Photo by Karen Zhao on Unsplash

Palestinian Territories

6th Edition
The ”Science Days Palestine” (SDP) 6th edition hosted the Science Film Festival (SFF) again this year. This year’s round was launched on 22 October 2017. The SDP focused this year on ”Food Revolution” matching the theme of the film festival. The festival aimed at increasing the visitors’ awareness towards the cultural, social and environmental challenges facing the food industry and processing in the year of 2050 when the world population reaches more than 9 billion.  Such as; the industrialization of agriculture that is associated with tree-cutting, chemical enhancers, and the genetic technology involved in seeds processing and plants, and how it affects the food sector in the world in general, and the Palestinian agricultural sector in particular.

The festival reached around 26,600 visitors in 2018. It was co-organized by the Goethe-Institut Ramallah, the A. M. Qattan Foundation, the Institut Francais Jerusalem, Al Nayzak Foundation and Ramallah Municipality in a long-standing cooperation with those valued and local partners.

During the period of the festival, film Screenings were combined with scientific activities, games, hands-on experiments, workshops and families’ and kids discussions. These activities took place in various Palestinian cultural, academic centers and institutions. Including: the French-German Cultural Center in Ramallah, Ni’lin Teachers’ Center, Qattan Science Studio, Al Nayzak Science House, the Canadian School Theater in Nablus, in addition to various locations in Jericho, Jerusalem, Qalqilya, Bethlehem, Birzeit, Hebron, Ni'lin, Thahreya, Beit Our, Al Bi’neh, Raboud, Jabalya, Khan younis, Nablus, Ramallah and Gaza which covers a wide range of Palestinian cities and villages. In the opening day only, the festival hosted around 400 students from Palestinian public and private schools who were actively engaged in the opening activities.

These films contributed in raising the awareness on important food processing facts and figures and had a valuable addition to the kids’ and parents’ knowledge when it comes to food challenges of the current century.

Film Selection 2018

Items found 0

Show all Pre-Jury Members of the Palestine Territories

Over 30 pre-jury members with expertise in science education and science communication in the participating countries and in-depth knowledge of the local target audience are closely involved in the selection process. All films are translated and synchronized or subtitled into local languages where necessary to offer access without language barriers.

Contact

Mona Kriegler

Director and Head of Cultural Programme


  • Goethe-Institut Palestinian Territories
  • Al-Salam Street
  • P.O.B. 2332 Ramallah, Palestine Territories
  •  
  • +972 2 2981 922
  • Mona.Kriegler@goethe.de
May Marei

Coordinator Cultural Programme


  • Goethe-Institut Palestinian Territories
  • Al-Salam Street
  • P.O.B. 2332 Ramallah, Palestine Territories
  •  
  • +972 2 2981 922
  • May.Marei@goethe.de

Our Partners and Sponsors in the
Palestine Territories

Partners and sponsors

Al Nayzak Organisation
A. M. Qattan Foundation
Ramallah Municipality
French Institute

Photo by Karen Zhao on Unsplash

Palästinensische Gebiete
22.10.– 22.11.2018

6. Ausgabe
Zum sechsten Mal wurde das Science Film Festival 2018 im Rahmen der „Science Days Palestine” veranstaltet. Eröffnet wurde das Festival am 22. Oktober 2018. „Food Revolution” stand dieses Jahr im Mittelpunkt der „Science Days Palestine“ und passte somit perfekt zum Thema des Filmfestivals. Ziel des Festivals war, das Publikum auf die kulturellen, sozialen und umweltbezogenen Herausforderungen der Lebensmittelindustrie im Jahr 2050 zu sensibilisieren, wenn die Weltbevölkerung die 9 Milliarden-Grenze überschritten haben wird. Zu diesen Herausforderungen gehören die Industrialisierung der Landwirtschaft, die damit verbundene Rodung und der Einsatz von Chemikalien, sowie die Gentechnologie, die bei der Saatgutaufbereitung und im Pflanzenbau angewendet wird. Damit ebenfalls verbunden sind die Auswirkungen auf den Nahrungsmittelsektor weltweit im Allgemeinen und in Palästina im Besonderen.

2018 verzeichnete das Festival etwa 260.000 BesucherInnen. Organisiert wurde es vom Goethe-Institut Ramallah gemeinsam mit seinen langjährigen und geschätzten lokalen Partnern, der A. M. Qattan Foundation, dem Institut Français Jerusalem, der Al Nayzak Foundation und der Gemeinde Ramallah.

Die Filmvorführungen wurden während der gesamten Festivaldauer von wissenschaftsbezogenen Aktivitäten, Spielen, Mitmachexperimenten, Workshops und Diskussionen begleitet. Familien und Kinder haben sich aktiv in die Diskussionen der Themen eingebracht. Diese vielfältigen Aktivitäten wurden in mehreren palästinensischen Kultur- und Bildungszentren angeboten, beispielsweise im Deutsch-Französischen Kulturzentrum in Ramallah, im Ni’lin Teachers’ Center, im Qattan Science Studio, im Al Nayzak Science House, am Canadian School Theater in Nablus sowie in zahlreichen weiteren Einrichtungen in Jericho, Jerusalem, Qalqilya, Bethlehem, Birzeit, Hebron, Ni'lin, Thahreya, Beit Our, Al Bi’neh, Raboud, Jabalya, Khan younis, Nablus, Ramallah und Gaza. So konnte Wissensvermittlung in eine Vielzahl palästinensischer Städte und Dörfer gebracht werden. Am Eröffnungstag alleine nahmen etwa 400 SchülerInnen palästinensischer öffentlicher und privater Schulen an den Aktivitäten teil.

Die gezeigten Filme leistetem einen wichtigen Beitrag zur Bewusstseinsschaffung hinsichtlich Lebensmittelerzeugung und -verarbeitung und ergänzten das Wissen von Eltern und Kindern in Bezug auf die Herausforderungen der Lebensmittelproduktion dieses Jahrhunderts.

Filmauswahl 2018

Gefunden 0

Alle Pre-Jury-Mitglieder der Palästinenischen Gebiete anzeigen

Eine Jury aus insgesamt mehr als 30 lokalen Fachleuten für Wissenschaftsbildung und Wissenschaftskommunikation der teilnehmenden Länder sind bei der Auswahl der Filme eng eingebunden. Alle Festivalfilme werden übersetzt und in lokalen Sprachen synchronisiert oder untertitelt, um einem breiten Publikum den Zugang zu ermöglichen. 

Kontakt

Mona Kriegler

Director and Head of Cultural Programme


May Marei

Coordinator Cultural Programme


Unsere Partner und Sponsoren in den
Palästinensischen Gebieten

Partner und Sponsoren

Al Nayzak Organisation
A. M. Qattan Foundation
Ramallah Municipality
French Institute