Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Berlin Wall 30
How a piece of history found its way to a small Sydney park

A piece of Berlin Wall arrives at Goethe-Institut in Sydney in November 2019
© Goethe-Institut Australien

There are segments of the Berlin Wall located all over the world: in English gardens, in the lobby of a hotel in Texas, along with countless sections in public parks, art galleries and private properties right across Europe.  Now, an original slab of the Wall is going on display in Sydney.

By Scott Wales

For the past 25 years a section of the Berlin Wall has marked the entrance to a German club in the outer suburbs of Canberra. But the story of how another three tonne section of the wall came to be abandoned in a warehouse in Blacktown in western Sydney, is as quirky as it is mysterious.

Raymond Chim’s family run a manufacturing business in Sydney’s outer west, and over the years have sublet warehouse space, including to a German-Australian businessman called Peter Kubiak. 

“Around 2002, Peter had a container delivered here with some industrial equipment,” Raymond Chim says. “Nothing unusual about that, but he said it also contained a section of the Berlin Wall.”

At some point, contact with Peter Kubiak was lost and, despite their best efforts, Raymond says his company was never able to track him down.

“It’s like it’s always just been here, just sitting in the warehouse, like part of the furniture,” Chim says.  “Eventually we moved it out to the car park and it’s sat there ever since.” Locals celebrate on top of the opened Berlin Wall in 1989 Locals celebrate on top of the opened Berlin Wall in 1989 | Photo: Jürgen Lottenburger, © wir-waren-so-frei.de

Part of the furniture

Chim says he never gave the significance of the slab that much thought, until last year when a friend took some photos and posted them on Reddit. 

“For a long time it was just that slab of the Berlin Wall in our factory, then after my friend took the photos and I began to think about more about it, like ‘Wow that’s a piece of the Berlin Wall.’”

Those photos were posted to the social media site Reddit and came to the attention of Sonja Griegoschewski, Director of the Goethe-Institut in Australia.

“We had been looking at ways to mark the 30 years since the fall of the Berlin Wall,” Griegoschewski explains. “When I was shown the Reddit post by an associate at the Germany embassy in Canberra, it was hard to believe - how could this huge section have been lost really for all this time and no one know about it?”

“It was such an opportunity for us, but there was a lot to organize and different things to all go right for this project to come together.”

Griegoschewski organised for the Wall piece to be moved from Blacktown and installed in a public park next to the Goethe-Institut building in Sydney’s east. One side is blank, while on the other a mythical creature is painted with the words “Jeder hat Kraft” – in English, “everyone is powerful” – coming out of its mouth.

Griegoschewski says the wall section will form the centre “of a permanent memorial to the Wall that divided a city – my city - and its people for almost 30 years.” Goethe-Institut Australia director Sonja Griegoschewski, Woollahra councillor Anthony Marano and Henning Harders Managing Director Christian Harders A team effort: Goethe-Institut Australia director Sonja Griegoschewski, Woollahra councillor Anthony Marano and Henning Harders Managing Director Christian Harders | © Goethe-Institut Australien

A unique history

The Berlin Wall was a defining symbol of the Cold War. Hastily erected by the East German regime in 1961, it was a crude but effective attempt to add a physical dimension to the Iron Curtain, the divide that split the East from the West, not just in Europe but around the world. 

But in November 1989 the Wall came down as fast as it went up. The end of the Cold War, and the collapse of communism rendered it obsolete almost overnight. And for a long time after it came down, anyone that wanted a piece was welcome to take it.

Raymond Chim was more than happy for his piece of the wall to be re-settled by the Goethe Institute, on the condition they come to collect it.
 
“This was an issue - moving three tonnes of concrete half way across Sydney was complicated and very expensive,” Griegoschewski admits. “But then it all just fell into place.” The found segment of the Berlin Wall in its original position in February 1990 The found segment of the Berlin Wall in its original position in February 1990 | © ullstein bild / Getty Images

The head of the Sydney-based logistics firm Henning Harders had strong family ties to Germany through his father and agreed to move the Wall segment for free. 

“For Germans, the story of the wall is personal,” Griegoschewski explains.  “It’s not just about history. I’m a Berliner and the wall divided my city for so long. On the 30th anniversary of the fall of the wall this memorial will tell that story.”

Woollahra Council gave formal approval and the wall section was successfully transported by truck across Sydney to its new home.

Surprise discovery

In something of a twist, the mystery of the wall’s original owner has now also been solved.

Peter Kubiak’s daughter Jennifer was alerted to a media report about the discovered piece of Wall just prior to it being moved from Blacktown to the city’s east.

“I couldn’t believe it,” she says. “Mum said ‘OMG, that’s our Berlin wall!’”

Jennifer Kubiak says her parents separated in 2000 and, when her father died in 2013, the story of the wall went with him.

