Emergency Funding International Relief Fund

Music lessons at the Kronendal Music Academy in Hout Bay, South Africa.
Music lessons at the Kronendal Music Academy in Hout Bay, South Africa. | © Thabang Radebe
The International Relief Fund for organisations in culture and education was established in 2020 as an initiative of the German Foreign Office and the Goethe-Institut and in collaboration with further partners with the aim of supporting cultural and educational institutions abroad in their efforts to deal with the effects of the pandemic.

The German Foreign Office provided the initial funding of three million Euros, which has been increased to around six million Euros in 2021. The Goethe-Institut is in charge of the overall coordination and distribution of the funding. Cultural organisations and private charities from Germany which have also provided funding or are involved with their own project funding include the DAAD Artists-in-Berlin programme, the German Commission for UNESCO, the S. Fischer Stiftung, the Robert Bosch Stiftung and the Siemens Stiftung. 

At present, 215 organisation from 59 countries are receiving funding. This enables cultural and educational centres in Africa, the Middle East, Central and Southeast Asia, as well as Central and South America to continue their cultural and educational work, to resume contact with their audiences and thus to continue to make their contribution to artistic freedom, open discourse and social diversity.

Finanzielles Hilfsprogramm Internationaler Hilfsfonds

Musikunterricht an der Kronendal Music Academy in Hout Bay in Südafrika.
Musikunterricht an der Kronendal Music Academy in Hout Bay in Südafrika. | © Thabang Radebe
Der Internationale Hilfsfonds für Organisationen in Kultur und Bildung wurde 2020 auf Initiative des Auswärtigen Amtes und des Goethe-Instituts sowie in Zusammenarbeit mit weiteren Partnern eingerichtet, um Kultur- und Bildungseinrichtungen im Ausland bei der Bewältigung der Auswirkungen der Pandemie zu unterstützen.

Das Auswärtige Amt stellte zunächst drei Millionen Euro zur Verfügung, die bis 2021 auf rund sechs Millionen Euro aufgestockt wurden. Das Goethe-Institut ist für die Gesamtkoordination und Verteilung der Mittel zuständig. Kulturelle Organisationen und private Wohlfahrtsverbände aus Deutschland, die ebenfalls Fördermittel zur Verfügung gestellt haben oder sich mit einer eigenen Projektförderung engagieren, sind das Berliner Künstlerprogramm des DAAD, die Deutsche UNESCO-Kommission, die S. Fischer Stiftung, die Robert Bosch Stiftung und die Siemens Stiftung. 

Aktuell werden 215 Organisationen aus 59 Ländern gefördert. Dadurch wird Kultur- und Bildungszentren in Afrika, dem Nahen und Mittleren Osten, Zentral- und Südostasien, sowie Mittel- und Südamerika ermöglicht ihre Kultur- und Bildungsarbeit fortzusetzen, den Kontakt zum Publikum wieder aufzunehmen und somit weiterhin ihren Beitrag für künstlerische Freiheit, einen offenen Diskurs und gesellschaftliche Vielfalt zu leisten.