Nicaragua A Tenacious Advocate for Indigenous Communities

Miskito paddling on the waters of the Rio Coco, Nicaragua.
Miskito paddling on the waters of the Rio Coco, Nicaragua. | Photo (detail): Esteban Felix © picture alliance/AP Photo

Nicaragua's legislation is among the most progressive in Latin America – and among the least enforced. 90 per cent of the country’s Indigenous areas are threatened with invasion by armed settlers. Lottie Cunningham, a Nicaraguan lawyer, environmentalist and Indigenous rights activist, talks about her struggle and the humanitarian crisis in her country.

By Ulrike Prinz

Lottie Cunningham Wren receives threats all the time, including death threats, for her efforts to defend the Indigenous areas of Nicaragua's northern Caribbean coast. She’s a lawyer and a member of the Miskito Indigenous group, and she isn’t one to give up without a fight. With the tools of her legal training, she is taking on a juggernaut that brings in its wake death and devastation to her country’s Indigenous peoples and Afro-descendants*.

When armed settlers began illegally encroaching on these areas in the 1990s, various Indigenous and social movements were started up to protect the land. In 2001, Cunningham, the founder and president of the Center for Justice and Human Rights of the Atlantic Coast of Nicaragua (CEJUDHCAN), brought these various initiatives together and initiated efforts to demarcate Indigenous Territories. Two years later, the foundation stone was laid for the demarcation of the lands belonging to the Indigenous Mayangna community of Awas Tingni. Since then, however, thousands of Indigenous people have been displaced by the settlers, and Cunningham has not rested in her fight to defend their collective rights to the land and its natural resources. "They attacked again last week," Cunningham says over the phone.
 
Lottie Cunningham, who are these settlers and what are they looking for on Indigenous and Afro-descendant lands?

They’re ex-military. The Nicaraguan government has been allotting land to them since the 1990s, and over the past ten years they’ve been illegally appropriating Indigenous lands. They have been mining, and now they’re turning our forests into vast grazing areas for cattle. 90 percent of the 304 Indigenous settlements (in 23 territories) are faced with a massive invasion by settlers – most of whom are armed.
 
How does this invasion affect the communities?

The settlers are driving my people off their land, where they used to hunt, fish and harvest medicinal plants. In 2015, for example, they forced a number of families out of Wangki Lí Aubra, which is located in the Bosawás Biosphere Reserve on the Waspuk River. They burned down all the houses of the Polo Paiwas community, and the families, who still haven’t been able to return, have taken refuge in a few communities along the Waspuk and Coco rivers. Many of them are suffering from hunger and disease... It’s a humanitarian crisis.

The invasion is destroying forests and vital natural resources, polluting our rivers and posing a grave threat to Indigenous peoples, their communal economies, their lands, their political autonomy and their cultural identity. These communities are at risk of ethnocide.

How did this situation come about?

We’ve been seeing increased violence in the Indigenous Territories since 2015. That year we counted 49 Indigenous people murdered, 49 wounded, 46 abducted and four disappeared. All these incidents are related to land grabs. We’re concerned about the situation. At least 13 natives were murdered in 2020, including Miskitos, Mayagnas, Ramas – various Indigenous peoples of the Caribbean.

We carried out a census in a dozen communities along the northern Caribbean coast under the protection of the Inter-American System and found that over 3,000 people were driven off their lands in 2015, and 1,007 people in 2019. A total of 28,000 hectares has been expropriated from these twelve communities.
 
In Nicaragua, Indigenous and Afro-descendant peoples officially own their land. So has the government stepped in?

Nicaraguan legislation on Indigenous rights has always been the most progressive in Latin America – but in practice the worst! There’s a huge gulf between the law and its enforcement. The government have not done their duty to protect Indigenous lands. They haven’t carried out the last step of the process of demarcation and titling of Indigenous lands known as “saneamiento” [clearing the Indigenous territories of colonos (non-Indigenous settlers) as well as corporations that are using the territories without any legal title or lease agreement with the community]. According to Law 445 on communal property, the Nicaraguan government are required to complete this final phase of saneamiento. But they have not shown any political will to comply with national and international legislation on Indigenous rights and human rights.

