Home Office The Hybrid Generation

Nick Holzthum from New York is dependent on a wheelchair, but at the Parkchester underground stop in the Bronx he is forced to crawl to the platform. Although the subway station was renovated in 2010 and since then the entrance has been at ground level with an automatic barrier for passengers who have wheelchairs, prams and wheeled luggage – there are no lifts to access the train level.
Nick Holzthum from New York is dependent on a wheelchair, but at the Parkchester underground stop in the Bronx he is forced to crawl to the platform. Although the subway station was renovated in 2010 and since then the entrance has been at ground level with an automatic barrier for passengers who have wheelchairs, prams and wheeled luggage – there are no lifts to access the train level. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance / ZUMAPRESS.com / Erik Mcgregor

It isn’t just the big international tech corporations who are holding heated discussions about staff returning to the office in summer 2022. Plenty of employees would like to remain at home in Germany too: what makes the home office so attractive?
 

By Petra Schönhöfer

Tesla CEO Elon Musk caused commotion for his workforce in June 2022 by emphatically rejecting the home office. Google would also like to see employees back in the office at least three days a week. By contrast, Twitter boss Parag Agrawal is allowing complete freedom: colleagues there can decide for themselves where they work. After large-scale protests throughout the workforce, employees at Apple, Amazon and Microsoft can negotiate a hybrid working model directly with their bosses.

The earth’s moving in Silicon Valley, and the debate clearly shows how the workplace has changed as a result of Covid. According to a study conducted by the Pew Research Center in America back in 2020, 54 per cent of workers who were doing their jobs from home stated that they would like to continue to work there full or part-time even after the pandemic. In Germany a global study of the employment market was carried out by professional services consultancy PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) entitled “Hopes and Fears 2022”, which concluded that just five per cent of people who work from home would like to start commuting to the office every day again.

For good reason – in a survey in 2022 the US initiative Tracking Happiness discovered that having the ability to work remotely increases employee happiness by 20 per cent, and that was on a global scale: the respondents included people from North and South America, Asia and Europe.

Is working from home really better for employees?

An Opportunity for Inclusion

The home office can be a viable alternative, especially for people with disabilities. If someone is physically disabled, their own home will already be designed as a barrier-free environment and there is no need to commute, which would pose a challenge to people with impaired sight or mobility. Not only that, but a home office can reduce the risk of infection during a pandemic. People with mental health issues can also perceive their home to be the safe place they need in order to achieve their full productivity potential.

Philipp Kahn-Pauli, who works for a non-profit called RespectAbility, even observed a slight increase in inclusion of people with disabilities in the US employment market during the pandemic. “In March 2020 the employment rate for people with disabilities of employable age was just 34.9 per cent.” In May 2022 on the other hand it was 37.8 per cent. “This means that more people with disabilities are integrated into the employment market than before the pandemic.”

“Yet obviously inclusion can only be successful in the home office if barrier-free online access is provided as well,” points out Jonas Karpa, editor at Sozialheld*innen e.V. “Can everyone communicate effectively with each other? Are online tools easy to understand and accessible to everyone?” Furthermore it can make feelings of loneliness worse, not just for people with mental health issues. There is a risk of social isolation for deaf people as well as people with autism, for whom the workplace is often the only option to cultivate social contacts. And there is certainly the risk of employers pressuring people with disabilities to work from home: “Working from home must not be an excuse on behalf of the employer because their office is not designed as a barrier-free environment,” says Karpa.

Higher Energy Costs

Costs play a role too, if employees decide to work from home. According to energy provider EnBW, electricity bills can rise by up to 250 euros a year, incurred for instance through laptop or PC use, lighting and cooking. According to the Office for National Statistics, 86 per cent of those working from home in the UK said that their electricity, water and gas bills had gone up. Furthermore investments have to be made to outfit the home office properly. “New purchases such as an office chair, desk or monitors can quickly exceed a budget of 1000 euros,” says online marketing manager and home office expert Maximilian Kayser. The employers don’t always cover these costs.

No Travel Costs

Yet Kayser also sees potential savings: a high cost factor in the office is the daily food order, he says. This easily accounts for 10 euros every day, which you don’t need to spend at home. But probably the biggest share of avoidable costs is travel. “On average people in Germany who commute to work travel 34 kilometres each day to get to and from work,” Kayser has calculated. This amounts to a considerable sum of money, either for filling up with increasingly expensive fuel or for a monthly public transport ticket, and wear and tear on the car is a fraction of what it would be. Plus the fact that commuting less also has a positive effect on the environment as it means reduced emissions.

