Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt
There's this thing called plastic...

| © Goethe-Institut Saigon

Have you ever wondered where the transparent bag, in which our food from the supermarket is packed in, actually comes from? Where and how exactly was it produced? What happens to it when we throw it back into the trash?

Our everyday lives are so full of plastic bags, plastic cups, plastic shoes, plastic signs, plastic packaging and plastic chairs that we miss to perceive and identify this substance as plastic. Rarely do we ask ourselves about its origin and the process of its manufacturing. Most children know that the coconut comes from the palm tree, wood comes from forests and eggs from chicken or other birds - but where does the plastic come from?

An organization called Change VN has been studying consumer behaviour in Vietnam and tries to bring more attention to this important issue. They distribute reusable bags and also organize the "21 Day No Plastic Challenge" 

Equally noteworthy is the initiative of Cleanup Vietnam. It consists of different groups that spontaneously organize and clean up a district or beach section. In Saigon, with the support of the World Bank, new bus lines with greener busses are gradually being introduced. The responsible use of plastic is also of great concern to the Goethe-Institut, so that recently plastic straws were completely banned from its own cafeteria.

This may seem like a small step to the general plastic problem, but everyone can take those small steps and contribute to an improved environmental health. It begins by understanding that plastic is actually a synthetic chemical made out of petroleum. A single plastic bottle takes at least 500 years to rot, while the microplastic is completely indestructible. The Goethe-Institut would like to set an example in the case against plastic and encourage everyone to participate. We are delighted to see sustainability initiatives around the world, especially in Vietnam, but let's not forget that plastic production, as any other production, is controlled by us, the consumers. 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt
Da ist diese Sache mit dem Plastik…

© Goethe-Institut Saigon

Woher kommt die leichte und meist durchsichtige Tüte, in der unser Essen aus dem Supermarkt eingepackt wird? Wo und wie wurde sie produziert? Was passiert mit ihr, wenn wir sie zurück in den Müll werfen?

Unser Alltag ist so voll von Plastiktüten, Plastikbechern, Plastikschuhen, Plastikschildern, Plastikverpackungen, Plastikstühlen, dass wir diesen Stoff oft gar nicht mehr wahrnehmen und als Plastik identifizieren. Selten fragen wir uns nach Herkunft und Entstehung der Plastikprodukte. Die Kokosnuss kommt von der Palme, das Holz kommt vom Baum und die Eier von den Hühnern – woher kommt aber das Plastik?

Eine Organisation namens Change VN hat sich mit dem Konsumverhalten in Vietnam beschäftigt und versucht, mehr Aufmerksamkeit auf dieses wichtige Thema zu lenken. Sie verbreiten mehrfach nutzbare Tüten und organisieren auch die „21 Day No Plastic Challenge“

Ebenso bemerkenswert ist die Initiative von Cleanup Vietnam. Sie besteht aus unterschiedlichen Gruppierungen, die sich spontan organisieren und einen Stadtteil oder Strandabschnitt saubermachen. In Saigon werden nach und nach mit Unterstützung von der World Bank neue Buslinien mit umweltfreundlicheren Bussen eingeführt. Auch dem Goethe-Institut ist der verantwortungsvolle Umgang mit Plastik ein großes Anliegen, sodass vor kurzer Zeit Plastikstrohhalme komplett verbannt wurden.

Es mögen kleine Schritte für die Allgemeinheit sein, aber so kann jeder einen kleinen Beitrag leisten. Es beginnt damit, zu verstehen, dass Plastik ein aus Erdöl chemisch hergestellter Kunststoff ist. Eine einzige Plastikflasche verrottet in frühestens 500 Jahren, während das Mikroplastik komplett unauflöslich ist. Das Goethe-Institut möchte somit ein Zeichen setzen und zur Zusammenarbeit aufrufen. Freuen wir uns also über all die Initiativen weltweit und insbesondere in Vietnam, aber vergessen wir nicht, dass die Plastikproduktion, wie jede andere Produktion auch, von uns, den Konsumenten gesteuert wird. 

Top