for election campaigns;
  7. The impact on much of society of extremist religious rhetoric rejecting the notion of women in politics.
 

Suggested solutions  

 
Among the more obvious solutions to increase womenʹs involvement in politics and to get them appointed to executive roles are:
 
  1. The need to include clauses within the law governing political parties to ensure the quota of women in leadership roles is not less than a minimum of 25%, and to prepare the groundwork to increase this proportion still further;
  2. Parties should be compelled, in their political programmes and management systems, to develop and empower their women cadres;
  3. The need to emphasise the involvement of women in politics and to give them positions in the party leadership appropriate to their seniority and competence;
  4. Co-ordination with influential womenʹs organisations in order to mount effective advocacy campaigns;
  5. Womenʹs civil society organisations should undertake training and development programmes for women working in politics. They should also raise awareness of the importance of women playing a role in politics, with a focus on building active and effective womenʹs groups in order to get more qualified women elected in the polls;
  6. Improve the portrayal of women in the media;
  7. The passing of balanced legislation to prevent cyber crime;
  8. The provision of a safe and secure environment for women working in the political arena. 
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Irak
Zahlen ohne Wert: Dürftige Mitwirkung der Frauen am politischen Prozess im Irak

Irakische Frauen in der Politik
©Goethe-Institut/"Perspektiven", Manar Al-Zubaidi

Viel hat sich nicht verändert seit 2003. Nach wie vor sind Frauen nur in geringem Maße am politischen Prozess im Irak beteiligt. Bis heute hat keine Frau eine nennenswerte Schlüsselfunktion in der Politik inne. Die Führungspositionen werden weiterhin von Männern eingenommen, selbst auf kommunaler Ebene. 

Von Manar Alzubaidi

Auch in der Exekutive sind Frauen inzwischen wieder schwächer vertreten. Momentan gibt es keine einzige Ministerin. Offenbar haben einige politische Fraktionen bewusst inkompetente Kandidatinnen ins Rennen um die Ministerposten geschickt. Da kommen natürlich Zweifel an den redlichen Absichten dieser Fraktionen auf. Wollten sie diese Kandidatinnen überhaupt ernsthaft als Ministerinnen sehen?

Im Parlament gibt es zwar eine gewisse Anzahl weiblicher Abgeordneter. Namhafte Erfolge können diese jedoch nicht vorweisen. Man ließ sie allerdings, um genau zu sein, bisher auch gar nicht zum Zuge kommen. Ihr Handlungs- und Entscheidungsradius wird offensichtlich von der Fraktionsführung bestimmt. Das geht so weit, dass die Parteispitzen bereits mehrere Anläufe zur Bildung einer effizienten, einflussreichen und unabhängigen Frauengruppe im Parlament vereitelt haben.

Doch damit nicht genug. Auch in der Führung von unabhängigen Gremien haben Männer das Sagen. Frauen bekommen generell nur unbedeutende Jobs hinter den Kulissen. Auf Provinzebene hocken die Männer ebenfalls fest auf den wirklich wichtigen Posten. Entscheidungsträger in der Exekutive, Präsidenten von Provinzparlamenten, Gouverneure, Vizegouverneure – alles Männer.

Dasselbe gilt auch für die meisten staatlichen und regionalen Institutionen. Politische Parteien und Fraktionen wollen auch hier maximalen politischen Einfluss. Führungsämter werden deshalb vorzugsweise an Männer übertragen, sie haben das Heft in der Hand, bei wichtigen politischen Verhandlungen über die Regierungsbildung oder die Geschicke der Nation haben Frauen nichts zu melden.

 

Die Partei gibt die Richtung vor, die Frauen folgen

 
Die Parlamentsabgeordnete Mysoon J. Dawood as-Saadi erklärt, dass sich unter den Parteifunktionären, die ausgehandelt haben, wer welche politischen Aufgaben übertragen bekommen soll, keine einzige Frau befand. Kein Wunder, dass bei der Ämtervergabe Frauen in großem Stil übergangen wurden.
 
Maysoon al-Saaʹidi
Mayson J. Dawood as-Saadi, Parlamentsabgeordnete


Mysoon as-Saadi und ihre Kolleginnen haben nichts unversucht gelassen, um mit den 83 weiblichen Parlamentariern eine eigene Frauengruppe ins Leben zu rufen – vergeblich. Ehe man sich‘s versah, war eine Abgeordnete nach der anderen ausgestiegen, zwangsweise, weil es ihnen ihre Partei so vorschrieb. Unter diesen Abgeordneten gibt es etliche Wirtschaftsexpertinnen und politische Persönlichkeiten mit Führungsqualitäten. Doch keine einzige von ihnen hat ein Amt an den Schaltstellen der Macht erhalten, so Mysoon as-Saadi. Es herrsche die Ansicht, dass Frauen schwache und zartfühlende Wesen seien. Ein weiterer Grund, weshalb Frauen in wichtigen Ministerien und Gremien nicht zum Zug kommen, liege in den gesellschaftlich verankerten Traditionen und Bräuchen.
 