But the failure to finalize the saneamiento process is not the only cause of the afflictions heaped upon Indigenous societies. An independent investigation by the Oakland Institute shows that the Nicaraguan state authorities played an active role in fostering the internal colonization of Indigenous Territories: they granted concessions and permits to mining companies and even for logging and cattle ranching. Mining concessions have more than doubled in size over the past three years. They now cover 2.6 million hectares, which is 20 per cent of the country. This is a very serious conflict and a dire situation for the Indigenous communities, which the international community should know about.

Nicaragua is in the throes of the most profound crisis in its history.

Lottie Cunningham

What steps have you taken to put a stop to this destructive dynamic?

We turned to the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (OAS), and the Inter-American Court of Human Rights stated in their decision that the saneamiento of Indigenous Territories is a means of guaranteeing the effective use and enjoyment of the rights in communal property, and that the Nicaraguan state must finalize the process.

We have also drafted reports for the UN Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights. We are making use of the Human Rights Council’s 
special reports on human rights and the environment, among other things, and will continue to make every effort to draw attention to the plight of the Indigenous peoples and Afro-descendants along Nicaragua’s Caribbean coast.

Why aren’t the government implementing concrete measures to protect the lives, cultural identity and lands of your Indigenous peoples?

Because there is no political will to do so. Unfortunately, state institutions have deteriorated over the past ten years. And Nicaragua is in the throes of the most profound crisis in its history: violence, murders, kidnappings and disappearances are on the rise, while space for civil society has been closed off, violating our freedom of speech and right of assembly, and so on...
This human rights crisis concerns Indigenous communities as well. Unfortunately, we haven’t been able to take domestic legal action against human rights violations because we have no access to the national courts. Because the Nicaraguan state has utilized the criminal justice system to criminalize Indigenous communities, traditional authorities and us human rights defenders on the basis of unfounded accusations and fabricated evidence.

The state has failed in its duty to protect the lives and lands of the Indigenous population, while all the offences committed by the settlers have gone unpunished.


* Afro-descendants are people with African migration histories who live in the African diaspora as a result of slavery on the American double continent.

Nicaragua Die beharrliche Kämpferin

Zwei Miskito paddeln in einem Boot auf dem Wasser des Rio Coco, Nicaragua.
Zwei Miskito paddeln in einem Boot auf dem Wasser des Rio Coco, Nicaragua. | Foto (Detail): Esteban Felix © picture alliance/AP Photo

Nicaraguas staatliche Gesetze gehören zu den fortschrittlichsten in Lateinamerika – aber in der Praxis versagen viele davon. Neunzig Prozent der Indigenen Siedlungsgebiete sind durch bewaffnete Siedler*innen bedroht. Anwältin Lottie Cunningham spricht über ihren Kampf und die humanitäre Krise in ihrem Land.

Lottie Cunningham Wren erhält ständig Drohungen, auch Morddrohungen, weil sie die Indigenen Territorien der nördlichen Karibikküste Nicaraguas verteidigt. Aber die Indigene Miskito-Anwältin ist keine, die so leicht aufgibt. Mit ihrem akademischen Rüstzeug kämpft sie gegen eine Zerstörungsmaschinerie, die Tod und Verwüstung über Indigene und Afro-Deszendente* des Landes bringt.

Die illegale Besetzung dieser Gebiete durch bewaffnete Siedler*innen begann in den 1990er-Jahren. Verschiedene Indigene und soziale Bewegungen hatten sich gebildet, um ihr Land zu schützen. Im Jahr 2001 brachte Cunningham, Gründerin und Präsidentin des Zentrums für Gerechtigkeit und Menschenrechte der Atlantikküste Nicaraguas (Cejudhcan), diese Initiativen zusammen und initiierte die Demarkierung der Indigenen Territorien. Zwei Jahre später wurde der Grundstein für die Abgrenzung des Territoriums der Indigenen Mayangna-Gemeinschaft von Awas Tingni gelegt. Seitdem hat die Anwältin in ihrem Kampf für die kollektiven Rechte nicht geruht. Doch Tausende von Indigenen wurden von den Siedler*innen vertrieben. „Letzte Woche haben sie wieder angegriffen“, sagt Cunningham am Telefon.
 