Peter Kubiak with the Berlin Wall segment after it arrived in Sydney circa 1990 Peter Kubiak with the Berlin Wall segment after it arrived in Sydney circa 1990 | © Jennifer Kubiak “I assumed he on-sold it or had given it away, but I often wondered what had happened to it.”

“It’s really nice to see it going somewhere where other people can enjoy it, but it’s still a very personal connection to Germany for me, and a connection to dad from his past. He was very proud of his background and it was always more than a souvenir.”

Sonja Griegoschewski says that what the Berlin Wall segment represents now is different to when it was a solid barricade dividing Berlin.

“For the three decades the Wall was up, Berlin was a playground for a political game between the superpowers,” she says. “But its end came about through peaceful demonstrations, without bloodshed.”

“In pieces the wall is a symbol of that peaceful revolution rather than when it was the Wall, the barrier that kept us apart.”

The Wall segment was opened to public display on November 23rd as part of a celebration of 30 years since the fall of the Berlin Wall. It will remain permanently on display in Euroka Reserve, the small park in front of the Goethe-Institut in Sydney.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

30 Jahre Mauerfall
Wie die Berliner Mauer nach Sydney kam

Ein Stück Berliner Mauer kommt beim Goethe-Institut in Australien an
© Goethe-Institut Australien

Überall auf der Welt finden sich Teile der Berliner Mauer: in englischen Gärten, in der Lobby eines Hotels in Texas, und natürlich zahllose Mauerteile in öffentlichen Parks, Kunstmuseen und Privatgrundstücken in ganz Europa. Nun wird eine Original-Betonplatte der Mauer in Sydney aufgestellt.

Von Scott Wales

Seit 25 Jahren markiert ein Stück Berliner Mauer den Eingang zu einem Deutschen Club am Stadtrand von Canberra. Aber wie es dazu kam, dass ein weiteres, drei Tonnen schweres Stück der Mauer in einer Lagerhalle in Blacktown im Westen von Sydney herrenlos vorgefunden wurde, ist eine ebenso schräge wie mysteriöse Geschichte.

Raymond Chims Familie leitet ein produzierendes Unternehmen im Westen von Sydney und hat im Lauf der Jahre Lagerraum untervermietet, unter anderem an einen deutsch-australischen Geschäftsmann namens Peter Kubiak. 

„Um 2002 herum ließ Peter einen Container mit Industriemaschinen hierher liefern“, berichtet Raymond Chim. „Daran war nichts Ungewöhnliches, aber er sagte, es sei auch ein Stück Berliner Mauer mit dabei.“
Irgendwann brach der Kontakt zu Peter Kubiak ab und, wie Raymond erzählt, war es seiner Firma trotz intensiver Bemühungen nicht möglich, ihn ausfindig zu machen.

„Es ist, als sei es schon immer hier gewesen, es stand einfach im Lager herum, als gehöre es zum Mobiliar“, erzählt Chim. „Letzen Endes haben wir es hinaus auf den Parkplatz gestellt, wo es seither stand.“ Berliner feiern der Fall der Mauer in 1989 Berliner feiern der Fall der Mauer in 1989 | Foto: Jürgen Lottenburger, © wir-waren-so-frei.de

Teil des Mobiliars

Chim sagt, er habe nie viel über die Bedeutung der Betonplatte nachgedacht, bis ein Freund letztes Jahr ein paar Fotos machte und auf Reddit postete. 

„Lange Zeit stand einfach nur diese Platte der Berliner Mauer in unserer Fabrik, aber nachdem ein Freund von mir die Fotos gemacht hatte und ich mehr darüber nachzudenken begann, war es eher ‚Wow, das ist ein Stück der Berliner Mauer.‘“

Die Fotos wurden auf der Social-Media-Website Reddit gepostet, wo Sonja Griegoschewski, Direktorin des Goethe-Instituts Australien, auf sie aufmerksam wurde.

„Wir hatten nach Wegen gesucht, das 30-jährige Jubiläum des Falls der Berliner Mauer zu begehen“, erzählt Griegoschewski. „Als mir ein Mitarbeiter der Deutschen Botschaft in Canberra den Reddit-Post zeigte, fand ich das unglaublich – wie konnte dieses riesige Stück tatsächlich so lange Zeit verschwunden gewesen sein und niemand wusste davon?“

„Es war eine enorme Chance für uns, aber es bedeutete auch viel Organisation, und es musste alles mögliche klappen, damit aus dem Projekt tatsächlich etwas werden konnte.“ Goethe-Institut Australien Institutsleiterin Sonja Griegoschewski, Woollahra Ratsmitglied Anthony Marano und Henning Harders Geschäftsführer Christian Harders Goethe-Institut Australien Institutsleiterin Sonja Griegoschewski, Woollahra Ratsmitglied Anthony Marano und Henning Harders Geschäftsführer Christian Harders | © Goethe-Institut Australien Griegoschewski sorgte dafür, dass das Stück Mauer von Blacktown in den Osten von Sydney geschafft und dort in einem öffentlichen Park neben dem Goethe-Institut aufgestellt wurde. Die eine Seite ist leer, die andere ist mit einem Fabelwesen bemalt, aus dessen Mund die Worte „Jeder hat Kraft“ kommen.

