Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Chefs


German Chefs


Chefs

Chef 

Helge Hagemann

Helge Hagemann was impressed by food and cooking since the first moment he was allowed to sneak a peak at the steaming and savory-looking pots of his uncle´s restaurant. He finished his apprenticeship in the Michelin-star rated restaurant of the Hotel Louis C. Jacob in Hamburg.

After working in the Hanseatic City, he moved to Canada, Central America and Japan where he learned different techniques and how to create a variety of dishes with especially local ingredients. Since his return to Hamburg, he was engaged in different Pop-up restaurants and culinary Projects.
Together with the company ‘WerteKöche’, he gets to travel throughout Germany and the world as a culinary ambassador for German kitchen.
 

Chef

Mirko Trenkner

Since the age of 12, Mirko Trenkner dreamed of becoming a chef. Four years later, he put his wish into action and started his apprenticeship in the gourmet restaurant of the Berlin Hilton Hotel.

After a work placement at the Hilton Düsseldorf and his community service in Berlin, he moved to Hamburg in 1996, where he worked in one of the best gourmet restaurants of the city called Landhaus Flottbek.
 
Afterwards, he moved further to the north. Having worked as a chef in scenic Scotland, he learned that it only takes a little to prepare good food because each menu follows different seasons.

In 2001, he moved back to Germany and worked as a freelance chef there. In 2008, he founded the culinary company ‘WerteKöche’ together with Steffen Burkhardt. His passion is “throwing cooking spirit and knowledge in the pot”.

 

Chef

Steffen Burkhardt

Steffen Burkhardt has been a passionate chef for over 30 years and still loves his job.

He did his apprenticeship in the Michelin-star restaurant "Landhaus Scherrer" located in Hamburg. Following that, he opened his own restaurant “Nil” which is still one of the hot spots in Hamburg.

His credo: away from old conventions and heading towards innovative kitchen.  The topic of sustainability has become a major focus of his work and can be seen in the explicit regional and seasonal design of the dishes. And when it is possible: organic and fair.

In 2003, Burkhardt left the restaurant to pursue new challenges.

In 2008, together with Mirko Trenkner, he established the company “WerteKöche” that has the goal to embrace ‘authentic and creative kitchen’.
 


Bangkok

Duangporn Songvisava (Bo)

Duangporn Songvisava, better known as Bo, has been running the Bo.Lan restaurant in Bangkok since 2009. She has lived and worked in many different countries but always had a yearning to get back home. Bo cooks with fresh ingredients and transforms traditional Thai dishes into something quite exceptional. Together with her German colleague Mirko Trenkner, Bo has created a three-course meal for the Wanderlust-Küche project of the Goethe-Institut Bangkok.

For Thai cook Duangporn Songvisava, it is not only important that guests at her Bo.Lan restaurant enjoy their meal. Equally important is the quality of the ingredients. All produce used is fresh, healthy and organic. For the Wanderlust-Küche - A Culinary Dialogue project of the Goethe-Institut Bangkok, "Bo" and her colleague Mirko Trenkner from Hamburg have come up with a menu for a three-course meal. This gourmet experience will be offered to 120 guests at the Blue Hour Dinner on the premises of the Goethe-Institut Bangkok on November 14, 2018. The two master chefs do the shopping together beforehand to ensure the ingredients meet their own high quality and safety standards.

Bo is not only famous for her culinary skills - she is also an untiring advocate of healthy, sustainable eating. She teaches at several leading Thai universities and appears in a weekly TV cooking show where she demonstrates how to prepare easy, quick and healthy meals. Of course, she also caters for the guests of her own restaurant, which she has been running with her husband Dylan Jones since 2009. The couple serve up a new, modern interpretation of traditional Thai fare. Cooking is not only Bo’s profession: it is also her passion. She did her Masters degree in gastronomy in Australia and worked in Bangkok in the kitchen of the Metropolitan Hotel before moving to London to cook at Nahm, the first UK Thai food restaurant to win a Michelin star. Her time in London also brought Bo happiness in her private life: it was there that she met her husband, Dylan Jones. The couple now live in Bangkok.


