Schools for Sustainability - think, research, act!
A Year 7-12 competition

Umwelt macht Schule © SolStock / iStock

The IPCC report published in October 2018, has once again made it clear that climate change is one of the greatest threats of our time. Already today the livelihoods of many people are endangered. If we do not succeed in slowing down global warming within the next few years, this will have dire consequences for today's youth. A shift towards greater sustainability is urgently needed.

Inspired by Greta Thunberg, more and more young people are resisting the passive attitude of politicians. Understandably, however, many people, especially young people feel powerless in the face of the sheer scale of the climate crisis. Here, schools play an important role: they can help to strengthen the ability of young people to innovate and to act.
 
This is where the competition "Schools for Sustainability" comes into play: Teams of students explore the ecological situation in their place of residence, street or school in relation to one of the following aspects: water, air quality, energy consumption, flora and fauna and waste. With concrete actions, they draw the public's attention to the existing ecological situation and propose solutions.
 
This project, which was developed by Russian and German research institutes and focuses on education for sustainable development, will be offered as a national project in Australia for the first time this year.

Umwelt macht Schule - denken, forschen, handeln!
Wettbewerb (7. - 12. Klasse)

Umwelt macht Schule Foto: Colourbox

Der im Oktober 2018 publizierte Bericht des Weltklimarats (IPCC) hat der Welt erneut deutlich vor Augen geführt, dass der Klimawandel eine der größten Bedrohungen unserer Zeit darstellt. Bereits heute sind die Lebensgrundlagen vieler Menschen bedroht. Schaffen wir es nicht innerhalb der nächsten Jahre die Erwärmung zu bremsen, hat das bereits für die heutige Jugend schlimme Folgen. Ein Wandel hin zu mehr Nachhaltigkeit ist dringend nötig.

Inspiriert durch Greta Thunberg wehren sich immer mehr Jugendliche gegen die passive Haltung der Politik. Verständlicherweise reagieren aber nach wie vor viele Menschen insbesondere auch Jugendliche mit Hoffnungslosigkeit dem Klimawandel gegenüber. Hier spielen Schulen eine wichtige Rolle: Sie können dazu beitragen, die Innovations- und Handlungsfähigkeit der Jugendlichen zu stärken.

Der Wettbewerb „Umwelt macht Schule“ setzt hier an: Teams von Schülerinnen und Schülern erforschen die ökologische Situation in ihrem Wohnort, ihrer Straße oder ihrer Schule in einem der folgenden Aspekte: Wasser- oder Luftqualität, Energieverbrauch, Tier- und Pflanzenwelt oder Abfälle. Mit konkreten Aktionen machen sie die Öffentlichkeit auf die bestehende ökologische Situation aufmerksam und schlagen Lösungen vor.  

Dieses von russischen und deutschen Forschungsinstituten entwickelte Projekt mit dem Schwerpunkt Bildung für nachhaltige Entwicklung wird dieses Jahr erstmals in Australien als nationales Projekt angeboten.