Many employees state that they are better able to combine their jobs with their private lives in the home office. But at the same time the boundaries between leisure and working time often become blurred. Many employees state that they are better able to combine their jobs with their private lives in the home office. But at the same time the boundaries between leisure and working time often become blurred. | Photo (detail): © picture alliance/abaca/TNS/ABACA

Removing Boundaries Between Work and Family

According to a survey conducted by the Bitkom digital association, a large majority of the working population who work remotely feel less stressed and enjoy significant time savings, while many more value the flexible hours and better potential for combining work and private life. But at the same time, removing these boundaries is one of the huge dangers for health in the home office. Many employees tend to work longer hours than they do in the office – including for instance at night, when the children are asleep. Having your career and family under the same roof can easily lead to a blurring of the boundaries between work and private life. But it’s extremely important to draw a clear line between work and private life to ensure that home workers have enough time for relaxation. This applies in particular when employees are unwell, because if someone is working from home anyway they are easily tempted not to call in sick. A British study for instance found that in 2020, the first year of the pandemic, incidences of sick leave in England hit an all-time low of 1.8 per cent.

Proximity Bias: Out of Sight, Out of Mind?

Incidentally – the lack of face-to-face interaction with colleagues is the most frequently stated disadvantage of the home office, according to the Bitkom study. Reduced contact with the boss is a contributory factor here too, as identified in the “State of Hybrid Work 2022” survey of office workers in Germany by tech firm Owl Labs at the start of 2022. 44 per cent fear that something known as a “proximity bias” exists at their workplace – a psychological phenomenon according to which colleagues who are present in person at work are favoured by the boss due to their physical proximity. In fact, according to further results of the study, 53 per cent of bosses and 57 per cent of senior management are more likely to ask the opinion or engage with those they physically work with.

Generation Hybrid

While companies are still struggling with the implementation of hybrid work models, employees have a fairly clear idea of how they would like to work in the future. If it was left up to them, there would be a mix of remote and face-to-face work. What might that look like? Something like this: popular places to work include holiday accommodation, a shared desk at the office, a permanent place of residence abroad, and a co-working space. A third of those surveyed would even like to work from a camper van.

Homeoffice Die Generation Hybrid

Nick Holzthum aus New York sitzt im Rollstuhl, an der Haltestelle Parkchester in der Bronx aber ist er gezwungen, bis zum Bahnsteig zu kriechen. Zwar wurde die U-Bahn-Station 2010 renoviert, der Eingang ist seitdem ebenerdig und es gibt eine automatische Schranke für Fahrgäste mit Rollstühlen, Kinderwagen und Rollgepäck – aber keine Aufzüge, um auf die Zug-Ebene zu gelangen.
Nick Holzthum aus New York sitzt im Rollstuhl, an der Haltestelle Parkchester in der Bronx aber ist er gezwungen, bis zum Bahnsteig zu kriechen. Zwar wurde die U-Bahn-Station 2010 renoviert, der Eingang ist seitdem ebenerdig und es gibt eine automatische Schranke für Fahrgäste mit Rollstühlen, Kinderwagen und Rollgepäck – aber keine Aufzüge, um auf die Zug-Ebene zu gelangen. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance / ZUMAPRESS.com / Erik Mcgregor

Nicht nur bei den großen internationalen Tech-Konzernen wird im Sommer 2022 hitzig über die Rückkehr der Mitarbeiter*innen ins Büro diskutiert. Auch in Deutschland möchten viele Beschäftigte weiter zu Hause bleiben: Was das Homeoffice so attraktiv macht.
 

Von Petra Schönhöfer

Tesla-Firmenchef Elon Musk hat mit einer vehementen Absage an das Homeoffice unter seinen Angestellten im Juni 2022 für Aufregung gesorgt. Auch Google möchte seine Arbeiternehmer*innen wieder mindestens drei Tage pro Woche im Büro sehen. Völlige Freiheit gewährt hingegen Twitter-Chef Parag Agrawal: Seine Beschäftigten entscheiden selbst, wo sie arbeiten. Bei Apple, Amazon und Microsoft können Angestellte nach massiven Protesten der Belegschaft direkt mit ihren Vorgesetzten ein hybrides Arbeitsmodell aushandeln.