Sydney

 

Darren Taylor

Darren Taylor is a classically trained chef and a multi-award-winning restaurateur and caterer. His career spans 40 years, encompassing work with some of Australia’s most celebrated chefs. He also cut his teeth in France at the 3 Michelin-starred Troisgros, learning to master the best French cuisine. Taylor has been executive chef at some of Australia’s leading restaurants,including Bilson’s Restaurant, (Quay) and Buon Ricardo, having won several Chefs Hats in the SMH Good Food Guide.

In 1998, Darren created Gastronomy Australia. Gastronomy developed an envious reputation for fine food, wine and service. Under Darren’s leadership, Gastronomy won the following awards, RCA boardroom Caterer of the year award, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005 and 2006, also Venue Caterer of the year 2004.

Darren was a key partner in producing successfully, The Gay & Lesbian “Harbour Party for 5,500 patrons’ over 7 years. This included working with key stakeholders, Aids Trust NSW, Botanical Garden Trust and NSW Police.

In 2015, through strong demand, Darren launched Darren Taylor Catering. The business has grown to become recognised as an industry leader in Catering & events.

www.darrentaylorcatering.com.au
 


Kuala Lumpur

 

Ili Sulaiman

She’s a girl with a diverse heritage – and tastebuds. Growing up with her roots steeped in Chines, English, Malay and Sri Lankan heritage – food has always played an integral role in Ili’s life. But it was only at the age of 19 when she was given the opportunity to work at one of London’s most prestigious fine dining restaurants, Mosimanns, did she gain professional experience in the F&B industry.

Since returning to Malaysia, she started Dish by Ili, a catering business that dished out delicious home cooked meals in tiffins. Many also know her as the food personality and celebrity chef Ili Sulaiman who hosted TV shows such as ‘Diari Mangkuk Tingkat Bersama Ili’, ‘Home Cooked: Malaysia’, ‘Family Feast with Ili’ and ‘By the Sea with Ili’ on the Asian Food Channel (AFC).  In 2015, the bubbly self-learnt chef also bagged the title of Food Asia Hero 2015.

Today this ‘foodpreneur’ is a co-founder of social enterprise Agak Agak Initiative and looks to grow and nurture the food-obsessed community with Dish by Ili – a platform for all things food that come with great flavours, big laughs and insightful exchanges.

 


Hanoi

 

Thuy Linh Nguyen

Thuy Linh is in charge of café at the Goethe-Institut.

The Goethe Café complements the cultural work of the Goethe-Institut in a culinary way. Thuy Linh has been closely associated with the Goethe-Institut Hanoi for 21 years. On recommendation of the first director of the institute, she began to learn German cooking in Neustadt/Schwarzwald.

A Cooking internship at the border to Italy, enriched her experiences. All of this can be found today in the menu of the Café Goethe. More than 90% of the guests of the Café Goethe are Vietnamese.

The German kitchen subtly respects their taste habits. The selection of ingredients plays a key role for Thuy Linh. She does not use either MSG, or preservatives or artificial flavors. She prepares everything becomes fresh and seasonal. The Café Goethe is not a business for Thuy Linh, but a cultural commitment and meeting place.

This is where ex-pats meet, as well as people from the government, the embassies, the private and public sectors and art and culture.

Thuy Linh builds bridges between Vietnamese and German food cultures - a connection that makes the Café Goethe an important part of the Goethe-Institut in Hanoi.


 


Jakarta

Petty Elliott

Petty Elliott born in Manado, North Sulawesi.

Indonesian food writer, culinary teacher and self-taught chef Petty Elliott focuses on championing the diversity of Indonesian recipes and culinary traditions.  She has been pioneering modern Indonesian cuisine since 2004 through her writing and working in professional kitchens and collaborating with many Indonesian as well as international chefs. She was head contributor for Indonesia to the Miele Guide, an annually published guide to Asia’s best restaurants, from 2008 to 2013. Petty authored a weekly food column in the national English language daily, Jakarta Globe, and is a regular contributor to the monthly magazine NOW! Jakarta.
 
