The Love Parade And then we just did it

Dr. Motte
Dr. Motte | © Marie Staggat

Dr. Motte was born in Spandau, Berlin as Matthias Roeingh. In the early 1980s he was a member of various bands with colourful names such as Deutsch-Polnische Aggression (DPA). It was during this time with DPA that he co-authored the book Geniale Dilletanten.
Matthias Roeingh soon discovered dance music, and in 1989 he founded what later became the world’s most important dance music festival: The Love Parade. This first edition of the festival was attended by 150 people. By 1999, attendance had climbed to 1.5 million people.

When you started The Love Parade with your then-partner Danielle de Picciotto, did you already have a vision of turning this project into a mass movement?

"This Year & Forever" was printed on the first Love Parade poster. I'd had the vision that if we did the Love Parade in Berlin every year it would inspire many others in other countries to do so too, like the Street Parade in Zurich 1992. It would bring all people together as one and bring world peace by people befriending everyone everywhere.

Love Parade - The Vision

You later distanced yourself from The Love Parade, citing its change of values and commercial approach. Was it hard to give something up that you had initiated?

Yes, of course! The Love Parade ran out of money after two years of not doing it in Berlin and in 2005 got sold one hundred percent to Rainer Schaller, owner of the German fitness company McFit. Four out of the five business partners were in favour of selling off, while I was against it. Schaller used the Love Parade as a tax deduction tool and declared the Love Parade as a marketing event for his company to the German tax office. A no-go for me and a sell-out of electronic music culture. That was a big mistake. I regret that deeply.

Initially The Love Parade was conceived as a political demonstration for peace and international understanding. These days, the public image of dance music is often associated with drugs and partying. Can festivals and cultural events still have a political impact on people?

Yes, they can. If you look at the content you will see if it is about a vision or just having some fun. We as the Love Parade had the motivation to bring people together to dance under the umbrella of electronic music: a non-verbal culture that is aware that many countries only communicate with each other using weapons. We've been an open space of no rules, enjoying life and sharing this with everyone during Love Parade. To understand this music culture, it takes some time to investigate.

Berlin as a hub for creativity

The Love Parade was traditionally held in Berlin, and it has found its way into countless tourist brochures and in-flight magazines. Arguably the city shaped the festival as much as the festival shaped the city. To what extent does culture form an image of a city?

It is the repetition of the Love Parade. The festival was the birth of the young electronic music culture and as common as Christmas or Easter to many people who grew up with it. Berlin after the wall came down wanted to send a message to the world like "We are a young and creative city".

Your involvement in Geniale Dilletanten is a little-known fact compared to your activities as a hugely successful DJ and festival organiser. It’s a similar story for WestBam and other participants who went on to become famous in later years. Did the philosophy behind Geniale Dilletanten affect decisions you made later in your career?

We had a very special situation during the Cold War: there was no federal defence force in Berlin. Many creative people escaped being forced into something they didn't want to do. It was easy living and very cheap. It was easy to do something. We've had time to think about our ideas and then we just did it. It wasn't about money and profit. We didn't need much money to live a comfortable life. It was about creating art – right here, right now. Spontaneously brilliant. So when I had the idea of organising a demonstration called Love Parade everyone was full of enthusiasm and only six weeks later it happened.

In 2011 you co-founded the Electrocult association at the legendary Kunsthaus Tacheles. Tell us a little more about this project.

We have done two music support events for and at the Tacheles. The idea was to give birth to a lobby for the electronic music culture. We started a public foundation for it which completely changed the way we wanted to rule the association. In the end it involved too many trolls, discussions and proper administration and with it a distraction from the goal. Too bad.

Die Loveparade Und dann haben wir es einfach gemacht

Dr. Motte
Dr. Motte | © Marie Staggat

Dr. Motte wurde in Berlin Spandau als Matthias Roeingh geboren. In den frühen 1980er Jahren war er Mitglied unterschiedlicher Bands mit ausgefallenen Namen wie Deutsch-Polnische Aggression (DPA). Während dieser Zeit war er Co-Autor des Buches Geniale Dilletanten.
Matthias Roeingh entdeckte schon bald die Dance Music und wurde 1989 Mitbegründer der Loveparade, die später zum wichtigsten Dance Music-Festival der Welt wurde. Zu der ersten Veranstaltung kamen 150 Besucher. 1997 stieg die Besucherzahl auf 1,5 Millionen.
 

Als du die Loveparade mit deiner damaligen Partnerin Danielle de Picciotto gegründet hast, hattest du da bereits die Vision, dieses Projekt in eine Massenbewegung zu verwandeln?

