Photo by Karen Zhao on Unsplash

Jordan

6th Edition
The Science Film Festival took place from 11th of October to the 12th of October 2018 with a selection of 18 movies with the theme “Food Revolution”. 16 of them were shown synchronized in Arabic and two of them with Arabic subtitles. Goal of the Science Film Festival was to promote science literacy and facilitate awareness of contemporary scientific, technological and environmental issues.

The biggest children’s museum in Jordan “The Children’s Museum Jordan” (CMJ) and the biggest public library the “Abdul Hameed Shoman Foundation” screened the movies during this year. Each screening was accompanied with experiments, activities and/or discussions to explain and re-enact the scientific phenomena and to open a participatory space for scientific dealings.

During this year we reached just to 3,282 children in the capital Amman. It was planned to visit other cities in Jordan with the Bus of the CMJ, also called the “mobile museum”. The reason for this was a decision of the Ministry of Education. On Thursday, the 20th of October a school trip ended in a tragedy. About 20 children died during a school trip after flash floods near the Dead Sea. After this accident the Ministry of Education cancelled all school trips until February 2019. To visit the schools, our partners needed a special permission, which took time to get.

Film Selection 2018

Items found 0

Show all Pre-Jury Members of Jordan

Over 30 pre-jury members with expertise in science education and science communication in the participating countries and in-depth knowledge of the local target audience are closely involved in the selection process. All films are translated and synchronized or subtitled into local languages where necessary to offer access without language barriers.

Contact

Laura Hartz

Director


Sophia Schall

Project Coordinator


Our Partners and Sponsors in Jordan

Partners and sponsors

The Children's Museum Jordan
Abdul Hameed Shoman Foundation (ASHF)
Knowledge Path

Photo by Karen Zhao on Unsplash

Jordanien

6. Ausgabe
Das Science Film Festival präsentierte vom 11. Oktober bis 12. Dezember 2018 eine Selektion von 18 Filmen zum Thema „Food Revolution”. 16 Filme wurden auf Arabisch synchronisiert und zwei wurden mit arabischen Untertiteln gezeigt. Das Ziel des Science Film Festival war es, Wissenschaftskompetenz zu fördern und Bewusstsein für aktuelle wissenschaftliche, technologische und Umweltthemen zu schaffen.

Dieses Jahr wurden die Filme im größten Kindermuseum des Landes, dem Children’s Museum Jordan (CMJ), und in der größten öffentlichen Bibliothek, der Abdul Hameed Shoman Foundation, gezeigt. Jede Filmvorführung wurde von Experimenten, Aktivitäten und/oder Diskussionen begleitet, um die zugrundeliegenden wissenschaftlichen Phänomene zu erläutern und zu reproduzieren. So wurde ein Raum geschaffen, in dem sich alle BesucherInnen einbringen und mit wissenschaftlichen Praktiken vertraut machen konnten.

In diesem Jahr erreichte das Festival nur 3.282 Kinder in der Hauptstadt Amman. Vorgesehen war, andere Städte in Jordanien mit dem Bus des CMJ, dem sogenannten „mobilen Museum“ zu besuchen. Eine Entscheidung des Bildungsministeriums hat dies leider verhindert: Am Donnerstag, den 20. Oktober, hatte ein Schulausflug ein tragisches Ende gefunden. Etwa 20 Kinder starben bei einer Exkursion durch Überflutungen nahe dem Toten Meer. Nach diesem Unfall hatte das Bildungsministerium alle Schulausflüge bis Februar 2019 abgesagt. Um dennoch Schulbesuche durchzuführen, benötigten unsere Partner Sondergenehmigungen, die mit erheblichen Wartezeiten verbunden waren.

Filmauswahl 2018

Gefunden 0

Alle Pre-Jury-Mitglieder Jordaniens anzeigen

Eine Jury aus insgesamt mehr als 30 lokalen Fachleuten für Wissenschaftsbildung und Wissenschaftskommunikation der teilnehmenden Länder sind bei der Auswahl der Filme eng eingebunden. Alle Festivalfilme werden übersetzt und in lokalen Sprachen synchronisiert oder untertitelt, um einem breiten Publikum den Zugang zu ermöglichen. 

Kontakt

Laura Hartz

Institutsleiterin


Sophia Schall

Project Coordinator


Unsere Partner und Sponsoren in Jordanien

Partner und Sponsoren

The Children's Museum Jordan
Abdul Hameed Shoman Foundation (ASHF)
Knowledge Path