Das Silicon Valley bebt, und die Debatte zeigt deutlich, wie sich die Arbeitswelt durch Corona verändert hat.  Laut einer Studie des amerikanischen Pew Research gaben schon im Dezember 2020 54 Prozent der während der Pandemie im Homeoffice Beschäftigten an, auch nach der Pandemie ganz oder teilweise dort bleiben zu wollen. Für Deutschland kommt die weltweite Arbeitsmarktstudie „Hopes and Fears 2022“ der Unternehmensberatungsgesellschaft PricewaterhouseCoopers (PwC) zu dem Resultat, dass nur fünf Prozent der Menschen, die im Homeoffice arbeiten, wieder täglich ins Büro fahren wollen.

Aus gutem Grund, denn die amerikanische Initiative Tracking Happiness hat in einer Umfrage aus 2022 herausgefunden, dass die Möglichkeit, im Homeoffice zu arbeiten, die Zufriedenheit der Arbeitnehmer*innen um 20 Prozent verbessert – und zwar weltweit: unter den Befragten waren Menschen aus Nord- und Südamerika, Asien und Europa.

Ist Homeoffice wirklich besser für Arbeitnehmer*innen?

Chance zur Inklusion

Das Homeoffice kann gerade für Menschen mit Behinderung eine echte Alternative sein. Bei Menschen mit einer körperlichen Behinderung ist die eigene Wohnung bereits barrierefrei gestaltet und der Arbeitsweg entfällt, der etwa für Blinde oder gehbehinderte Menschen eine Herausforderung darstellt. Zudem kann das Homeoffice in Pandemiezeiten das Risiko einer Ansteckung reduzieren. Für Menschen mit psychischen Behinderungen kann die Wohnung auch die Sicherheit vermitteln, die sie zur vollen Entfaltung ihrer Produktivität benötigen.

Philipp Kahn-Pauli von der NGO RespectAbility beobachtete während der Pandemie auf dem US-Arbeitsmarkt gar einen kleinen Anstieg der Beteiligung von Menschen mit Behinderung. „Im März 2020 lag die Erwerbsquote von Menschen mit Behinderungen im erwerbsfähigen Alter bei nur 34,9 Prozent.“ Im Mai 2022 seien es hingegen 37,8 Prozent gewesen. „Das bedeutet, dass mehr Menschen mit Behinderungen in den Arbeitsmarkt integriert sind als vor der Pandemie.“

„Gleichzeitig gelingt Inklusion im Homeoffice natürlich nur dann, wenn auch online für Barrierefreiheit gesorgt wird“, gibt Jonas Karpa zu bedenken, Redakteur bei Sozialheld*innen e.V.. „Können alle gut miteinander kommunizieren? Sind die Online-Tools verständlich und für alle bedienbar?“ Nicht nur bei Menschen mit einer psychischen Erkrankung kann sich zudem das Gefühl der Einsamkeit verstärken. Die Gefahr der sozialen Isolation besteht für Gehörlose genauso wie für Menschen mit Autismus, für die der Arbeitsplatz manchmal die einzige Möglichkeit ist, soziale Kontakte zu pflegen. Und es besteht durchaus die Gefahr, dass Arbeitgeber*innen Menschen mit Behinderungen ins Homeoffice abdrängen: „Homeoffice darf nicht eine Entschuldigung von Arbeitgeber*innen sein, ihr Büro nicht barrierefrei zu gestalten“, so Karpa.

Stromkosten steigen

Auch die Kosten spielen eine Rolle, wenn sich Arbeitnehmer*innen für Arbeiten im Homeoffice entscheiden.  Laut dem Stromanbieter EnBW können jährlich bis zu 250 Euro Mehrkosten für Strom anfallen, etwa für die Laptop- oder PC-Nutzung, Beleuchtung und Kochen. In Großbritannien gaben dem Office for National Statistic zufolge 86 Prozent der Beschäftigten im Homeoffice an, dass ihre Ausgaben für Strom-, Wasser- und Gasversorgung gestiegen seien. Um das Heimbüro gut auszustatten, müssen zudem Investitionen getätigt werden. „Neue Anschaffungen wie ein Bürostuhl, ein Schreibtisch oder Monitore können die 1000-Euro-Marke schnell überschreiten“, so der Online-Marketing-Manager und Homeoffice-Experte Maximilian Kayser. Nicht in allen Fällen übernimmt die Arbeitsstelle diese Kosten

