Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Robert Feustel
God is a Gigabyte

Are machines really learning to think? In his latest book, Robert Feustel demonstrates how we have elevated digitalisation to a religion.

By Jakob Rondthaler

Feustel: Am Anfang war die Information © Verbrecher Verlag “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God,” the Bible states in the first chapter of the Gospel of John. The title of Robert Feustel’s non-fiction book Am Anfang war die Information (In the beginning was information), published by Verbrecher-Verlag, is quite appropriate. On the one hand, it foreshadows a debate Feustel later discusses in the book: how information and semantics, i.e. in a sense information and the meaning of the word, are intertwined. He also examines the question of whether information in itself already has meaning or whether it only attains meaning through being absorbed by humans. On the other hand, by using a bible quote in the title, the author already alludes to what he later elucidates in the book: In the digital age – if indeed we live in such an age –, we have elevated information science to a religion.

The term information – an illustrious career

Feustel illustrates in detail how information science as a discipline managed to enjoy such a stellar career – despite the fact that there is still no uniform definition of the term. Even after decades of debate, indeed “after endless discussions […,] we are nowhere close to even the prospect of a clear concept of information,” Feustel states.

The author traces the long history of concepts and ideas regarding information: from the industrialisation, the invention of the steam engine and the discovery of thermodynamics all the way to digitalisation, the rise of big data and the use of algorithms. At times, this makes the book less accessible than it is at the beginning: Here, Feustel introduces his topic by recounting an episode of the Netflix series Black Mirror so vividly, it feels like there’s no need to even watch it anymore. The fact that Feustel continues to include references to popular culture (Star Trek) and our everyday lives (Siri) over the course of the book is a welcome relief – in particular if you’re about to get a little lost amongst the many quotes from all kinds of scientists.

Questions that lead to greater understanding

The large number of quotes makes the book not always easy to follow. On the other hand, the parts where Feustel summarises the thoughts of others and explains them in his own words are easy to read. And time and again, Feustel manages to come up with surprisingly insightful explanations: For instance, he illustrates a model of the connection between entropy and information by scientist Claude Shannon by means of a person standing at the bar and having 16 different kinds of gin to choose from. If only my statistics professor at uni had used examples like this!

Regardless, it’s probably best not to read Am Anfang war die Information at the beach or on your daily commute – if you haven’t studied information science, you’ll frequently find yourself having to look up terms. Yet without exception, the questions Feustel discusses are fascinating: For example, does thinking ultimately just mean being able to calculate particularly well, and is it therefore only a question of time until machines learn how to think (in Feustel’s opinion: no)? It’s also good to see that the author challenges ideas that often go unquestioned by many: such as the claim that computers have revolutionised society to the same degree as systematic agriculture and, later, industrialisation. This makes Am Anfang war die Information an interesting, informative and – who would have thought, considering the topic? – refreshing read.
 

Cherry Picker Feustel, Robert: „Am Anfang war die Information“. Digitalisierung als Religion
Berlin: Verbrecher Verlag, 2019. 200 S.
ISBN: 978-3-95732-369-9

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Robert Feustel
Gott ist ein Gigabyte

Lernen Maschinen wirklich das Denken? In seinem Buch zeigt Robert Feustel, wie wir die Digitalisierung zur Religion erhöhen.

Von Jakob Rondthaler

Feustel: Am Anfang war die Information © Verbrecher Verlag „Im Anfang war das Wort, und das Wort war bei Gott, und das Wort war Gott“, heißt es in der Bibel, im ersten Kapitel des Johannesevangeliums. Am Anfang war die Information heißt das Sachbuch, das Robert Feustel im Verbrecher Verlag veröffentlich hat. Ein ziemlich gelungener Titel. Denn einerseits greift Feustel damit vor auf eine Debatte, die er später in seinem Buch behandelt: die Debatte, wie Information und Semantik, also gewissermaßen Information und die Bedeutung des Worts, miteinander verknüpft sind. Und es geht um die Frage, ob Informationen an sich bereits Bedeutung haben, oder ob sie diese erst dadurch erlangen, dass der Mensch sie rezipiert. Anderseits deutet der Autor durch das Bibelzitat schon im Titel an, was er im Buch darlegt: dass wir die Informationswissenschaft im digitalen Zeitalter – wenn wir denn überhaupt in einem leben – zur Religion erhöhen.

Der Begriff Information – eine schillernde Karriere

Detailliert zeigt er auf, wie die Informationswissenschaft als Disziplin solch eine Karriere machen konnte. Und das, obwohl eine einheitliche Definition des Begriffs bis heute nicht existiert. Auch nach jahrzehntelangen, ja „nach uferlosen Diskussionen […] steht kein auch nur halbwegs klarer Begriff von Information in Aussicht“, schreibt Feustel.

Der Autor zeichnet die lange Ideen- und Begriffsgeschichte der Information nach: von der Industrialisierung, der Erfindung der Dampfmaschinen und der Entdeckung der Thermodynamik bis zur Digitalisierung, dem Aufkommen von Big Data und dem Einsatz von Algorithmen. Nicht immer liest sich das so leicht zugänglich wie zu Beginn des Buchs: Da reißt Feustel das Thema an, indem er eine Folge der Netflix-Serie Black Mirror so anschaulich nacherzählt, dass man das Gefühl hat, sie gar nicht mehr sehen zu müssen. Auch im Laufe des Buches tut es gut, dass Feustel immer wieder Referenzen an die Popkultur (Star Trek) und unseren Alltag (Siri) einstreut – vor allem dann, wenn man zwischen den vielen Zitaten aller möglichen Wissenschaftler gerade dabei ist, ein wenig den Faden zu verlieren.

Fragen, die Erkenntnis stiften

Gerade diese vielen Zitate machen es nicht immer einfach, dem Buch zu folgen. Dafür sind die Teile, in denen Feustel die fremden Gedanken zusammenfasst und in eigenen Worten erklärt, gut lesbar. Und immer wieder gelingen dem Autor überraschend anschauliche Erklärungen: Ein Modell des Wissenschaftlers Claude Shannon zum Zusammenhang von Entropie und Information etwa erläutert Feustel anhand eines Menschen, der an der Bar steht und 16 verschiedene Sorten Gin zur Auswahl hat. Hätte mein Statistik-Professor an der Uni mal solche Beispiele verwendet!

Trotzdem sollte man Am Anfang war die Information nicht am Strand oder in der S-Bahn lesen – wer nicht Informationswissenschaft studiert hat, muss häufig Begriffe nachschlagen. Immer interessant sind aber die Fragen, die Feustel diskutiert. Etwa die, ob Denken am Ende nur bedeutet, besonders gut rechnen zu können, ob es also nur eine Frage der Zeit ist, bis die Maschinen das Denken lernen (Feustel meint: nein). Und es tut gut, dass der Autor Thesen in Frage stellt, die viele einfach hinnehmen: etwa die, dass der Computer die Gesellschaft in gleichem Maße umwälzte, wie es erst die systematische Landwirtschaft und dann die Industrialisierung taten. Das macht Am Anfang war die Information zu einer interessanten, informativen und – wer hätte das bei diesem Thema gedacht? – erfrischenden Lektüre.
 
Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Feustel, Robert: „Am Anfang war die Information“. Digitalisierung als Religion
Berlin: Verbrecher Verlag, 2019. 200 S.
ISBN: 978-3-95732-369-9

Top