Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Paula Irmschler
Between #wirsindmehr and #bodypositivity

More or less voluntarily, Gisela moves to Chemnitz to study. As a leftist political science student, she becomes quite frustrated there – yet finds the best friends for partying, protesting, and forming a band.

By Natascha Holstein

Irmschler: Superbusen © Claassen Most go to Hamburg, Berlin, Cologne, or Munich to study – or at least to Leipzig. But Gisela heads to Chemnitz. The Dresden native can’t afford to live in a big, western German city, and she didn’t do well enough in school to expect a scholarship. Never mind; all that really matters is to get away from her familial rut and be on her own. It also helps that political science in Chemnitz has no entrance restrictions.

Paula Irmschler’s debut novel Superbusen doesn’t begin in Chemnitz, though, but in Berlin. After a sleepless night stressing out over a deadline for a class paper, Gisela flees to the capital, leaving everything behind in Chemnitz: her clothes, her friends, her room in the flat share. Gisela is not really the name of the first-person narrator. Readers never learn her real name, but only that during one night of partying she tipped back one vodka with lime juice after another, a drink called, especially in the east, a “Gisela.”

Anti right-wing

The novel takes place in late summer 2018. There is a stabbing in Chemnitz, a German dies, the right wing mobilises. Gisela returns to the city hoping to demonstrate against the right-wingers with her friends. As she describes the situation, “The Nazis call it funeral march. But everyone on our side knows that there’s no mourning in Chemnitz. In Chemnitz, people either repress their grief or march, depending on the origin of the victims.”

Chemnitz, that’s the city with a bad train connection (the second worst after Trier!), cheap rents (cheap enough that the €120 for the uninhabited flat share room doesn’t make a dent) and, since 2018, #wirsindmehr (we are more). However, apart from media and musical attention, they are rarely more. Only a few days after the spectacular concerts against the right-wing marches, over 2,000 populists – AfD or PEGIDA supporters and right-wing extremists – face about 1,000 counter-demonstrators.

Gisela stays longer than the concertgoers and remembers parties, protests, and the evening when she and her best girlfriends had the mad idea to form a band called Superbusen. After all, music has always been part of Gisela’s life: from Die Ärzte to Britney Spears to Kraftklub. One or two of these girlfriends can even play instruments, so it’s decided: Let’s get on stage! They have merch before they have any finished lyrics and before they even appear in Chemnitz, they tour across Germany.

Dreaming of a better world

Paula Irmschler’s debut reads as if it was written for people who were socialised in 1990s Germany: the Tic Tac Toe girl group cult and Die Pfefferkörner TV show, memories of Diddl sheets, Sailor Moon and Bravo magazine’s star cut-outs. Superbusen is not a novel that imposes references and cues on the reader in order to be relevant to modern and pop culture; the author is able to incorporate her own youth. Reading will either transport you back to your own time as a student, including library night shifts, flat share balconies full of deposit bottles, and dreaming up idealistic world-betterment fantasies at the kitchen table with the remainders from last night’s party. Even non-students will remember road trips with their best friends, rubbish-filled cars, and their own crazy stunts.

And yet Superbusen is not just a fun novel with funny anecdotes. It is also a political exploration of being leftist and why Gisela was not surprised by the Nazi march in Chemnitz and can’t understand why others were. Gisela also always describes herself as “fat” and struggles with her own – but mainly society’s – ideal body image. It’s about feminism and mental health. In spite of all this, in Gisela, Irmschler creates a protagonist who isn’t cautionary, but who learns, fails, and reflects. She’s someone you’d like to have a beer with in a smoke-filled pub.
 

Logo Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Paula Irmschler: Superbusen
Claassen, 2020. 311 S.
ISBN 978-3-546-10001-4

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Paula Irmschler
Zwischen #wirsindmehr und #bodypositivity

Gisela zieht mehr oder weniger freiwillig fürs Studium nach Chemnitz. Als linke Politikstudentin ist sie dort ziemlich frustriert – und findet dennoch die besten Freund*innen für Partys, Demos und eine Band.

Von Natascha Holstein

Irmschler: Superbusen © Claassen Zum Studieren geht man nach Hamburg, Berlin, Köln, München. Oder doch zumindest nach Leipzig. Gisela macht sich auf nach Chemnitz. Das Wohnen in einer großen, westdeutschen Stadt kann sich die gebürtige Dresdnerin nicht leisten, und ihr Abi sichert ihr eher kein Stipendium. Aber egal, eigentlich zählt ja nur: Raus aus dem Familientrott und unabhängig sein. Ganz nebenbei ist Politikwissenschaft in Chemnitz auch noch N.C.-frei.