Her first book, ‘Papaya Flower, Manadonese Cuisine, Regional Indonesian Food’ was published in 2009. The second, ‘Jakarta Bites’, was published in 2016 and was awarded ‘Best Street Food Cookery Book’ at the Gourmand International Book Awards in Yantai, China in May 2017.
 
Petty represented Indonesia at both the Leipzig and Frankfurt book fairs in 2015 and at gala dinners at Villa Kennedy and Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof hotel. In 2017 she returned to Frankfurt to give a cooking demonstration at the book fair. Petty has delivered regular cooking classes since 2004 and in the last few year has provided training and demonstrations on Indonesian cuisine at the Sumba Hospitality School and The Hague Hotel School, Amsterdam.

 

Petty Elliott


Manila

 

Kalel Chan



Favorite Recipe: Sinigang  

Corporate Chef Kalel Chan of The Raintree Restaurants is on top of various innovative concepts such as Chelsea Grand Cafe, Chelsea Kitchen, Friends & Family, Coconut Club, Saboten, Providore, Chotto Matte, Izakaya Sensu, Kabila, and Museum Café where he started.
 
Embodying creativity, Chef Kalel’s innovative kitchen flair continues to evolve and for such a young culinary artist who’s never afraid to experiment, he still manages to value dining traditions from his family.
 
Chef Kalel never fails to cook with heart; this is clearly evident with happy and contented diners who find more reason to come back for his well-loved dishes.
 


Ho-Chi-Minh-City

 

Cam Thien "Steven" Long

Steven Long, raised in Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam, has over 14 years’ experience as a chef.

Long first started his profession as a server in a restaurant when he was 17 years old. After discovering his real passion of being in the kitchen, Steven Long henceforth decides to become a chef.

At the beginning of the Millennium, cooking in Vietnam was still widely considered an occupation only for women and initially gained him little acknowledgement by the society. Against all odds, Long has proved better by pursuing his career at some of the most prestigious restaurants in Viet Nam and internationally – making him one of Viet Nam’s most well-known young chefs today.
In recent years, Chef Steven has tried to “sew a new shirt” for the Vietnamese cuisine by combining it with the art of western decoration. He has won several awards, including Gold Medals at Taste of the World Vietnam and Food&HotelAsia (FHA) Culinary Challenge.

Additionally, Steven Long teaches at vocational schools to share his experience and passion with other people.

From 2014, chef Steven gained a nationwide reputation through his participation in cooking shows on the television such as “Top Chef Viet Nam”. Besides his success story, chef Steven always remained true to himself. “Some people give me the name of “Celebrity Chef”, but actually I am not, I’m just Long – Chef Steven Long.”


Singapur

 

Douglas Ng

Douglas Ng is specialised in the culinary practice of Hawker Stalls.
A Hawker Stall is a Sigaporean food shop which offers local, reasonably priced food.

After Douglas completed his polytechnic he decided to change his professional direction and opened his first Hawker Stall ‘The Fishball Story’ in 2014.

He inherited his love for cooking from his grandmother. She also passed on to him the family recipe for his famous fishballs.

In 2016 ‘The Fishball Story’ was listed in the Michelin Bib Gourmand guide under the category Hawker Stalls.
Douglas’s success story continues. In addition to his two stalls ‘The Fishball Story’ at Timbre+ and Geylang, Douglas has developed another concept and recently opened the "Hakka YTF" at Timbre+. In addition, Douglas is currently expanding his successful franchise system. 

His motto: culinary is art, not chemistry!


Wellington

Monique Fiso

Monique Fiso always wanted to be a chef. Fiso completed her studies at the Wellington Institute of Technology and while still in school talked her way into her first fine dining job working for Chef Martin Bosley at the eponymous Martin Bosley at the Port Nicholson Yacht Club - the number one ranking restaurant in New Zealand at that time.
 
