Digital festival Latitude Festival

Latitude Festival
© EL BOUM
With artistic contributions and debates, the digital Latitude Festival explored how colonial structures impact the present and how they can be overcome.

Using projects initiated and supported by the Goethe‑Institut in recent years as a starting point, the digital Latitude Festival (4th – 6th June 2020) brought together international cultural, scientific and political perspectives. Reflections on the asymmetries and power relations from the colonial era, which continue to have an impact today, occupy four themed areas:
  • Economic Inequality
  • Global digital equality
  • Dealing with cultural property, and
  • Racism, identity and remembering.
Artistic and discursive contributions questioned the meaning of colonial history, tracked down the suppressed stories in memory discourses, and highlighted the way we handle structural racism in the present day. The extent to which global power structures influence our day-to-day activities and life within a community is made even more clearly apparent by crisis situations. What narrative do we apply with reference to the inequality between North and South? What do visions of a future fair internet look like? What ethical and legal challenges do we face as a consequence of handling looted cultural heritage, and what potential for social change might come about through this discussion about museums?

The main programme with discussions, interviews, performances, concerts and other formats was live streamed, with a pop-up radio channel broadcast in cooperation with free artists’ radio station reboot.fm and Radio Network Berlin. A supporting film programme was also shown in cooperation with the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art. Furthermore there was a media partnership with Deutschlandfunk Kultur. A total of 72 contributors (speakers, artists, moderators) from 29 countries were involved in the festival, which featured 32 agenda items in the main programme.

Clips from the individual items can be viewed on the Goethe‑Institut YouTube channel.

Digitales Festival Latitude-Festival

Latitude-Festival
© EL BOUM
Mit künstlerischen Beiträgen und Debatten erkundete das digitale Latitude‑Festival, wie koloniale Strukturen in die Gegenwart wirken und wie sie überwunden werden können.

Ausgehend von Projekten, die das Goethe‑Institut in den vergangenen Jahren weltweit initiiert und unterstützt hat, brachte das digitale Latitude‑Festival (4.–6. Juni 2020) internationale Positionen aus Kultur, Wissenschaft und Politik zusammen. Asymmetrien und Machtverhältnisse, die seit der Kolonialzeit fortwirken, wurden in vier Themensträngen reflektiert:
  • Wirtschaftliche Ungleichheiten
  • Globale Digitale Gleichheit
  • Umgang mit Kulturgut sowie
  • Rassismus, Identität und Erinnerung.
Künstlerische und diskursive Beiträge fragten nach der Bedeutung von Kolonialgeschichte, spürten den verdrängten Geschichten in Erinnerungsdiskursen nach und beleuchteten unseren Umgang mit strukturellem Rassismus in der Gegenwart. Wie stark globale Machtstrukturen unseren Alltag und unser Zusammenleben beeinflussen, machen gerade Krisensituationen sichtbar. Welche Narrative bemühen wir, wenn wir über die Ungleichheit zwischen Norden und Süden sprechen? Wie sehen die Visionen eines fairen Internets der Zukunft aus? Vor welche ethischen und juristischen Herausforderungen stellt uns der Umgang mit geraubtem Kulturgut und welches Potenzial für gesellschaftliche Veränderung birgt die Diskussion um Museen?

Das im Livestream gezeigte Hauptprogramm mit Diskussionen, Interviews, Performances, Konzerten und anderen Formaten wurde begleitet von einem Radioprogramm in Kooperation mit dem freien Künstlerradio reboot.fm sowie dem Radio Netzwerk Berlin und einem Filmangebot in Kooperation mit dem Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst. Darüber hinaus bestand eine Medienpartnerschaft mit Deutschlandfunk Kultur. Insgesamt waren 72 Mitwirkende (Referent*innen, Künstler*innen, Moderator*innen) aus 29 Ländern an den 32 Programmpunkten des Hauptprogramms beteiligt.

Die Mitschnitte der einzelnen Programmpunkte können auf dem YouTube‑Kanal des Goethe‑Instituts abgerufen werden.