Fahrtkosten entfallen

Doch Kayser sieht auch Sparpotenzial: Ein hoher Kostenfaktor im Job sei tägliches Essen-Bestellen. Hier gingen schnell mal 10 Euro täglich drauf, die man zuhause umgehen kann. Den wahrscheinlich größten Anteil der wegfallenden Kosten machen aber die Fahrtkosten aus. „Im Schnitt legen Menschen in Deutschland, die zur Arbeit pendeln, 34 Kilometer pro Tag für den Arbeitsweg zurück“, rechnet Kayser. Da komme eine beachtliche Geldsumme zusammen, entweder für die immer teurer werdende Tankfüllung oder für die ÖPNV-Monatskarte, und auch der Verschleiß beim Auto verringere sich um ein Vielfaches. Zudem wirkt sich weniger Pendeln mit den dadurch verringerten Emissionen auch positiv auf die Umwelt aus.

Viele Erwerbstätigen geben an, dass sie Berufs- und Privatleben im Homeoffice besser verbinden können. Zugleich aber verschwimmen Freizeit und Arbeitszeit hier öfter. Viele Erwerbstätigen geben an, dass sie Berufs- und Privatleben im Homeoffice besser verbinden können. Zugleich aber verschwimmen Freizeit und Arbeitszeit hier öfter. | Foto (Detail): © picture alliance/abaca/TNS/ABACA

Entgrenzte Arbeitszeit

Eine große Mehrheit der Erwerbstätigen, die mobil arbeiten, empfinden laut einer Befragung des Digitalverbands Bitkom weniger Stress, sehen einen positiven Zeitgewinn und viele weitere schätzen die zeitliche Flexibilität und eine bessere Vereinbarkeit von Berufs- und Privatleben. Doch die Entgrenzung der Arbeitszeit ist zugleich eine der großen Gefahren für die Gesundheit im Homeoffice. Viele Arbeitnehmer*innen neigen dazu, länger zu arbeiten als im Büro – etwa auch nachts, wenn die Kinder schlafen. Beruf und Familie unter einem Dach führen leicht dazu, dass Freizeit und Arbeitszeit verschwimmen. Eine klare Abgrenzung zwischen Arbeits- und Privatleben ist aber extrem wichtig, damit Beschäftigte im Homeoffice genügend Ruhezeit erhalten. Das gilt erst recht für den Krankheitsfall, denn wer sowieso schon von zu Hause aus arbeitet, wird schnell dazu verleitet, sich nicht krank zu melden. So kommt beispielsweise eine britische Studie zu dem Resultat, dass im ersten Pandemiejahr 2020 die Krankmeldungen in England auf ein Rekordtief von 1,8 Prozent fielen.

Proximity bias: aus den Augen, aus dem Sinn?

Der fehlende persönliche Austausch mit den Kolleg*innen ist übrigens der in der Bitkom-Studie am häufigsten genannte Nachteil des Homeoffice. Dabei fällt auch der geringere Kontakt zu den Vorgesetzten ins Gewicht, wie Anfang 2022 die Befragung „State of Hybrid Work 2022“ des Technologieunternehmens Owl Labs unter Bürobeschäftigten in Deutschland ergab. 44 Prozent befürchten, dass an ihrem Arbeitsplatz ein sogenannter „proximity bias“ existiert – ein psychologisches Phänomen, nach dem in Präsenz arbeitende Kollegen aufgrund der größeren räumlichen Nähe von ihren Vorgesetzten bevorzugt werden. Tatsächlich, so die weiteren Studienergebnisse, fragen 53 Prozent der Vorgesetzten und 57 Prozent der Führungskräfte vorrangig diejenigen Beschäftigten um ihre Meinung oder setzen sich mit ihnen auseinander, mit denen sie physisch zusammenarbeiten.

Generation Hybrid

Während Unternehmen noch immer mit der Umsetzung hybrider Arbeitsmodelle hadern, haben Angestellte eine ziemlich klare Vorstellung davon, wie sie in Zukunft arbeiten möchten sollen. Geht es nach ihnen, wird es in der Zeit nach der Pandemie eine Mischung aus mobiler und Präsenzarbeit geben. Wie das aussehen könnte? Etwa so: Populäre Arbeitsorte sind unter anderem Ferienwohnungen, ein geteilter Schreibtisch im Büro, ein fester Wohnort im Ausland und ein Co-Working-Space. Immerhin ein Drittel der Befragten möchte gar vom Campingbus aus arbeiten.