Working full time while studying paid off and Fiso finished top of her class. With a hunger for adventure and a desire for a challenge, Fiso booked a ticket to New York City, home of some of the world’s best restaurants. Fiso headed for Michelin starred PUBLIC restaurant and was immediately put to work. Over the next seven years, Fiso honed her skills as a sous chef in some of New York City's top kitchens - The Musket Room, PUBLIC Restaurant, A Voce, Saxon+Parole, Double Crown, to name a few.
 
In 2016 she returned to New Zealand full time and began the pop-up dining series, Hiakai. Using traditional Māori cooking techniques and ingredients in combination with her michelin star training, Fiso has taken Māori cuisine to a whole new level of sophistication and pushed it into the next chapter in its food story. Fiso has been widely credited for the resurgence of Hangi (maori earth oven) style cookery being practised all across New Zealand, and for being the catalyst for a new wave of chefs incorporating Maori ingredients, cooking techniques and customs into their menus.
 
In 2017, Hiakai won the award for ‘Innovation in Maori Development’ by the NZ Innovation Council, as well as being named a finalist for “Supreme Innovation of the Year”, and “Start-Up Innovation of the Year”. Fiso was also named among “NZ's Top 10 rising stars to watch in 2018” by the NZ Herald.

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Wanderlust Küche - A Culinary Dialogue
Köche


Werteköche


Landesköche

WerteKoch 

Helge Hagemann

Essen und vor allem Kochen begeistern Helge Hagemann seit er das erste Mal in die duftenden und dampfenden Kochtöpfe im Restaurant seines Onkels gucken durfte.
Seine Kochausbildung absolvierte er im renommierten Sterne-Restaurant des Hotels Louis C. Jacob.
Nach einigen Stationen in Hamburg zog es ihn nach Kanada, Mittelamerika und Japan, wo er neue Techniken und Zutaten kennenlernen durfte und lernte mit ausschließlich lokalen Zutaten besondere Gerichte zu kreieren.  Seit seiner Rückkehr nach Hamburg eröffnete er verschiedene Popup-Restaurants und ist in zahlreichen Bereichen der Hamburger Gastronomie engagiert.
 
Gemeinsam mit der Firma "Die WerteKöche " reist er durch Deutschland und das Ausland, um als kulinarischer Botschafter seinen Gästen einen Einblick in die deutsche Küche zu geben.
 

Wertekoch

Mirko Trenkner

Schon im zarten Alter von 12 Jahren träumte Mirko Trenkner davon Koch zu werden. Vier Jahre später setzte er seinen Wunsch in die Tat um und begann eine Ausbildung im Gourmet-Restaurant des Berliner Hilton Hotels. 1996 zog es ihn von Berlin nach Hamburg, wo er in einem der besten Restaurants der Stadt - dem Landhaus Flottbek - arbeitete.

Danach zog es Trenkner noch weiter in den Norden. Als Koch im landschaftlich kargen Schottland lernte er, dass es nur wenig braucht für gutes Essen. Denn die Menüfolge richtete sich nach Angebot und Jahreszeit.

2001 kehrte er nach Deutschland zurück, arbeitete dort als freier Koch und gründetet 2008 mit Steffen Burkhardt das kulinarische Unternehmen „WerteKöche“. Seine Passion ist es „Tatkraft und Wissen in einen Topf zu werfen“.


 

Wertekoch

Steffen Burkhardt

Seit über 30 Jahren ist Steffen Burkhardt ein passionierter Koch und liebt bis heute seinen Job.

Seine Ausbildung absolvierte er im Michelin-Sterne-Restaurant "Landhaus Scherrer" in Hamburg, anschließend folgte die Eröffnung seines eigenen Restaurants "Nil". Sein Credo: weg von alten Konventionen, hin zu innovativer Küche.

2003 verließ Burkhardt das Restaurant, um sich neuen Herausforderungen zu stellen. 2008 gründete er mit Mirko Trenkner das Unternehmen WerteKöche, welches sich zum Ziel gesetzt hat „authentisches und kreatives Kochen“ zu vermitteln.


