Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Skadi Heckmüller
Art Collections and Where to Find Them

A new booklet is advertised as “a guidebook-format who’s who of private art collections”. It presents 90 private but publicly accessible collections of contemporary and modern art in Germany, Austria and Switzerland.

By Holger Moos

Heckmüller: Privatzugang © Distanz Verlag Private Access is the name of Skadi Heckmüller’s book, which was first published in 2011 and was issued in 2019 in an expanded new edition. The updated version, which is available in German and English, contains around 30 newly added art collections.
 
As a “passionate backpacker” and arts tourist, the author has visited all of the collections herself. Although she doesn’t offer an exhaustive overview, missing collections will be the destinations of her upcoming journeys.

Also in remote places

The volume is organised by country and state or Swiss canton. Each collection is presented with a one- or two-page essay, a photo and essential facts. They include the address, opening hours, admission prices, arrival by public transport as well as restaurant tips and other art tips in the area.
 
The collections are often not located in large cities, and sometimes the locations are quite remote. Internationally renowned collections are presented, such as the Frieder Burda Museum in Baden-Baden, the Boros Collection in Berlin and Munich’s Brandhorst Museum, but also less well-known collections like the Domnick Collection near Nürtingen on the fringes of the Swabian Alb, the Villa Haiss Museum in Sankt Georgen at the foot of the Black Forest or the Photographic Collection at Kummerow Castle in Mecklenburg-Western Pomerania.

A successful art guidebook

Notably, the majority of private art collections in Germany are located in the west and south of the country; the regions that were prosperous in the past or are today and that are home to the necessarily moneyed collectors.
 
Due to their brevity, the descriptions of the individual collections are, of course, rudimentary; the handy volume is nevertheless a successful art guidebook that will make readers want to discover art in familiar and unknown places. You’ll want to plan your next trip straight away.
Heckmüller: Privatzugang, pp. 162-163 © Distanz Verlag

Logo Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Heckmüller, Skadi: Privatzugang. Private Kunstsammlungen in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz
Berlin: Distanz Verlag, 2019. 336 S.
ISBN: 978-3-95476-285-9 (German Edition), 978-3-95476-286-6 (English Edition)

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Skadi Heckmüller
Kunstsammlungen – gewusst wo

„Das Who’s who privater Kunstsammlungen im Reiseführerformat“ lautet die Werbung für ein neues Büchlein. Es präsentiert 90 private, aber öffentlich zugängliche Sammlungen zeitgenössischer und moderner Kunst in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz.

Von Holger Moos

Heckmüller: Privatzugang © Distanz Verlag Privatzugang nennt Skadi Heckmüller ihr 2011 zuerst erschienenes Buch, das 2019 in einer erweiterten Neuausgabe auf den Markt kam. Die in deutscher wie in englischer Sprache erhältliche aktualisierte Fassung enthält etwa 30 neu hinzugekommene Kunstsammlungen.
 
Als „passionierte Rucksackreisende“ und Kulturtouristin hat die Autorin alle Sammlungen selbst besucht. Eine vollständige Übersicht bietet sie zwar nicht, aber noch fehlende Sammlungen werden die Ziele ihrer nächsten Reisen sein.

Auch an abgelegenen Orten

Geordnet ist der Band nach Ländern sowie Bundesländern bzw. im Falle der Schweiz nach Kantonen. Jede Sammlung wird mit einem ein- bis zweiseitigen Text, einem Foto sowie den wichtigsten Fakten vorgestellt. Dazu gehören die Adresse, Öffnungszeiten, Eintrittspreise, Anfahrt mit öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln sowie Restaurant- und weitere Kunsttipps in der Umgebung.
 
Die Sammlungen befinden sich oft nicht in großen Städten, bisweilen sind die Orte sogar eher abgelegen. Vorgestellt werden international renommierte Sammlungen wie das Museum Frieder Burda in Baden-Baden, die Sammlung Boros in Berlin oder das Münchner Museum Brandhorst, aber auch unbekanntere wie die Sammlung Domnick bei Nürtingen am Rand der Schwäbischen Alb, das Museum Villa Haiss in Sankt Georgen am Fuß des Schwarzwalds oder die Fotografische Sammlung auf Schloss Kummerow in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern.

Ein gelungener Kunstreiseführer

Auffällig ist, dass sich in Deutschland ein Großteil der privaten Kunstsammlung im Westen und Süden des Landes befinden, also in den Regionen, die früher oder heute wohlhabend waren bzw. sind und über die nötigen finanziell potenten Sammlerpersönlichkeiten verfügen.
 
Die Beschreibungen der einzelnen Sammlungen sind aufgrund ihrer Kürze natürlich nur rudimentär, der handliche Band ist dennoch ein gelungener Kunstreiseführer, der Lust auf eine Begegnung mit Kunst an bekannten wie unbekannten Orten macht. Gerne würde man gleich die nächste Reise planen.

Heckmüller: Privatzugang, S. 162/63 © Distanz Verlag
 
Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Heckmüller, Skadi: Privatzugang. Private Kunstsammlungen in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz
Berlin: Distanz Verlag, 2019. 336 S.
ISBN: 978-3-95476-285-9 (deutsche Ausgabe), 978-3-95476-286-6 (englische Ausgabe)

Top