Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

For City Explorers
Operation Läckerli




 

Travelling to Basel as a member of Monogatari in the 1990s, Tim Dinter is used to fast-paced Berlin. In Basel, he visits museums.


Extracts from "Operation Läckerli":

Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett | Museum für Gegenwartskunst Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett © Tim Dinter


About the artist Tim Dinter:


Travelpedia: Basel

  • Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett | Kunstmuseum Basel © Tim Dinter (Detail)
    The Kunstmuseum Basel is an internationally renowned museum for fine arts. Its collection includes around 4,000 paintings, sculptures, installations and videos, as well as 300,000 drawings and prints from seven centuries. With the “Amerbach Cabinet” acquired by the city in 1661, the Kunstmuseum Basel is one of the oldest, publicly accessible art museums in the world.
  • Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett | Puppenhausmuseum © Tim Dinter (Detail)
    The Puppenhausmuseum Basel is called 'Toys Welten Museum Basel' since March 1, 2012. It is located in the Swiss city of Basel and is the largest museum of its kind in Europe. With over 2500 old teddies, it houses the world's largest collection of old teddy bears. In addition to the plush bears, the amazed visitors will find more than 3500 dolls, grocery stores, doll houses, carousels and miniatures.

Thomas Hummitzsch on "Operation Läckerli"

Anybody who has been to Basel knows that the city does have several museums to offer. Dinter’s quartets can of course be read as a museum guide, which summarises at a glance whether a visit to a particular museum is worthwhile."

Review
 


More Comics for city explorers

Delhi_header_yelin © Barbara Yelin (Detail)

"Delhi Sketch-Book "

"I think it was the sheer size of this large Indian city, and then the otherness of the visible structure and society compared to here that initially blew my mind,’ says Barbara Yelin, recalling her stay in New Delhi, a city she travelled to for a week in late 2012 at the invitation of the Goethe-Institut.

Reinhard Kleist: Havanna. A cuban journey © Reinhard Kleist (Detail)

"Havanna"

In 2008, the German graphic artist, Reinhard Kleist, spent a few weeks in Cuba researching his graphic novel on Fidel Castro. In the process, he also produced a multifaceted travelogue with drawings and sketches.

toronto_yelin_2016 detail Multikulti. © Barbara Yelin (Ausschnitt)

"Über Unterwegs"

In "Über Unterwegs: Cosmopolis", Barbara Yelin describes how the radius of life widens. She shows downtown's skyscrapers in twelve pictures - and points out that fewer than 2,000 buildings are still particularly tall there. Yelin shows Niagara Falls - and, next to it: the bizarre casinos, wax museum and the honeymoon kitsch 500 meters into town.


More about Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About the artists

Learn more about our well-known artists, including Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist and Sarnath Banerjee. All with proven comic expertise and sometimes with more, sometimes with less travel experience in the respective country.
 

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries, illuminates and identifies recurring topics. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings, we collect treasures here and question concepts and motivations, techniques and experiences.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Für Stadtentdecker
Operation Läckerli

 





 
Als Tim Dinter in den neunziger Jahren als Teil der Comicgruppe Monogatari nach Basel reist, ist er die Berliner Hektik gewöhnt. In Basel geht er ins Museum.


Auszüge aus "Operation Läckerli":

Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett | Museum für Gegenwartskunst Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett © Tim Dinter


Über den Künstler Tim Dinter:


Travelpedia: Basel

  • Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett | Kunstmuseum Basel © Tim Dinter (Ausschnitt)
    Das Kunstmuseum Basel ist ein international renommiertes Museum für bildende Kunst. Seine Sammlung umfasst etwa 4.000 Gemälde, Skulpturen, Installationen und Videos sowie 300.000 Zeichnungen und Druckgrafiken aus sieben Jahrhunderten. Das Kunstmuseum Basel gilt mit dem im Jahr 1661 von der Stadt erworbenen «Amerbach-Kabinett» als eines der ältesten, öffentlich zugänglichen Kunstmuseen der Welt.
  • Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett | Puppenhausmuseum © Tim Dinter (Ausschnitt)
    Das Puppenhausmuseum Basel heißt seit 1. März 2012 Spielzeug Welten Museum Basel. Es befindet sich in der Schweizer Stadt Basel und ist das größte Museum seiner Art in Europa. Mit über 2500 alten Teddys beherbergt es die weltgrößte Sammlung alter Teddybären. Neben den Plüschbären finden die staunenden Besucher mehr als 3500 Puppen, Kaufmannsläden, Puppenhäuser, Karussells und Miniaturen.

Thomas Hummitzsch über "Operation Läckerli"

Wer jemals in Basel war, der weiß, dass die Stadt tatsächlich einige Museen zu bieten hat und man kann Dinters Quartett durchaus wie einen Museumsführer lesen, der auf einen Blick zusammenfasst, ob sich der Besuch lohnt."

Rezension
 


Weitere Comics für Stadtentdecker

Delhi_header_yelin © Barbara Yelin (Ausschnitt)

"Delhi Sketch-Book"

Barbara Yelin erinnert sich an ihren Aufenthalt in New Delhi, wohin sie im Herbst 2012 auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts für eine Woche gereist ist: „Get ready to be blown away by all the impressions“ beschreibt sie die auf sie einstürzenden Eindrücke beim Verlassen der U-Bahn.

Reinhard Kleist: Havanna. A cuban journey © Reinhard Kleist (Ausschnitt)

"Havanna"

Als Reinhard Kleist 2008 nach Kuba reist, um über Fidel Castro zu recherchieren, entsteht auch das Reisetagebuch »Havanna«. Es versammelt Reiseeindrücke und Erlebnisse, stellt Menschen und Orte vor, berichtet von den Mühen und Entdeckungen vor Ort und gibt Einblicke in die Seelenlage des Zeichners.

toronto_yelin_2016 detail Multikulti. © Barbara Yelin (Ausschnitt)

"Über Unterwegs"

In "Über Unterwegs: Cosmopolis" beschreibt Barbara Yelin, wie sich der Lebensradius weitet. In zwölf Bildern zeigt sie die Hochhäuser Downtowns - und verweist darauf, dass trotzdem weniger als 2000 Gebäude dort besonders hoch sind. Yelin zeigt Niagara-Fälle - und, daneben: die bizarren Casinos, Wachsfigurenkabinette und den Honeymoon-Kitsch 500 Meter stadteinwärts.


Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über die Künstler*innen

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere namhaften Künstlern*innen, darunter Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist und Sarnath Banerjee. Alle mit ausgewiesener Comic-Expertise und mal mit mehr, mal mit weniger Reiseerfahrung im entsprechenden Land.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über das Projekt

Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von Comic-Künstler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern, beleuchtet und identifiziert wiederkehrende Themen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen sammeln wir an dieser Stelle Schätze und hinterfragen Konzepte und Motivationen, Techniken und Erfahrungen.
 

Top