'This Year & Forever' stand auf dem ersten Loveparade-Poster. Ich hatte die Vision, dass wir auch viele andere Städte inspirieren könnten, wenn wir die Loveparade jedes Jahr in Berlin feiern würden – so wie die Street Parade in Zürich 1992. Sie sollte alle diese Menschen zusammenbringen und zum Weltfrieden beitragen, indem sich Menschen von überall auf der Welt anfreundeten.

Loveparade - Die Vision

Später hast du dich von der Loveparade distanziert, weil sich in deinen Augen die damit verbundenen Werte verändert haben und der Ansatz zu kommerziell wurde. War es schwer für dich etwas aufzugeben, das du begonnen hast?

Natürlich! Die Loveparade ging Pleite, nachdem sie zwei Jahre nicht in Berlin stattfand. 2005 wurde sie zu hundert Prozent an Rainer Schaller verkauft, den Besitzer der deutschen Fitnesskette McFit. Schaller nutzte die Loveparade als Mittel für einen Steuernachlass beim Finanzamt und erklärte sie zum Marketingevent für sein Unternehmen. Für mich ein No-Go und ein Verrat an der elektronischen Musikkultur. Das war ein großer Fehler. Ich bereue das zutiefst.

Ursprünglich war die Loveparade als politische Demonstration für Frieden und internationales Verständnis gedacht. Heutzutage wird das öffentliche Image von Dance Music oft mit Drogen und Partys assoziiert. Können Festivals und Kulturveranstaltungen noch einen politischen Einfluss auf die Menschen haben?

Ja, das können sie. Wenn man sich den Inhalt genauer anguckt, sieht man, ob dahinter eine Vision steckt oder ob es nur darum geht, Spaß zu haben. Wir, als die Loveparade hatten die Motivation, unter dem Schirm der Elektromusik Menschen zusammenzubringen: eine non-verbale Kultur, die sich darüber bewusst ist, dass viele Länder nur durch Waffen miteinander kommunizieren. Wir boten einen offenen Raum ohne Regeln, liebten das Leben und wollten das während der Loveparade mit allen teilen. Um diese Musikkultur zu verstehen, braucht man etwas Zeit um diese zu hinterfragen.

Berlin als kreatives Zentrum

Die Loveparade wurde traditionell in Berlin veranstaltet und sie hat so ihren Weg in zahlreiche Touristenbroschüren und Bordmagazine gefunden. Man kann sagen, dass die Stadt das Festival genauso geprägt hat, wie das Festival die Stadt. In wie weit kann Kultur das Image einer Stadt formen?

Es ist die Wiederholung. Das Festival war die Geburtsstunde der elektronischen Musikkultur und so normal wie Ostern oder Weihnachten für viele Menschen, die damit aufgewachsen sind. Nach dem Mauerfall wollte Berlin eine Nachricht in die Welt senden: „Wir sind die junge und kreative Stadt.“

Dein Engagement bei den Genialen Dilletanten ist eher unbekannt im Vergleich  zu deinen Tätigkeiten als sehr erfolgreicher DJ und Festivalorganisator. Ähnlich erging es WestBam und anderen Künstlern, die in darauf folgenden Jahren bekannt wurden. Beeinflusste die Philosophie der Genialen Dilletanten Entscheidungen, die du später in deiner Karriere getroffen hast?

In der „Mauer-Stadt“ hatten wir eine besondere Situation während des Kalten Krieges: in Berlin gab es keine Bundeswehr. Viele kreative Menschen flüchteten davor, etwas tun zu müssen, was sie nicht wollten. Es war ein einfaches Leben und sehr günstig. Und es war leicht, etwas zu machen. Wir hatten Zeit, über unsere Ideen nachzudenken und dann machten wir es einfach. Es ging nicht um Geld und Profit. Wir brauchten nicht viel Geld, um ein komfortables Leben zu führen. Es ging darum Kunst zu schaffen – hier und jetzt. Spontan und brillant. Als ich also die Idee hatte, eine Demonstration namens Loveparade zu organisieren waren alle voller Enthusiasmus und sechs Wochen später war es soweit.

2011 hast du die Electrocult-Gesellschaft im legendären Kunsthaus Tacheles gegründet. Erzähl uns mehr über dieses Projekt.

Wir haben zwei musikfördernde Veranstaltungen für das Kunsthaus Tacheles im selbigen ausgerichtet. Die Idee dahinter war, der Musikkultur eine Lobby zu bieten. Wir schufen so eine öffentliche Plattform, die die Art und Weise komplett veränderte, wie wir die Gesellschaft führen wollten. Am Ende gab es aber zu viele Provokateure, Diskussionen und Verwaltung und damit eine Ablenkung vom eigentlichen Ziel. Sehr schade.