Wie Griegoschewski erklärt, wird das Denkmal „eine bleibende Erinnerung an die Berliner Mauer sein, die eine Stadt – meine Stadt – und ihre Menschen fast 30 Jahre lang trennte.“

Eine einzigartige Geschichte

Die Berliner Mauer war das bestimmende Symbol des Kalten Krieges. 1961 vom ostdeutschen Regime in aller Hast errichtet, war sie ein kruder, aber wirksamer Versuch, dem Eisernen Vorhang, der Linie, die nicht nur in Europa, sondern auf der ganzen Welt den Osten vom Westen trennte, eine physische Dimension zu verleihen. 

Aber im November 1989 fiel die Mauer so schnell, wie sie errichtet worden war. Das Ende des Kalten Krieges und der Zusammenbruch des Kommunismus machten sie beinahe über Nacht obsolet. Und lange Zeit nach ihrem Fall konnte sich jeder, der ein Stück davon haben wollte, einfach eines mitnehmen. Das gefundene Segment der Berliner Mauer in seiner ursprünglichen Position im Februar 1990 Das gefundene Segment der Berliner Mauer in seiner ursprünglichen Position im Februar 1990 | © ullstein bild / Getty Images

Raymond Chim war gerne bereit, sein Stück Mauer vom Goethe-Institut umsiedeln zu lassen, unter der Bedingung, dass sie es auch abholten. 

„Das war tatsächlich ein Problem – drei Tonnen Beton durch die halbe Stadt zu transportieren war kompliziert und sehr teuer“, gibt Griegoschewski zu. „Aber dann fügte sich auf einmal alles.“ 

Der Chef der in Sydney ansässigen Logistikfirma Henning Harders hat väterlicherseits starke familiäre Bindungen an Deutschland und erklärte sich bereit, das Stück Mauer kostenlos zu transportieren. 

„Für die Deutschen war der Fall der Mauer etwas sehr persönliches“, erläutert Griegoschewski. „Es geht nicht nur um Geschichte. Ich bin Berlinerin, und die Mauer hat meine Stadt sehr lange geteilt. Zum 30. Jahrestag des Mauerfalls möchten wir diese Erinnerungen teilen.“

Der Stadtrat von Woollahra gab seine offizielle Genehmigung und das Stück Mauer wurde per Lastwagen erfolgreich quer durch Sydney an seinen neuen Standort geschafft.

Überraschende Entdeckung

In einer überraschenden Wendung löste sich das Rätsel um den ursprünglichen Besitzer der Mauer dann ebenfalls.

Peter Kubiaks Tochter Jennifer wurde auf einen Medienbericht über den Fund des Mauerstücks aufmerksam gemacht, kurz bevor es von Blacktown in den Osten von Sydney umgesiedelt wurde.

Peter Kubiak steht neben seinen Stück Berliner Mauer in Sydney (circa 1990) Peter Kubiak steht neben seinen Stück Berliner Mauer in Sydney (circa 1990) | © Jennifer Kubiak „Ich konnte es nicht glauben“, sagt sie. „Mama meinte, ‚Ach du meine Güte, das ist unsere Berliner Mauer!‘“

Jennifer Kubiak erzählt, dass ihre Eltern sich im Jahr 2000 trennten, und als ihr Vater 2013 starb, ging die Geschichte der Mauer mit ihm verloren.

„Ich nahm an, dass er sie weiterverkauft oder verschenkt hatte, aber ich habe mich oft gefragt, was wohl daraus geworden ist.“

„Es freut mich sehr, dass sie an einen Ort kommt, an dem auch andere etwas davon haben, aber für mich ist sie noch immer eine sehr persönliche Verbindung zu Deutschland und zu meinem Vater und seiner Vergangenheit. Er war sehr stolz auf seine Herkunft und für ihn war es immer mehr als nur ein Souvenir.“

Sonja Griegoschewski betont, dass das Mauerstück heute etwas anderes repräsentiert als damals, als die Mauer eine feste Barriere war, die Berlin teilte.

„In den drei Jahrzehnten, in denen die Mauer stand, war Berlin Schauplatz eines politischen Spiels zwischen den Großmächten“, erläutert sie. „Aber ihr Ende kam aufgrund friedlicher Demonstrationen, ohne Blutvergießen.“

„In Stücken ist die Mauer ein Symbol für diese friedliche Revolution und nicht wie damals, als sie die Mauer war, die Barriere, die uns voneinander trennte.“

Das Mauerstück wurde am 23. November 2019 im Rahmen einer Feier zum 30. Jubiläum des Mauerfalls enthüllt. Es verbleibt dauerhaft in Euroka Reserve, dem kleinen Park direkt vor dem Goethe-Institut in Woollahra.

Top