Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Alex Capus
Romance without Kitsch

In his latest novel, Swiss writer Alex Capus brings to life the 18th century at the time of the French Revolution. Once again, he successfully uses characters on the margins of history to provide profound insights into the past.

By Swantje Schütz

Königskinder © Hanser Late summer in the Swiss Gruyère district. Max and his wife Tina are driving across the Jaun Pass when heavy snow starts to fall. Their car ends up sliding into a ditch and gets snowed in within a short period of time. As there is no mobile reception at this altitude either, they end up having to spend the night. Aiming to pass the time as pleasantly as possible, Max begins to tell a story set in the local area.

Max would just as happily have read to his wife from the Toyota’s manual, had it been at hand. But as it happens, it is the love story of Jakob, a poor shepherd boy, and Marie, a rich farmer’s daughter.

Love with obstacles

The story begins in 1779 in a milking hut that would be visible from the snowed-in Toyota if it wasn’t for all the snow. And it also ends in these parts. However, in between lie years in which Jakob and Marie are separated, for the cheeky barefoot shepherd joins the French military and becomes a soldier in gleaming black boots. Marie, on the other hand, stays behind on her parents’ farm. It takes until 1789, a few days before the French Revolution, before the two of them finally see each other again – in Montreuil, a country estate near the Palace of Versailles that belongs to Elisabeth, the sister of French king Louis XVI.

Two linguistic levels, two narrative levels

Alex Capus’ Königskinder [Royal Children] is a wonderful book, brimming with suspense and romance. Admittedly, it takes some time to get used to narrator Max and the ever-interrupting Tina – when you would rather just follow the story of Jakob and Marie.
 
In the present, Max and Tina use today’s modern language, whereas Jakob and Marie move within the world and language of the 18th century. This spirited transition between levels suggests to the reader even more strongly that the narrative within the narrative is a true story – or at least it’s supposed to be. For Max himself says: “Then again, it’s not actually that important whether a story is true or not. What’s important is that it is genuine.” Be that as it may, the princess and her country estate really did exist.

Supreme storytelling

Talking to Deutschlandfunk Kultur radio, Johannes Kaiser aptly described Alex Capus’ style: “Capus is a master of atmospheric depiction. He needs no more than a few words to describe life in the mountains or pre-revolutionary life around and inside the Palace of Versailles in a vivid and detailed, at times suggestive manner. Straight away, you have a mental image.”
 
In Jakob, the Normandy-born writer has magnificently created an endearing, compassionate protagonist. At one point, four of Marie’s father’s farmhands intend to beat Jakob up after he and Marie have spent a few days on the mountain pastures. Capus touchingly describes Jakob’s reaction: “Jakob would like to try to avoid a fight if that were possible; firstly, because each of the four farmhands was a child once, too, and had a mother, a favourite toy and a big dream, and secondly, because a fight always means danger, regardless of the opponent.”
 
Cherry Picker Capus, Alex: Königskinder
München: Carl Hanser Verlag, 2018. 185 S.
ISBN: 978-3-446-26009-2

You can also find this title in our Onleihe
 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Alex Capus
Romantik ohne Kitsch

Alex Capus lässt in seinem neuesten Buch das 18. Jahrhundert zur Zeit der Französischen Revolution lebendig werden. Wie so oft gelingt es ihm, durch Randfiguren der Geschichte einen tiefen Einblick in vergangene Zeiten zu geben.

Von Swantje Schütz

Königskinder © Hanser Spätsommer im schweizerischen Greyerzerland. Auf dem Jaunpass beginnt es heftig zu schneien. Max und seine Frau Tina sind dort mit ihrem Auto unterwegs. Sie rutschen in den Straßengraben und sind binnen kürzester Zeit so eingeschneit, dass sie den nächsten Tag abwarten müssen, zumal es in dieser Höhe auch kein funktionierendes Handynetz gibt. Um sich die Zeit so angenehm wie möglich zu vertreiben, erzählt Max eine Geschichte aus der Gegend des Passes, auf dem sie liegengeblieben sind.

Max hätte seiner Frau auch aus dem Toyota-Handbuch vorgelesen, wenn er eines zur Hand gehabt hätte. Aber so ist es eben die Liebesgeschichte des armen Hirtenjungen Jakob und der reichen Bauerntochter Marie.

Liebe mit Hindernissen

Die Geschichte beginnt in einer Melkhütte im Jahr 1779, die vom eingeschneiten Toyota aus zu sehen sein müsste, gäbe es nicht so viel Schnee. Und sie endet auch wieder in der Gegend. Dazwischen liegen allerdings Jahre, in denen Jakob und Marie getrennt sind, denn der barfüßige Hirtenbengel geht zum französischen Militär und wird ein Soldat mit schwarzen, glänzenden Stiefeln. Marie hingegen bleibt auf dem elterlichen Hof. Erst 1789, wenige Tage vor Ausbruch der Französischen Revolution, sehen sich die beiden wieder  – in Montreuil, dem Landsitz nahe Schloss Versailles, der Elisabeth gehört, der Schwester von Frankreichs König Ludwig XVI.

Zwei Sprach- und Erzählebenen

Alex Capus‘ Königskinder ist ein wunderbares Buch, voller Spannung und Romantik. Es dauert allerdings eine Weile, bis man sich an den Erzähler Max und an die immer wieder unterbrechende Tina gewöhnt – man möchte vielmehr der Geschichte von Jakob und Marie folgen.
 
Max und Tina aus dem Heute haben ihre moderne Sprache, Jakob und Marie hingegen bewegen sich in der Sprachwelt des 18. Jahrhunderts. Dieser lebendige Wechsel der Ebenen zeigt dem Leser umso deutlicher, dass es sich bei der Erzählung in der Erzählung um eine wahre Geschichte handelt – oder handeln soll. Denn Max sagt selbst: „Wobei es gar nicht so wichtig ist, ob eine Geschichte wahr ist oder nicht. Wichtig ist, dass sie stimmt.“ Die Prinzessin und ihren Landsitz gab es jedenfalls wirklich.

Höchste Erzählkunst

Über Capus‘ Erzählkunst meint Johannes Kaiser im Deutschlandfunk Kultur treffend: „Capus ist ein Meister der atmosphärischen Beschreibung. Er braucht nur wenige Worte, um anschaulich und detailreich, bisweilen deftig das Leben in den Bergen ebenso wie das vorrevolutionäre Leben vor und im Schloss von Versailles zu beschreiben. Man hat sofort ein Bild vor Augen.“
 
Der in der Normandie geborene Schweizer Autor hat mit Jakob auf großartige Weise einen liebenswerten, einfühlsamen Protagonisten geschaffen. Einmal wollen vier Knechte von Maries Vater Jakob verprügeln, nachdem er und Marie ein paar Tage auf der Alp verbracht haben. Jakobs Reaktion schildert Capus sehr anrührend: „Jakob würde gerne versuchen, den Kampf zu vermeiden, wenn es möglich wäre; erstens, weil jeder der vier Knechte auch einmal ein Kind war und eine Mutter, ein Lieblingsspielzeug und einen großen Traum hatte, und zweitens, weil ein Kampf immer Gefahr bedeutet, gegen welchen Gegner auch immer.“
 
Rosinenpicker Capus, Alex: Königskinder
München: Carl Hanser Verlag, 2018. 185 S.
ISBN: 978-3-446-26009-2

Diesen Titel finden Sie auch in unserer Onleihe
Zurück zur Startseite

Top