Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Mawil
Lucky Luke switches rides

What would Lucky Luke be without his horse Jolly Jumper? Berlin-based comics artist Mawil has penned an adventure that puts the friendship between horse and cowboy to a tough test.

By Holger Moos

Mawil: Lucky Luke sattelt um © Lucky Comics, 2019. All Rights Reserved – by Mawil Titled Lucky Luke sattelt um [Lucky Luke switches rides], the book pays homage to the comic-book cowboy, originally created by Franco-Belgian comics artist Maurice de Bevere, aka Morris. The cowboy who shoots faster than his shadow was one of Markus Witzel’s childhood heroes when he was still a schoolboy in East Berlin. Now a successful comics artist known as Mawil, Witzel was just ten years old when he sketched his first Lucky Luke drawings.

Less than 30 years later, Mawil puts the cowboy – who had to quit smoking in 1983 and now likes to casually chew on a straw – into a completely different saddle: Lucky Luke is learning to ride a bike, and surprisingly quickly at that.

Lucky Luke in the Bicycle “War”

The story is based on historical events: Albert Overman was a US bicycle pioneer who introduced the country to the modern bicycle with hollow pneumatic tires, while his competitor Albert Augustus Pope, who also appears in the book, owned a factory that produced penny-farthings.
 
Lucky Luke soon ends up right in the middle of this bicycle “war”: He meets Albert Overman, whose last chance to prove that his construction is superior is a bicycle race in San Francisco. To make matters worse, two crooks called Smith and Wesson are after him. So it falls to Lucky Luke to transport Overman’s precious cargo to San Francisco – powered, for the most part, by his calves, which are barely up to the task.

Is this the end of Lucky Luke’s relationship with Jolly Jumper?

Jolly Jumper, who always turned up in the right place at the right time whenever Lucky Luke hastily had to leave a saloon through the window, initially receives no attention in Mawil’s book and harbours resentment towards his master. Horses’ souls can be wounded, too, in particular if the horse in question feels like its services are no longer required.
 
What follows is an abstruse chase through the USA, with lots of wit and plenty of references. Mawil interprets the original relatively freely – for example, while the main character is clearly recognisable, his nose is larger and rounder. In the Tagesspiegel newspaper, Bela Sobottke calls this approach “pure Mawil” and points out that while he is the first German artist to be permitted to present his take on the comic-book icon, it is also “an enjoyable honour for Lucky Luke to receive a fresh interpretation by Mawil at the age of over 70.”

Mawil: Lucky Luke sattelt um © Lucky Comics, 2019. All Rights Reserved – by Mawil

Mawil: Lucky Luke sattelt um. Hommage 3
Berlin: Egmont Ehapa Media GmbH, 2019. 64 S.
ISBN (Hardcover in der Egmont Comic Collection / Softcover bei Egmont Ehapa Media): 978-3-7704-4060-3

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Mawil
Lucky Luke auf dem Drahtesel

Was wäre Lucky Luke ohne sein Pferd Jolly Jumper? Der Berliner Comic-Zeichner Mawil hat sich ein Abenteuer ausgedacht, das die Freundschaft zwischen Pferd und Cowboy auf eine harte Probe stellt.

Von Holger Moos

Mawil: Lucky Luke sattelt um © Lucky Comics, 2019. All Rights Reserved – by Mawil Lucky Luke sattelt um heißt die Hommage an den Comic-Cowboy, erfunden vom frankobelgische Zeichner Maurice de Bevere alias Morris. Der Cowboy, der schneller schießt als sein Schatten, war einer der Kindheitshelden des Ostberliner Schülers Markus Witzel, der später als Mawil zum erfolgreichen Comiczeichner wurde. Schon als Zehnjähriger brachte er seine ersten eigenen Lucky Luke-Zeichnungen zu Papier.
 
Nun, kaum 30 Jahre später, zwingt Mawil den stets lässig einen Strohhalm im Mundwinkel führenden Cowboy – das Rauchen musste er schon 1983 aufgeben – in einen ganz anderen Sattel: Lucky Luke lernt Radfahren, und das erstaunlich schnell.

Lucky Luke im Fahrrad-„Krieg“

Die Geschichte hat einen historischen Hintergrund: Albert Overman war ein Fahrradpionier in den Vereinigten Staaten, der das moderne Fahrrad mit Luftreifen ins Land eingeführt hat. Sein Konkurrent im Comic, Albert Augustus Pope, nannte wiederum eine Fabrik für Hochräder sein eigen.
 
Ehe sich Lucky Luke versieht, gerät er in diesen Fahrrad-„Krieg“: Er trifft Albert Overman, dessen letzte Chance, die Überlegenheit seiner Konstruktion zu beweisen, ein Radrennen in San Francisco ist. Doch zu allem Übel stellt ihm das Gaunerpärchen Smith und Wesson nach. Da bleibt es an Lucky Luke hängen, Overmans wertvolle Fracht nach San Francisco zu transportieren – großteils mittels der Kraft seiner dieser Aufgabe kaum gewachsenen Waden.

Endet die Beziehung zu Jolly Jumper?

Jolly Jumper, der bislang stets zur richtigen Zeit am richtigen Ort war, wenn Lucky Luke einen Saloon fluchtartig durchs Fenster verlassen musste, bleibt bei Mawil erst mal auf der Strecke und ist seinem Herrn und Meister gram. Auch ein Pferd kann eine verletzte Seele haben, zumal wenn es das Gefühl hat, wegrationalisiert zu werden.
 
Es folgt eine abstruse Jagd durch die USA mit viel Witz und reichlich Anspielungen. Mawil interpretiert seine Vorlage relativ frei – die Titelfigur ist zwar klar erkennbar, hat aber zum Beispiel eine größere, rundere Nase als das Original. Die Umsetzung sei „reinster Mawil“, und nicht nur habe dieser sich als erster deutscher Künstler der Comic-Ikone annehmen dürfen, sondern „Lucky Luke widerfährt die vergnügliche Ehre, mit über 70 Jahren von Mawil frisch interpretiert zu werden“, so Bela Sobottke im Tagesspiegel.
Mawil: Lucky Luke sattelt um © Lucky Comics, 2019. All Rights Reserved – by Mawil
Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Mawil: Lucky Luke sattelt um. Hommage 3
Berlin: Egmont Ehapa Media GmbH, 2019. 64 S.
ISBN (Hardcover in der Egmont Comic Collection / Softcover bei Egmont Ehapa Media): 978-3-7704-4060-3

Top