 


Bangkok

 

Duangporn Songvisava (Bo)

Seit 2009 führt Duangporn Songvisava, besser bekannt als Bo, das Restaurant „Bo.Lan“ in Bangkok. Die Köchin hat bereits in mehreren Ländern gelebt und gearbeitet – doch es zog sie immer wieder zurück in ihre Heimat. Bo kocht mit frischen Zutaten und setzt traditionelle Thai-Gerichte neu um. Gemeinsam mit ihrem deutschen Kollegen Mirko Trenkner hat Bo für die „Wanderlust-Küche“ des Goethe-Instituts Bangkok ein Drei-Gänge-Menü kreiert.

Der thailändischen Köchin Duangporn Songvisava ist nicht nur wichtig, dass es den Gästen ihres Restaurants „Bo.Lan“ in Bangkok schmeckt. Sondern auch, dass die dort verarbeiteten Lebensmittel gesund und ökologisch sind. Für die „Wanderlust-Küche – A Culinary Dialogue“ des Goethe-Instituts Bangkok hat sich „Bo“ zusammen mit ihrem Hamburger Kollegen Mirko Trenkner ein Drei-Gänge-Menü ausgedacht, das 120 geladene Gäste am Abend des 14. November 2018 zur „Blauen Stunde“ im Goethe-Institut in Bangkok verspeisen werden. Dafür kauft das Duo vorher gemeinsam ein – so stellen die beiden Küchenprofis sicher, dass die Zutaten in Sachen Nahrungsmittelsicherheit ihren eigenen hohen Ansprüchen gerecht werden.

Bo ist in Thailand nicht nur als Köchin, sondern auch als Verfechterin gesunden und bewussten Essens bekannt: Sie vermittelt ihr Wissen an Studierende mehrerer Universitäten in Thailand und zeigt auch in einer wöchentlichen TV-Kochsendung, wie einfach und schnell sich gesunde Gerichte zubereiten lassen. Klar, dass sie auch den Gästen ihres eigenen Restaurants, das sie seit 2009 gemeinsam mit ihrem Ehemann Dylan Jones führt, ausgewogenes Thai-Food serviert – neu und modern interpretiert. Gelernt hat sie das Kochen, das nicht nur ihr Beruf, sondern ihre absolute Leidenschaft ist, unter anderem in Australien. Dort machte sie ihren Masterabschluss in Gastronomie. Bo arbeitete dann in Bangkok in der Küche des Metropolitan Hotels, um anschließend nach London zu ziehen und im „Nahm“, dem ersten Thai-Food-Restaurant Großbritanniens, das einen Michelin-Stern bekam, zu kochen. Für Bo brachte der Aufenthalt in London auch privates Glück: Sie lernte dort Dylan Jones kennen, ihren jetzigen Ehemann. Das Paar lebt inzwischen wieder in Bangkok.


Sydney

 

Darren Taylor

Darren Taylor ist ein klassisch ausgebildeter Koch, mit mehr als 40 Jahren Berufserfahrung, sowie ein vielfach ausgezeichneter Gastronom und Cateringunternehmer. Er hat mit den renommiertesten Köchen Australiens zusammengearbeitet. Seine Karriere begann in Frankreich, als er in dem mit drei Michelin-Sternen ausgezeichneten Restaurant Troisgros die Kunst der französischen Küche zu beherrschen lernte. Taylor war Chefkoch in den führenden Restaurants in Australien, unter anderem in Bilson’s Restaurant, (Quay) und Buon Ricardo. Er hat zahlreiche Kochmützen des SMH Good Food Guide, einem Restaurantratgeber für Australien, gewonnen.

1998 gründete Darren Gastronomy Australia. Das Cateringunternehmen hat sich im Laufe der Zeit einen einmaligen Ruf in Bezug auf gehobene Küche, Wein und Service erarbeitet. Unter Darrens Führung gewann Gastronomy viele Auszeichnungen: fünf Jahre in Folge (2002-2006) den „RCA boardroom Caterer of the year award“ und im Jahre 2004 den „Venue Caterer of the year“.