Lottie Cunningham, wer sind diese Siedler*innen und was suchen sie in den Territorien der Indigenen und Afro-Deszendenten?

Es sind Ex-Militärs und der nicaraguanische Staat hat ihnen seit den 1990er-Jahren Land zugewiesen und während der letzten zehn Jahre haben sie sich illegal Indigenes Land angeeignet. Sie waren im Bergbau tätig und verwandeln nun unsere Wälder in riesige Weideflächen für Rinder. 90 Prozent der insgesamt 304 Indigenen Siedlungen (in 23 Territorien) sind mit einer massiven Invasion von Siedler*innen konfrontiert – die meisten von ihnen bewaffnet.
 
Was bedeutet diese Invasion für die Gemeinden?

Diese Siedler*innen vertreiben mein Volk von ihrem Land, wo sie früher gejagt, gefischt und Heilpflanzen gesammelt haben. Im Jahr 2015 verjagten sie zum Beispiel mehrere Familien in Wangki Lí Aubra, das liegt im Biosphärenreservat Bosawás am Waspuk-Fluss. Sie brannten alle Häuser der Gemeinde Polo Paiwas nieder und bis heute konnten die Familien nicht zurückkehren. Sie haben sich in die Gemeinden des Rio Waspuk und Rio Coco geflüchtet. Viele von ihnen leiden unter Hunger und Krankheiten... Wir befinden uns in einer humanitären Krise.

Die Invasion zerstört Wälder und lebenswichtige natürliche Ressourcen, verschmutzt unsere Flüsse und bedroht massiv das Wohlergehen der Indigenen Völker, ihr gemeinschaftliches Wirtschaften, ihr Territorium, ihre politische Autonomie und kulturelle Identität. Deshalb haben die Gemeinden Angst vor einem Ethnozid.

Wie hat sich diese Situation entwickelt?

Seit 2015 haben wir einen stärkeren Anstieg der Gewalt in Indigenen Territorien gesehen. In diesem Jahr zählten wir 49 ermordete, 49 verletzte, 46 entführte und vier verschwundene Indigene. Alle diese Fälle stehen im Zusammenhang mit der Landinvasion. Wir sind besorgt über diese Situation. 2020 wurden mindestens 13 Indigene Menschen ermordet. Unter den Opfern sind Miskitos, Mayagnas, Ramas – verschiedene Indigene Völker der Karibik.
In allein zwölf Gemeinden der nördlichen Karibikküste, die vom Interamerikanischen System unter Schutz gestellt worden waren, haben wir eine Zählung durchgeführt. Dabei haben wir festgestellt, dass 2015 mehr als 3000 Menschen und 2019 1007 Menschen vertrieben wurden. In diesen zwölf Gemeinden wurden insgesamt 28.000 Hektar Land enteignet.
 
In Nicaragua halten Indigene und Afro-Deszendente offiziell ihre Landtitel. Hat die Regierung in dieser Angelegenheit etwas unternommen?

Die nicaraguanische Gesetzgebung zu Indigenen Rechten war immer die fortschrittlichste in Lateinamerika – aber in der Praxis war sie die schlechteste! Zwischen Gesetzgebung und deren Umsetzung klafft eine große Kluft. Die Regierung ist ihrer Verpflichtung, Indigenes Land zu schützen, nicht nachgekommen. Sie hat die letzte Phase des Demarkations- und Titulierungsprozesses, das sogenannte „saneamiento“ [Räumung der Indigenen Territorien von Colonos (nicht-Indigene Siedler*innen) sowie von Unternehmen, die die Territorien ohne Rechtstitel oder Pachtvertrag mit der Gemeinde nutzen, Anm. d. Red.], nicht umgesetzt. Nach dem Gesetz 445 zur Regelung des kommunalen Eigentums, muss die Regierung diese letzte Phase abschließen. Aber die nicaraguanische Regierung zeigt nicht den politischen Willen, die nationale und internationale Gesetzgebung zu indigenen Rechten und Menschenrechten einzuhalten.

