Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Bangkok - 14. November 2018
Blue Hour - a convivial dinner to promote culinary international understanding.

Blaue Stunde Bangkok
© Pixabay.com

​On 14 November 2018, the Goethe-Institut Thailand is inviting guests to a round table in Bangkok. The Blue Hour dinner is the main event of the culinary summit meeting Wanderlust Küche - A Culinary Dialogue, which includes a series of events spread over several weeks. German top chef Mirko Trenkner will prepare a menu for 120 guests together with Thai star chef Bo, owner of the legendary Bangkok Bo Lan Restaurant. This top gourmet meeting of Thai and German gastronomic cultures will be celebrated in the form of a convivial, open-air, round -table dinner in the garden of the Goethe-Institut.

With two of the best chefs of Germany and Thailand uniting efforts in the kitchen and conjuring up a three-course gourmet dinner from regional, fresh ingredients, this evening is guaranteed to be a delightful journey into a world of completely new tastes. Anyone thinking of knuckle of pork with Thai herbs or Tom Kha Gai soup with Swabian spaetzle will be surprised at how much more elaborate the fusion of German and Thai cuisine can be.

To demonstrate that, we have called on the talents of two experts: Hamburg star chef Mirko Trenkner and Duangporn Songvisava - "Bo" - Asia's best chef in 2013. Both have many years of experience in top gastronomy worldwide and are experts in the field of fusion cuisine.
 
The title of this dinner party, Blue Hour, is a reference to the magical moment when the working day draws to a close and the light turns blue shortly before sunset, announcing the most relaxing and social part of the day.
 
Our guests at the round table are Thais and Germans who work in diverse fields of the food industry. They include a Bangkok-based German butcher, a Thai wheat beer brewer, the Thai founder of an NGO for sustainable organic food and a Thai-German food artist.

The dinner is an endeavour of the Goethe-Institut to bring food connoisseurs and experts around the table in a pleasurable atmosphere and in a completely new way because the topic of "eating and drinking" connects people - far beyond the Blue Hour Dinner. The aim of this project is to stimulate long-term culinary dialogue between the participating countries whilst dispelling common prejudices about German cuisine, which has long been discredited as boring. A further focus is on the important topic of sustainable food production and the preservation of traditional cooking, which is a matter of particular concern to Thai chef Bo.
 
The Wanderlust Küche is a trans-regional cultural project of the Goethe-Institut. It will travel on to seven other Southeast Asian countries as well as to the Goethe Instituts of Australia and New Zealand. Mirko Trenkner and his colleagues from the Hamburg chef collective Wertekoche will accompany the project on its travels. Together with local top chefs, they will engage in a culinary dialogue and create completely new menus and dishes.
 

  •  Copyright: Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand

 
closed event
 
Singh
Singh Water
Germany
Big Tea
Bei Otto
CFH
MidasPR
Ibis
Schmidt
Wiseginox

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Bangkok
Blaue Stunde – ein geselliges Dinner zur kulinarischen Völkerverständigung

Blaue Stunde Bangkok
© Pixabay.com

Das Goethe-Institut Thailand bittet am 14. November 2018  zur Tafelrunde in Bangkok: Haupt-Event des mehrwöchigen kulinarischen Gipfeltreffens „Wanderlust-Küche – A Culinary Dialogue“, ist das „Blaue Stunde“ Dinner.  Der deutsche Spitzenkoch Mirko Trenkner und die thailändische Starköchin Bo, Inhaberin des legendären Bangkoker BoLan Restaurants,  bereiten für 120 Gäste gemeinsam ein Menü zu. Das Gourmet-Spitzentreffen der EssKulturen Deutschlands und Thailands findet im Rahmen einer geselligen Open Air Tafelrunde im Garten des Goethe-Instituts statt. 

Wenn zwei der besten Köche aus Deutschland und Thailand gemeinsam am Herd stehen und aus regionalen, frischen Zutaten ein Drei-Gängiges Gourmet-Dinner zaubern, dann ist eines sicher: dieser Abend wird eine genussvolle Reise in ganz neue Geschmacks-Welten. Wer jetzt  an Schweinshaxe mit Thaikräutern oder an Tom Kha Gai Suppe mit schwäbischen Spätzle denkt, wird überrascht sein wie viel filigraner die Hochzeit zwischen der deutschen und der thailändischen Kochkunst schmecken kann. 

Garant dafür sind der Hamburger Starkoch Mirko Trenkner und die 2013 zur besten Köchin Asien gekürte Duangporn Songvisava – bekannt als „Bo“. Beide haben jahrelang weltweit in der  Spitzengastronomie Erfahrungen gesammelt und sind Experten auf dem Feld der Fusionsküche.
 
Der Titel dieses Dinner-Abends , „Blaue Stunde“ , ist eine Anlehnung an jenen magischen Moment, an dem sich der Arbeitstag dem Ende zuneigt, sich das Licht kurz vor dem Sonnenuntergang blau einfärbt und der gesellige Teil des Tages beginnt.
 
Die geladenen Gäste der Tafelrunde sind Thais und Deutsche, die sich auf unterschiedlichste Weise mit dem Thema Ernährung beschäftigen. Vom deutschen Schlachter in Bangkok, über den thailändischen Hefeweizen Bierbrauer bis hin zur Thai-Gründerin einer NGO für nachhaltige Bio-Lebensmittel  und  einer thai-deutschen Foodkünstlerin, wird alles vertreten sein.

Es ist ein Dinner, mit dem das Goethe-Institut auf ganz neuem Wege und in sehr stimmungsvoller Atmosphäre  Foodaffinados und Genuss-Experten  an einem Tisch  zusammenbringt. Denn  das Thema „Essen und Trinken“ verbindet, auch über das Abendessen der „Blauen Stunde“ hinaus. Ziel dieses Projekt ist es langfristig den Kulinarischen Dialog zwischen den beteiligten Ländern  anzuregen und ganz nebenbei mit gängigen Vorurteilen über die als langweilig verrufene deutsche Küche aufzuräumen. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt ist die Beschäftigung mit dem wichtigen Thema der nachhaltigen Lebensmittelerzeugung und der Bewahrung traditioneller Kochkunst, das  besonders auch für die  thailändische Chefköchin Bo eine Herzens-Angelegenheit ist.
 
Die  „Wanderlust-Küche“ ist ein überregionales Kulturprojekt des Goethe-Instituts und wird im Anschluss weiterreisen in sieben Länder Südost-Asiens sowie an die Goethe-Institute in Australien und Neuseeland. Auch dort werden Mirko Trenkner und seine Kollegen des Chefkoch-Kollektivs Werteköche aus Hamburg mit örtlichen Spitzenköchen und Köchinnen in den kulinarischen Dialog treten und gemeinsam ganz neuartige  Menüs und Speisen kreieren.

geschlossene Veranstaltung
 

  •  Copyright: Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand
  •  © Goethe-Institut Thailand

 
 
Singh
Singh Water
Germany
Big Tea
Bei Otto
CFH
MidasPR
Ibis
Schmidt
Wiseginox

Top