Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

For City Explorers
Über unterwegs: Part 5 Cosmopolis (Toronto)


 
In "Über Unterwegs: Cosmopolis", Barbara Yelin describes how the radius of life widens. She shows downtown's skyscrapers in twelve pictures - and points out that fewer than 2,000 buildings are still particularly tall there. Yelin shows Niagara Falls - and, next to it: the bizarre casinos, wax museum and the honeymoon kitsch 500 meters into town.


The picture "Toronto":

"Über Unterwegs: Cosmopolis" © Barbara Yelin


About the artist Barbara Yelin:


Travelpedia: Toronto

  • Toronto_Yelin_Detail Lake Ontario © Barbara Yelin (Detail)
    Toronto is situated on Lake Ontario. In several films, it is disguised, staged as New York: sedate red streetcars and buses, many Victorian houses, cold winters, home of Margaret Atwood and comic-book stars such as Jeff Lemire, Francis Manapul and Bryan Lee O'Malley ("Scott Pilgrim").
  • toronto_yelin_2016 detail Multikulti © Barbara Yelin (Detail)
    The US calls itself a ‘melting pot’ and requires you to adapt. Canada sees itself a ‘tossed salad: not a homogeneous mass but a mixture in which every newcomer can retain his or her shape and form. Since 2016, more than half of all Torontonians have belonged to visible minority groups: white people no longer amount to the absolute majority.

Stefan Mesch about "Über Unterwegs: Cosmopolis"

 

Yelin’s art begins with drawings, lines in pencil optics. Where other graphic novels go the extra mile and use ink to clearly and cleanly define, demarcate and perfect lines, silhouettes, a range of contrasts, Yelin’s auxiliary lines leave open swirls."

Review
 


More Comics for city explorers

Reinhard Kleist: Havanna. A cuban journey © Reinhard Kleist (Detail)

"Havanna"

In 2008, the German graphic artist, Reinhard Kleist, spent a few weeks in Cuba researching his graphic novel on Fidel Castro. In the process, he also produced a multifaceted travelogue with drawings and sketches.

Delhi_header_yelin © Barbara Yelin (Detail)

"Delhi Sketch-Book "

"I think it was the sheer size of this large Indian city, and then the otherness of the visible structure and society compared to here that initially blew my mind,’ says Barbara Yelin, recalling her stay in New Delhi, a city she travelled to for a week in late 2012 at the invitation of the Goethe-Institut.

Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett | Kunstmuseum Basel © Tim Dinter (Detail)

"Operation Läckerli"

Travelling to Basel as a member of Monogatari in the 1990s, Tim Dinter is used to fast-paced Berlin. In Basel, he visits museums.


More about Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About the artists

Learn more about our well-known artists, including Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist and Sarnath Banerjee. All with proven comic expertise and sometimes with more, sometimes with less travel experience in the respective country.
 

Graphic Travelogues Graphik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

About Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues presents travel experiences by comic artists from different countries, illuminates and identifies recurring topics. From sketches to graphic novels, graphic diaries and travel drawings, we collect treasures here and question concepts and motivations, techniques and experiences.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Für Stadtentdecker
Über unterwegs: Folge 5 Cosmopolis (Toronto)

 

 In "Über Unterwegs: Cosmopolis" beschreibt Barbara Yelin, wie sich der Lebensradius weitet. In zwölf Bildern zeigt sie die Hochhäuser Downtowns - und verweist darauf, dass trotzdem weniger als 2000 Gebäude dort besonders hoch sind. Yelin zeigt die Niagara-Fälle - und, daneben: die bizarren Casinos, Wachsfigurenkabinette und den Honeymoon-Kitsch 500 Meter stadteinwärts.


Das Bild "Toronto":

"Über Unterwegs: Cosmopolis" Toronto © Barbara Yelin


Über die Künstlerin Barbara Yelin:


Travelpedia: Toronto

  • Toronto_Yelin_Detail Lake Ontario © Barbara Yelin (Ausschnitt)
    Toronto liegt am Lake Ontario und wird in vielen Filmen als New York verkleidet, inszeniert: gemächliche rote Straßenbahnen und Busse, viele viktorianische Häuser, kalte Winter, Heimat von Margaret Atwood und Comic-Stars wie Jeff Lemire, Francis Manapul und Bryan Lee O'Malley ("Scott Pilgrim").
  • toronto_yelin_2016 detail Multikulti © Barbara Yelin (Ausschnitt)
    Die USA nennen sich "Schmelztiegel" und fordern Anpassung. Kanada sieht sich als "Tossed Salad": kein Einheitsbrei, sondern eine Mischung, in der jeder Neuankömmling seine Form behalten darf. Seit 2016 stammt über die Hälfte aller "Torontonians" aus "Visible Minority Groups": Weiße Menschen sind nicht mehr die absolute Mehrheit.

Stefan Mesch zu "Über Unterwegs: Cosmopolis"

Yelins Kunst beginnt mit Skizzen, Strichen in Bleistift-Optik. Wo andere Comics in einem Extra-Arbeitsschritt mit Tinte Linien, Silhouetten, viele Kontraste hart, sauber abgrenzen und perfektionieren, lässt Yelin Hilfslinien, Wirbel offen stehen."

Rezension


Weitere Comics für Stadtentdecker

Reinhard Kleist: Havanna. A cuban journey © Reinhard Kleist (Ausschnitt)

"Havanna"

Als Reinhard Kleist 2008 nach Kuba reist, um über Fidel Castro zu recherchieren, entsteht auch das Reisetagebuch »Havanna«. Es versammelt Reiseeindrücke und Erlebnisse, stellt Menschen und Orte vor, berichtet von den Mühen und Entdeckungen vor Ort und gibt Einblicke in die Seelenlage des Zeichners.

Delhi_header_yelin © Barbara Yelin (Ausschnitt)

"Delhi Sketch-Book"

Barbara Yelin erinnert sich an ihren Aufenthalt in New Delhi, wohin sie im Herbst 2012 auf Einladung des Goethe-Instituts für eine Woche gereist ist: „Get ready to be blown away by all the impressions“ beschreibt sie die auf sie einstürzenden Eindrücke beim Verlassen der U-Bahn.

Tim Dinter: Museumsquartett | Kunstmuseum Basel © Tim Dinter (Ausschnitt)

"Operation Läckerli"

Als Tim Dinter in den neunziger Jahren als Teil der Comicgruppe Monogatari nach Basel reist, ist er die Berliner Hektik gewöhnt. In Basel geht er ins Museum.


Mehr zu Graphic Travelogues

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über die Künstler*innen

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere namhaften Künstlern*innen, darunter Barbara Yelin, Reinhard Kleist und Sarnath Banerjee. Alle mit ausgewiesener Comic-Expertise und mal mit mehr, mal mit weniger Reiseerfahrung im entsprechenden Land.

Graphic Travelogues Grafik: Dominik Wendland © Goethe-Institut New Delhi

Über das Projekt

Graphic Travelogues präsentiert Reiseerfahrungen von Comic-Künstler*innen aus unterschiedlichen Ländern, beleuchtet und identifiziert wiederkehrende Themen. Von Skizzen über Graphic Novels, grafischen Tagebüchern über Reisezeichnungen sammeln wir an dieser Stelle Schätze und hinterfragen Konzepte und Motivationen, Techniken und Erfahrungen.
 

Top