About “Zeitgeister”

Zeitgeister is the Goethe-Institut’s global cultural magazine.


How can we overcome colonial power relations and their consequences? What potential solutions might there be to the climate crisis? How do we achieve gender equity? How can we make optimal use of the opportunities and benefits offered by digitalisation? And what kind of society do we want to live in?

Zeitgeister addresses global issues and perspectives and invites authors, experts, activists and us all to join a worldwide discussion of culture and society. The magazine thus offers a platform to engage in wide-ranging exchange about issues of outstanding cultural and societal relevance. Positions from the arts, sciences and civil society are combined to create world-spanning debates.

Many authors and interview partners in the Zeitgeister articles are or have been involved in projects of the Goethe-Institut around the world. An expert index and a project index highlight these links. The global network of the Goethe-Institut offers a unique opportunity to bring local viewpoints in the Zeitgeister magazine into the debate on globally relevant questions.

Please reach out to us via internet-redaktion@goethe.de.


We would like to emphasise that the articles published in Zeitgeister represent the opinion of the authors and do not in any way reflect the position of the Goethe‑Institut. The magazine offers a platform for open debates and exchange of views in a respectful manner.

Über „Zeitgeister“

Zeitgeister ist das globale Kulturmagazin des Goethe-Instituts

Wie können wir koloniale Machtverhältnisse und deren Folgen überwinden? Welche Lösungsansätze gibt es für die Klimakrise? Wie erreichen wir Geschlechtergerechtigkeit? Wie können wir die Chancen und Vorteile der Digitalisierung optimal nutzen? Und in was für einer Gesellschaft wollen wir leben?

Zeitgeister greift globale Fragestellungen und Perspektiven auf und lädt weltweit Autor*innen, Expert*innen, Aktivist*innen und uns alle zum gemeinsamen Austausch über Kultur und Gesellschaft ein: Das Magazin ist eine Plattform zum vielfältigen Austausch zu den genannten Themen von herausragender kultureller und gesellschaftlicher Relevanz. Positionen aus Künsten, Wissenschaften und Zivilgesellschaft verknüpfen sich zu weltumspannenden Debatten.

Viele der Autor*innen oder Interviewpartner*innen der Beiträge auf Zeitgeister waren oder sind an Projekten der Goethe-Institute in aller Welt beteiligt. Ein Expert*innen- und ein Projekte-Index machen diese Verknüpfung sichtbar. Das weltweite Netzwerk des Goethe-Instituts ermöglicht es in einzigartiger Weise, lokale Positionen im Magazin Zeitgeister in das Gespräch über global relevante Fragen einzubringen.


Wir weisen darauf hin, dass die im Magazin Zeitgeister veröffentlichten Artikel die Meinung der Autor*innen darstellen und in keiner Weise die Position des Goethe-Instituts reflektieren. Das Magazin bietet eine Plattform für offene Debatten und respektvollen Meinungsaustausch.