Über sieben Jahre lang war Darren ein wichtiger Partner bei der Organisation der „Harbor Party for 5,500 patron“ für Schwule und Lesben. Dabei arbeitete er mit Interessenvertretern wie Aids Trust NSW, Botanical Garden Trust und der Polizei von New South Wales zusammen.

2015 gründete Darren, aufgrund hoher Nachfrage, Darren Taylor Catering. Seine Unternehmen sind mittlerweile anerkannte Spitzenreiter im Catering- und Eventbereich.

www.darrentaylorcatering.com.au

 


Kuala Lumpur

 

Ili Sulaiman

Sie ist eine Frau mit einem facettenreichen Erbe – und ebenso facettenreichen Geschmacksknospen. Aufgewachsen mit chinesischem, englischem, malaiischem und sri-lankischem Erbe hat Essen immer schon eine wesentliche Rolle in Ilis Leben gespielt. Doch erst im Alter von 19 Jahren bekam sie die Möglichkeit in einem von Londons angesehensten Edelrestaurants, Mosimanns, zu arbeiten, wo sie professionelle Erfahrung in der Gastronomie sammelte.

Nach ihrer Rückkehr nach Malaysia begann sie mit Dish by Ili, einer Catering Firma, die hausgemachte Gerichte in Tiffins auslieferte. Viele kennen sie auch als die prominente Persönlichkeit und Köchin Ili Sulaiman, die Gastgeberin von Fernsehsendungen wie ‘Diari Mangkuk Tingkat Bersama Ili’, ‘Home Cooked: Malaysia’, ‘Family Feast with Ili’ und ‘By the Sea with Ili’ auf dem Asian Food Channel (AFC) war. 2015 wurde der temperamentvollen selbstgelernten Köchin der Titel Food Asia Hero 2015 verliehen.

Heute ist diese ‚Foodpreneurin‘ Mitbegründerin des Sozialunternehmens Agak Agak Initiative und strebt danach, die essensbegeisterte Community mit Dish by Ili – einer Plattform für alles rund um das Thema Essen, mit großartigem Geschmack, viel Humor und aufschlussreichem Austausch – zu vergrößern und zu pflegen.

 


Hanoi

 

Thuy Linh Nguyen

Thuy Linh führt das Café im Goethe-Institut.

Das Goethe Café ergänzt die Kulturarbeit des Goethe-Instituts auf kulinarische Weise. Mit dem Goethe Institut Hanoi ist Thuy Linh seit 21 Jahren eng verbunden Auf Empfehlung des ersten Institutsleiters nahm sie in Neustadt/Schwarzwald eine Ausbildung zur Köchin auf. Ein Koch-Praktikum an der Grenze zu Italien bereicherte ihre Erfahrungen.

All das findet sich heute in der umfangreichen Menüauswahl des Café Goethe wieder. Mehr als 90% der Gäste des Café Goethe sind Vietnames*innen. Auf ihre geschmacklichen Gewohnheiten nimmt die deutsche Küche des Café Goethe auf subtile Weise Rücksicht. Dabei spielt die Auswahl der verwendeten Zutaten für Thuy Linh eine zentrale Rolle.

MSG, Konservierungsstoffe oder künstliche Aromen verwendet sie grundsätzlich nicht Sie bereitet alles frisch und saisonal zu.

Das Café Goethe ist für Thuy Linh kein Geschäft, sondern kulturelles Engagement und ein Ort der Begegnung. Hierhin kommen Expats ebenso wie Leute aus der Regierung, von den Botschaften, dem Privat- und öffentlichen Sektor und aus Kunst und Kultur.

Thuy Linhs Gerichte bauen Brücken zwischen den vietnamesischen und der deutschen Esskulturen –eine Verbindung, die das Café Goethe zu einem wichtigen Bestandteil des Goethe-Instituts Hanoi macht.


 


Jakarta

Petty Elliott

Petty Elliott geboren in Manado, Nordsulawesi.
 