Paula Irmschlers Debütroman Superbusen beginnt allerdings nicht in Chemnitz, sondern doch in Berlin. Nach einer schlaflosen Nacht voller Hausarbeitsabgabestress ist Gisela in die Hauptstadt geflüchtet und hat alles in Chemnitz zurückgelassen: Klamotten, Freund*innen, das ungekündigte WG-Zimmer. Eigentlich heißt die Ich-Erzählerin gar nicht Gisela, doch ihren richtigen Namen erfahren die Leser*innen nicht. Nur, dass sie in dieser einen Partynacht, einen Wodka mit Limettensaft nach dem anderen runterkippte – Giselas eben, wie der Shot vor allem im Osten genannt wird.

Gegen rechts

Der Roman spielt im Spätsommer 2018. In Chemnitz gibt es eine Stecherei, ein Deutscher stirbt, die Rechten mobilisieren. Gisela fährt zurück und will mit ihren Freund*innen gegen rechts demonstrieren. Sie beschreibt die Situation: „Die Nazis nennen es Trauermarsch. Aber auf unserer Seite wissen alle, dass in Chemnitz nicht getrauert wird. In Chemnitz wird verdrängt oder aufmarschiert, je nachdem welche Herkunft die jeweiligen Opfer haben.“

Chemnitz, das ist eine schlechte Zuganbindung (die zweitschlechteste nach Trier!), billige Mieten (da kann man die 120 €, die man für das unbewohnte WG-Zimmer zahlt, schon mal vergessen) und seit 2018 eben #wirsindmehr. Abseits von medialer und musikalischer Aufmerksamkeit sind sie allerdings selten mehr. Bereits wenige Tage nach den aufsehenerregenden Konzerten gegen die rechten Aufmärsche stehen über 2000 sogenannten Bürgerlichen, AfD- oder PEGIDA-Anhänger*innen und Rechtsextremist*innen etwa 1000 Gegendemonstrant*innen gegenüber.
Gisela jedenfalls bleibt länger als die Konzertgänger*innen und erinnert sich an Partys, Demos und an den Abend, an dem sie mit ihren besten Freundinnen die Schnapsidee hatte, eine Band zu gründen: Superbusen. Musik zog sich schließlich schon immer durch Giselas Leben: Von Die Ärzte über Britney Spears bis Kraftklub. Ein, zwei dieser Freundinnen können sogar Instrumente spielen, also klar: Ab auf die Bühne! Es gibt Merch, bevor ein fertiger Songtext existiert, und bevor sie überhaupt in Chemnitz auftreten, touren sie quer durch Deutschland. 

Von der besseren Welt träumen

Das Debüt von Paula Irmschler liest sich, als wäre es für Menschen geschrieben, die in den 1990ern sozialisiert wurden: das Abkulten von Tic Tac Toe und den Pfefferkörnern, die Erinnerung an Diddl-Blätter, Sailor Moon und den Bravo-Starschnitt. Superbusen ist kein Roman, der den Leser*innen Referenzen und Hinweise aufzwängt, um modern und popkulturell relevant zu sein, die Autorin kann ihre eigene Jugend mit einfließen lassen. Bei der Lektüre wird man entweder zurück in die eigene Studienzeit versetzt, samt Bibliotheks-Nachtschichten, mit Pfandflaschen zugestellten WG-Balkonen und idealistischen Weltverbesserungsfantasien am Küchentisch mit den Übriggebliebenen der letzten Party. Oder man denkt auch ohne Studium an die Roadtrips mit den besten Freund*innen, die vermüllten Autos und die eigenen verrückten Aktionen.

Superbusen ist trotzdem nicht nur ein Spaßroman mit lustigen Anekdoten. Es ist auch eine politische Auseinandersetzung mit dem Linkssein und warum Gisela eben nicht von dem Naziaufmarsch in Chemnitz überrascht war und diese Überraschung auch nicht nachvollziehen kann. Außerdem beschreibt Gisela sich immer wieder als „fett“ und hat mit ihrem eigenen, aber vor allem dem gesellschaftlich produzierten idealen Körperbild zu kämpfen, es geht um Feminismus und mentale Gesundheit. Dennoch schafft Irmschler mit Gisela eine Protagonistin, die nicht belehrend wirkt, sondern selbst dazulernt, scheitert, reflektiert. Und mit der man gerne mal in einer verrauchten Kneipe ein Bier trinken gehen möchte.
 
Rosinenpicker © Goethe-Institut / Illustration: Tobias Schrank Paula Irmschler: Superbusen
Claassen, 2020. 311 S.
ISBN 978-3-546-10001-4

Top