Project Space in Los Angeles The Neighborhood Interpretive Center

The Neighborhood Interpretive Center
© Joes Garcia
The Neighborhood Interpretive Center is a hyperlocal initiative of the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles that presents innovative cultural programs created by, together with, and for the diverse MacArthur Park community in Los Angeles.

Since October 2021, the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles has been part of the MacArthur Park neighbourhood where many people of colour (Latinx, Asian, and African American) live. In cooperation with local partners and cultural workers, the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles conducted focus groups to better understand how the local community envisioned a collaboration with the Goethe-Institut. In addition, as part of a community advisory council, the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles was able to connect with and listen to the thoughts of various initiatives and organisations in and around the neighbourhood. Through this process, the Goethe-Institut Los Angeles decided to create a project space for people and cultures in the area, which would serve as a platform to present projects directly relevant to the MacArthur Park/Westlake community and surrounding neighbourhoods. 

The Neighborhood Interpretive Center has been active since the beginning of 2022. An open call for cultural workers and creatives sought innovative and engaging projects relevant to the MacArthur Park community. Five projects have since been selected to be presented at the project space throughout the year. 

At the opening on February 26th, the authors Mohamed Amjahid and Alice Hasters discussed the topic „Disruptive Representation and the Limits of Diversity“. 
 

In March and April 2022, the project space hosted an exhibition of giant kites inspired by Maya traditions, accompanied by kite building workshops for children, as well as a queer performance art night. In August, a retrospective of the Frida Kahlo Theater will be shown.

Projektraum in Los Angeles The Neighborhood Interpretive Center

The Neighborhood Interpretive Center
© Joes Garcia
Die hyperlokale Nachbarschaftsinitiative „Neighborhood Interpretive Center“ des Goethe-Institut Los Angeles präsentiert innovative Kulturprogramme die von, mit und für die diverse Community im Stadtteil MacArthur Park in Los Angeles entstehen. 

Seit Oktober 2021 ist das Goethe-Institut Los Angeles Teil des Stadtteils MacArthur Park, in dem viele People of Color (Latinx, Asian and African American) leben. Um besser zu verstehen, wie sich die vielfältige Community eine Zusammenarbeit vorstellt, führte das Goethe-Institut in Zusammenarbeit mit lokalen Partnern und Kulturschaffenden Fokusgruppen durch. Als Teil eines Community Advisory Boards konnte sich das Goethe-Institut mit verschiedenen Organisationen aus dem Viertel und der Umgebung vernetzen und ihnen zuhören. Durch diesen Prozess wurde entschieden, einen Projektraum als Ort für die Menschen und Kulturen in der unmittelbaren Nachbarschaft zu erschaffen, um Projekten eine Plattform zu bieten, die für die Gegend MacArthur Park/Westlake und umliegende Viertel besondere Relevanz haben. 

Das „Neihborhood Interpretative Center“ ist seit Jahresbeginn 2022 aktiv. Ein Open Call rief Kulturschaffende und Kreative zum Einreichen innovativer Kulturprogramme auf, die sich mit MacArthur Park und umliegenden Vierteln auseinandersetzen und sich für diese engagieren. Insgesamt wurden fünf Projekte ausgewählt, die im Laufe des Jahres im Projektraum durchgeführt und präsentiert werden. 

So diskutierten zum Auftakt am 26. Februar die Autor*innen Mohamed Amjahid und Alice Hasters über das Thema „Disruptive Representation and the Limits of Diversity“. 
 

Im März und April 2022 fand eine Ausstellung mit Drachen, die von Maya Traditionen inspiriert sind, Drachenbauworkshops für Kinder, sowie eine Queer Performance Art Nacht statt. Im August wird eine Retrospektive des Frida Kahlo Theaters gezeigt.