Food-Journalistin, Küchenmeisterin und autodidaktische Köchin Petty Elliott konzentriert sich auf die Vielfalt indonesischer Rezepte und kulinarischer Traditionen. Seit 2004 ist sie durch ihre Artikel und Arbeit in professionellen Küchen und mit vielen indonesischen und internationalen Köchen die Wegbereiterin für moderne indonesische Küche. Von 2008 bis 2013 war sie für den Miele Guide, einem jährlich erscheinenden Reiseführer für Asiens beste Restaurants, verantwortlich. Petty schrieb eine wöchentliche Food-Kolumne in der landesweiten englischsprachigen Tageszeitung Jakarta Globe und schreibt regelmäßig für das Monatsmagazin NOW! Jakarta.
 
Ihr erstes Buch mit dem Titel "Papaya Flower, Manadonese Cuisine, Regional Indonesian Food" erschien 2009. Das zweite Buch "Jakarta Bites" erschien 2016 und wurde bei den Gourmand International Book Awards in Yantai, China, im Mai 2017 mit dem "Best Street Food Cookery Book" ausgezeichnet.
 
Petty vertrat Indonesien auf den Buchmessen in Leipzig und Frankfurt im Jahr 2015 und bei Galadinnern in der Villa Kennedy und dem Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof. 2017 kehrte sie nach Frankfurt zurück, um auf der Buchmesse eine Kochvorführung zu geben. Petty hat seit 2004 regelmäßig Kochkurse veranstaltet und in den letzten Jahren Schulungen und Demonstrationen zur indonesischen Küche an der Sumba Hospitality School und der Den Haag Hotel School in Amsterdam gegeben.

 

Petty Elliott


Manila

 

Kalel Chan

Der Firmenkoch der Raintree Restaurants, Kalel Chan, ist an der Spitze verschiedener, innovativer Konzepte wie dem Chelsea Grand Cafe, der Chelsea Kitchen, Friends&Family, dem Coconut Club, Saboten, Providore, Chotto Matte, Izakaya Sensu, Kabila und dem Museums Café in welchem er auch seine Karriere began.
 
Kalel’s natürliche Begabung für das Kochen entwickelt sich stetig weiter, er verkörpert Kreativität und als junger kulinarischer Künstler, der sich niemals davor scheut zu experimentieren, bleibt er dennoch den Speisetraditionen seiner Familie treu.
 
Kalel kocht immer aus vollem Herzen; glückliche und zufriedene Gäste, die immer mehr Gründe finden zu seinen vielgeliebten Gerichten zurück zu kommen sind ein klares Zeichen dafür.

 


Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt

 

Cam Thien "Steven" Long

Steven Long, aufgewachsen in Ho-Chi-Minh-Stadt, Vietnam, hat über 14 Jahre Berufserfahrung als Koch.

Ein Job als Kellner in einem Restaurant ebnet Long mit 17 Jahren den Weg in die Gourmetgastronomie. Seine Neugier und fortan entdeckte Passion für das Kochen stößt Anfang des Millenniums in Vietnam zunächst jedoch nur auf wenig Anerkennung: Zu stark ist die noch vorherrschende gesellschaftliche Ansicht, dass Küchenarbeiten vor allem den Frauen vorbehalten seien. Allen Widerständen zum Trotz widerlegt Steven Long die überholten Vorurteile indem er seine Karriere als Koch landesweit und international weiter verfolgt.

Heute gilt Steven Long als einer der bekanntesten jungen Köche Vietnams. Er gewann mehrere Auszeichnungen und Preise, darunter Goldmedaillen bei Taste of the World Vietnam und Food&HotelAsia (FHA) Culinary Challenge.

In den letzten Jahren konzentrierte sich Chefkoch Steven hauptsächlich auf die Zubereitung der vietnamesischen Küche in der Kombination mit westlicher Dekoration. Sein Ziel ist die Verbindung und Harmonisierung vietnamesischer Gerichte mit internationalen Einflüssen.

Um seine Erfahrungen und die Leidenschaft für das Kochen auch mit anderen Menschen zu teilen, unterrichtet Long an mehreren Berufsschulen.