Aber das Leid der Indigenen Gesellschaften ist nicht ausschließlich auf den nicht abgeschlossenen Titulierungsprozess zurückzuführen. Eine unabhängige Untersuchung des Oakland Instituts hat ergeben, dass die staatlichen Behörden Nicaraguas eine aktive Rolle bei der Förderung der Kolonisierung Indigener Territorien gespielt haben. Sie erteilten Konzessionen und Genehmigungen an Bergbaukonzerne und sogar für die Forstwirtschaft und Viehzucht. In den letzten drei Jahren hat sich die Fläche der Bergbaukonzessionen mehr als verdoppelt. Sie umfasst 2,6 Millionen Hektar, das entspricht 20 Prozent des Landes. Dies ist ein sehr ernsthafter Konflikt und eine schwerwiegende Situation für die Indigenen Gemeinden, dessen sich die internationale Gemeinschaft bewusst sein sollte.

Ich habe immer gesagt, dass sich Nicaragua in der tiefsten Krise seiner Geschichte befindet.

Lottie Cunningham

Welche Schritte haben Sie unternommen, um diese zerstörerische Dynamik zu stoppen?

Wir haben uns an die Interamerikanische Menschenrechtskommission (OAS) gewandt und der Interamerikanische Gerichtshof für Menschenrechte hat in seiner Resolution festgestellt, dass die Regulierung der Indigenen Territorien ein Weg ist, um die effektive Nutzung und das Recht auf Gemeinschaftseigentum zu garantieren, und dass der Staat Nicaragua diese abschließen muss. Doch bisher hat er sich nicht daran gehalten.

Wir haben auch Berichte für den UN-Ausschuss für wirtschaftliche, soziale und kulturelle Rechte verfasst. Wir nutzen die Sonderberichterstattungen [Teil der Sonderverfahren des Menschenrechtsrates sind, Anm. d. Red.] unter anderem zu den Themen Menschenrechte und Umwelt ... und wir werden weiterhin alles unternehmen, um diese leidvolle Situation der Indigenen Völker der Karibikküste Nicaraguas für die Öffentlichkeit sichtbar zu machen.

Warum weigert sich der Staat die konkreten Maßnahmen zum Schutz des Lebens, der kulturellen Identität und der Territorien ihrer Indigenen Völker umzusetzen?

Weil es keinen politischen Willen gibt. Leider haben sich die Institutionen des Staates innerhalb der letzten 10 Jahren verschlechtert. Und ich habe immer gesagt, dass sich Nicaragua in der tiefsten Krise seiner Geschichte befindet: Die Gewalt hat zugenommen, Morde, Entführungen, das Verschwindenlassen von Personen und Räume der Zivilgesellschaft wurden geschlossen, Das Recht auf Meinungsfreiheit und Versammlungsfreiheit wird verletzt, und so weiter …

Diese Krise der Menschenrechtsverletzungen hat auch Auswirkungen auf die Indigenen Territorien. Leider konnten wir die Fälle intern nicht weiter vorantreiben, weil wir keinen Zugang zur nationalen Justiz haben. Weil die nicaraguanischen Staatsbehörden das Strafrechtssystem dazu benutzt haben, Indigene Gemeinden, traditionelle Autoritäten und uns Menschenrechtsverteidiger mit unbegründeten Anschuldigungen und fingierten Beweisen zu kriminalisieren.

Der Staat hat seine Verantwortung, das Leben und das Territorium der indigenen Bevölkerung zu schützen, verfehlt, während alle von den Siedler*innen begangenen Taten ungestraft geblieben sind.


* Afro-Deszendente sind Menschen mit afrikanischer Migrationsgeschichte, die als Folge der Sklaverei auf dem amerikanischen Doppelkontinent in der afrikanischen Diaspora leben.