Parteilinie und Patriarchat

 
Hakeema al-Shibli, Abgeordnete im Provinzparlament in Diwaniya (Provinz Qadisiya), erläutert, dass die geringe weibliche Präsenz in der Politik und an Schaltstellen der Macht vor allem auf die fehlende Unterstützung aus der Bevölkerung für weibliche Kandidatinnen bei den Wahlen zurückzuführen sei. Deshalb gehe der Frauenanteil im Parlament nicht über die obligatorischen 25 % hinaus.
Hakima al-Shibli
Hakeema al-Shibli, Abgeordnete im Provinzparlament in Diwaniya (Provinz Qadisiya)

Die weiblichen Abgeordneten im Parlament unterwerfen sich, Hakeema al-Shibli zufolge, den Anweisungen ihrer Parteiführung und seien deshalb auch selbst dafür verantwortlich, dass sie bei wichtigen Entscheidungen nicht einbezogen werden, was letzten Endes jedoch auf Kosten von Menschenrechten und nationalen Interessen gehe.

„Es gibt im Irak zwar weibliche Führungspersönlichkeiten“, so Hakeema al-Shibli, „und auch keinen Artikel in der Verfassung, der Frauen verbietet, ein hohes Amt zu bekleiden. Doch Marginalisierung und Ausgrenzung von Frauen bei Diskussionen, Versammlungen und schwerwiegenden politischen Entscheidungen sowie die Macht der Männer verhindern, dass Frauen Einfluss nehmen können.“

„Damit Führungspositionen an Frauen gehen“, so die Abgeordnete weiter, „muss im Parlament etwas bewegt werden, und zwar vor allem von politisch erfahrenen Frauen.“
 

Massive Einschüchterungen

 
Vor allem wenn es um die Untersuchung von Korruptionsfällen und die Aufdeckung von Fakten geht, setzen manche Parteien Frauen durch massive Drohungen unter Druck, um sie daran zu hindern, ihren Kontrollaufgaben nachzukommen – ein falsches Signal an die Gesellschaft, der auf diese Weise vermittelt wird, Frauen seien in der Politik nur Ziffern ohne Wert, weiß Hakeema al-Shalabi aus ihrer Erfahrung bei der politischen Arbeit zu berichten.
 

Die Rolle zivilgesellschaftlicher Organisationen

 
„Wie sollen wir das Recht der Frauen auf Ministerposten einfordern, wenn keine Frau dies tut, weder für sich noch für andere?" Gleich zu Beginn ihrer Ausführungen stellt die Vorsitzende der Awan Organization for Awareness and Capability Development, Feryal al-Kaabi, diese Frage, um anschließend hinzuzufügen: „Die Rechte der Frauen in der Gesellschaft können nicht geschützt werden, so lange keine kompetente Frau, die diese Rechte verteidigt, bei wichtigen Entscheidungen mitreden darf. Da nützen auch keine weiblichen Abgeordneten und keine Quoten.“
Feryal al-Kaabi, Awan Organization for Awareness and Capability Development Feryal al-Kaabi, Awan Organization for Awareness and Capability Development | ©Goethe-Institut/"Perspektiven", Manar Alzubaidi


Um zu unterstreichen, was von den weiblichen Abgeordneten im Parlament erwartet wird, stellt Feryal al-Kaabi die Frage, wie es angehen könne, dass man diesen Frauen die Verteidigung der grundlegendsten in der Verfassung verankerten Frauenrechte anvertraut, sie aber dennoch hingenommen haben, dass einige von ihnen sich damit herausreden, die angespannte Sicherheitslage habe es bisher nicht zugelassen, Frauen wichtige Führungsämter oder Ministerposten zu übertragen. Es sei doch vor allen Dingen so, dass zunächst die Männer zufriedengestellt wurden, indem sie noch mehr Ministerien und noch mehr Privilegien erhielten. Das sei aber noch lange nicht alles gewesen. Ministerien seien an völlig inkompetente Leute vergeben worden und schlimmer noch: Es sitzen Frauen im Parlament, denen es von Anfang an einzig und allein um die entsprechenden Bezüge und die entsprechenden Vergünstigungen ging. Sie selbst lebe einerseits in einer modernen Gesellschaft, so Feryal al-Kaabi, in der Leute an Rechte für Frauen glauben, andererseits aber in einer traditionsbewussten Gesellschaft, in der das Prinzip der kontroversen Meinungen nicht existiert. „Ich war mir sicher“, fährt sie fort, „dass die Quote nichts weiter sei als ein Zugeständnis an das weibliche Geschlecht. Das reduziert die Frau jedoch auf ihre biologische Andersartigkeit und hat nichts mit den sich ändernden Rollen von Männern und Frauen in einer sich ändernden Gesellschaft zu tun. Die Frau wird lediglich zu einer Art Luxusattribut, dem man ein paar Parlamentssitze freihalten muss, um ein bisschen Würze in den politischen Küchendunst zu bringen.“
 

Unterstützung für weibliche Führungskräfte

 
Feryal al-Kaabi erklärt, die Resolution Nr. 1325 des UN-Sicherheitsrats aus dem Jahre 2000 habe es für wichtig erachtet, dass Frauen ihren Beitrag zu Frieden und Sicherheit leisten und dass sie sich in allen Bereichen des Lebens, wie Politik, Gesellschaft, Recht etc., einbringen können. Damit sei auch die Einbeziehung der Frau bei der Entscheidungsfindung von äußerster Wichtigkeit. Die Gruppe qarār 1325 („Resolution 1325“) tritt deshalb dafür ein, dass Frauen zu mindestens 25 % auch auf der Führungsebene der Parteien vertreten sein sollten.
 