Ab 2014 erlangte Steven Long nationale Bekanntheit durch sein Mitwirken an TV-Shows wie „Top Chef Viet Nam“. Trotz seiner Erfolgsstory ist sich Steven Long stets selbst treu geblieben. "Den Spitznamen "Celebrity Chef" habe ich meinen Auftritten im Fernsehen zu verdanken, aber wie ein "Celebrity Chef" fühle ich mich nicht, ich bin nur Long – der Chefkoch Steven Long."
 
 

 


Singapur

 

Douglas Ng

Douglas Ng hat sich auf die kulinarische Praxis der Hawkerstände spezialisiert.
Ein Hawkerstand ist eine eine aus Singapur typische Garküche, die lokales, preisgünstiges Essen anbietet.

Nach dem Abschluss des Polytechnikums entschied sich Douglas Ng für einen beruflichen Richtungswechsel und eröffnete 2014 seinen ersten Hawkerstand „The Fishball Story“.

Seine Liebe zum Kochen hat er von seiner Großmutter geerbt. Sie überlieferte ihm auch das Familienrezept für seine berühmten Fischklößchen.

2016 wurde „The Fishball Story“ im Michelin Bib Gourmand Führer unter der Kategorie „Hawker Stalls“ ausgezeichnet.

Aber die Erfolgsgeschichte geht noch weiter. Zusätzlich zu den zwei Ständen „The Fishball Story“ (Timbre+ und Geylang) hat Douglas ein weiteres Konzept entwickelt und eröffnete das „Hakka YTF“ erst kürzlich im Timbre+.

Außerdem arbeitet Douglas gerade daran, sein bereits erfolgreiches Franchise System weiter auszubauen.  

Sein Motto:  Kochen ist Kunst, keine Chemie!


Wellington

Monique Fiso

Monique Fiso wollte schon immer Köchin werden. Noch während ihrer Ausbildung am Wellington Institute of Technology überzeugte sie Küchenchef Martin Bosley im gleichnamigen Restaurant im Port Nicholson Yachtclub– dem damals hochrangigsten Restaurant Neuseelands - ihr einen Job zu geben.

Während der Ausbildung Vollzeit zu arbeiten lohnte sich für Fiso und sie verließ die Schule als Jahrgangsbeste. Gewappnet mit Abenteuerlust und dem Wunsch nach einer Herausforderung buchte sie ein Ticket nach New York City, wo sich einige der weltbesten Restaurants finden. Fiso machte sich auf zu PUBLIC, einem Michelin-Stern gekröntes Restaurant und wurde sofort eingesetzt. In den folgenden sieben Jahren verlieh sie ihren Fähigkeiten als Sous Chefin in New Yorks besten Küchen den Feinschliff: The Musket Room, PUBLIC Restaurant, A Voce, Saxon + Parole, Double Crown, um nur ein paar Beispiele zu nennen.

2016 kehrte Fiso nach Neuseeland zurück und startete die Pop-up Dinnerserie Hiakai. Unter Verwendung traditioneller Māori-Kochtechniken und Zutaten in Kombination mit ihrer Erfahrung in Sternerestaurants, hat Fiso die Māori-Küche perfektioniert und ebnete den Weg für die ein neues Kapitel in der Geschichte dieser traditionellen Kochkunst. Fiso wurde die neuseelandweite Wiederentdeckung des Hāngi (Erdofen) zugeschrieben. Außerdem gilt sie als Katalysator für eine Reihe junger Köche, die Māori-Zutaten, Kochtechniken und Bräuche in ihre Speisekarten aufgenommen haben.

2017 gewann Hiakai den Preis für „Innovation in Māori Development“ des NZ Innovation Councils und war darüber hinaus auch unter den Finalisten für „Surpreme Innovation of the Year“ und „Start-Up of the Year“. Fiso fand sich ebenfalls unter den „NZ’s Top 10 rising stars to watch in 2018“ des NZ Herald wieder.

 

Top