Aufgrund der Frauenquote, die in Art. 49 Abs. 4 der Irakischen Verfassung von 2005 verankert wurde, so Feryal al-Kaabi , müsse der Anteil der weiblichen Abgeordneten im Parlament bei mindestens 25 % liegen. In dem entsprechenden Text heißt es, das Wahlgesetz ziele darauf ab, dass mindestens ein Viertel der Parlamentsabgeordneten Frauen sein müssen. Deshalb sei die Quote als wichtiger politischer Faktor zur Umsetzung einer Beteiligung der Frauen am politischen Prozess anzusehen.
 
 
Gründe für mangelnde Präsenz und Partizipation von Frauen im politischen Prozess
 
  1. Mangel an effizienten weiblichen Kräften und mangelnde politische Erfahrung bei vielen Frauen, die am politischen Prozess beteiligt sind
  2. Dominantes Auftreten der Partei- und Fraktionsführungen, insbesondere gegenüber Frauen
  3. Permanente Zweifel an den Fähigkeiten von Frauen
  4. Mängel bei der Schaffung von Voraussetzungen für die Förderung und Qualifizierung sowie mangelnde Unterstützung von weiblichen Kräften
  5. Bestrebungen der meisten Partei- und Fraktionsführungen, Frauen bei wichtigen internen Entscheidungen auszugrenzen
  6. Voreingenommenheit der Medien gegenüber Frauen und weitgehende Beschränkung der Rolle der Frau auf Angelegenheiten, die Frauen, Familie und Kinder betreffen
 
 
Zusätzliche Herausforderungen, die die Arbeit der Frauen im politischen Prozess behindern
 
  1. Verleumdungs- und Beschimpfungskampagnen über die sozialen Medien
  2. Zeitweilige Verschärfung der Sicherheitslage
  3. Traditionen, Bräuche und Strukturen der patriarchalischen Gesellschaft, in der Schlüsselpositionen gewohnheitsgemäß Männern vorbehalten sind
  4. Mangelndes Vertrauen der Gesellschaft in die politischen Fähigkeiten von Frauen
  5. Negative Konkurrenz und bisweilen auch mangelndes Selbstvertrauen unter Frauen
  6. Fehlende finanzielle Mittel und fehlender Einfluss bei den meisten Frauen, um Parteien gründen oder Wahlkampagnen finanzieren zu können
  7. Ablehnung einer Einbeziehung von Frauen in der Politik durch den Einfluss fundamentalistischer religiöser Rhetorik auf große Teile der Gesellschaft
 
 

Lösungsvorschläge

 
Zu den wichtigsten Lösungsansätzen, die Frauen mehr Ämter und mehr politischen Einfluss einbringen sollen, gehören:
 
  1. Ergänzung des Wahlgesetzes, um auch in der Parteispitze für einen Frauenanteil von mindestens 25 % zu sorgen, sowie Schaffung einer Grundlage für eine Anhebung dieser Quote, um Frauen eine noch wichtigere Rolle im politischen Prozess zukommen zu lassen
  2. Politische Programme und Satzungen, die die Parteien dazu verpflichten, weibliche Führungskräfte zu fördern und zu unterstützen
  3. Sicherstellung der politischen Partizipation von Frauen sowie Einräumung angemessener Führungskompetenzen bei der Arbeit an der Parteispitze
  4. Absprachen mit effizient arbeitenden Frauenorganisationen bei der Durchführung effektiver Kampagnen zur Verteidigung von Frauenrechten
  5. Ausbildungs- und Fördermaßnahmen für Frauen, die politisch tätig sind, wobei die Maßnahme jeweils von zivilgesellschaftlichen Frauenorganisationen durchgeführt und die Gesellschaft auf diese Weise für die wichtige Rolle der Frau im politischen Prozess sensibilisiert werden soll, mit Schwerpunkt auf der Gründung von aktiven und effizient arbeitenden Frauenvereinen, die dafür sorgen, dass bei Wahlen ausreichend Frauen gewählt werden
  6. Verbesserung des Frauenbildes in den Medien
  7. Verabschiedung eines moderaten Gesetzes zur Eindämmung von Cyberkriminalität
  8. Schaffung eines sicheren und vertrauenswürdigen Klimas für die politische Arbeit von Frauen

Top