Global Cultural Relations

Logo Global Cultural Relations © Global Cultural Relations

Launched in 2011 under the name More Europe – external cultural relations – Global Cultural Relations works towards strengthening culture in external relations in Europe and beyond, based on the promotion of values of fairness, dialogue, and the recognition of the role of civil society. Whether it is through conducting research and studies, conferences and workshop or through concrete advocacy activities, Global Cultural Relations aims to encourage cultural cooperation between Europe and its partner countries and works towards fostering international cultural relations.

After more than 10 years of sound advocacy and strong partnerships, which saw, among other, the adoption of the very first EU strategy for international cultural relations. What used to be More Europe – external cultural relations now goes by Global Cultural Relations (GCR). It represents a promising development of the initiative, backed up by core members (Goethe Institut, Institut français, AFAC- The Arab Fund for Arts and Culture, Kultura Nova and the Heinrich Böll Stiftung) in view of future strategic orientations and willingness to reinforce multiple and diverse partnerships within Global Cultural Relations. The main objective is to continue building and fostering inclusive, reciprocal and fair cultural relations alongside with international partners.

Global Cultural Relations is a Brussel’s based independent and flexible initiative in the field of EU external cultural relations and international cultural relations at large and strives to build bridges between the European Union and partner countries through connecting cultural actors and practitioners on the ground in Europe and beyond, and  stimulates exchanges on the principles and practices of cultural collaboration, including opportunities, study of contemporary topics and address most pressing needs.

The initiative aims to co-create with partners and jointly develop pilot actions, test new initiatives and co-design priorities and strategic work strands for the future in order to inform international cultural relations and continue putting the topic high on political agendas.

Latest news, events and publications can be found at www.globalculturalrelations.org

Global Cultural Relations

Logo Global Cultural Relations © Global Cultural Relations

Global Cultural Relations wurde 2011 unter dem Namen More Europe - external cultural relations ins Leben gerufen und setzt sich für die Stärkung der Kultur in den Außenbeziehungen in Europa und darüber hinaus ein. Ob durch die Durchführung von Forschungsarbeiten und Studien, Konferenzen und Workshops oder durch konkrete Lobbyarbeit, Global Cultural Relations möchte die kulturelle Zusammenarbeit zwischen Europa und seinen Partnerländern fördern und sich für die Stärkung der internationalen Kulturbeziehungen einsetzen.

Nach mehr als 10 Jahren fundierter Lobbyarbeit und starker Partnerschaften, in denen unter anderem die allererste EU-Strategie für internationale Kulturbeziehungen verabschiedet wurde. Was früher More Europe – external cultural relations hieß, wird nun als Global Cultural Relations (GCR) bezeichnet. Sie stellt eine vielversprechende Entwicklung der Initiative dar, die von den Kernmitgliedern (Goethe-Institut, Institut français, AFAC - The Arab Fund for Arts and Culture, Kultura Nova und Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung) im Hinblick auf künftige strategische Ausrichtungen und die Bereitschaft zur Stärkung vielfältiger und unterschiedlicher Partnerschaften innerhalb der Globalen Kulturbeziehungen unterstützt wird. Das Hauptziel ist der weitere Aufbau und die Förderung integrativer, gegenseitiger und fairer kultureller Beziehungen mit internationalen Partnern.

Global Cultural Relations ist eine in Brüssel ansässige, unabhängige und flexible Initiative im Bereich der externen Kulturbeziehungen der EU und der internationalen Kulturbeziehungen im Allgemeinen. Sie ist bestrebt, Brücken zwischen der Europäischen Union und den Partnerländern zu bauen, indem sie Kulturakteur*innen und -praktiker*innen vor Ort in Europa und darüber hinaus miteinander verbindet und den Austausch über die Grundsätze und Praktiken der kulturellen Zusammenarbeit anregt, einschließlich der Möglichkeiten, der Untersuchung aktueller Themen und der Bewältigung der dringendsten Bedürfnisse.

Die Initiative zielt darauf ab, gemeinsam mit den Partnern Pilotmaßnahmen zu entwickeln, neue Initiativen zu testen und Prioritäten und strategische Arbeitsbereiche für die Zukunft mitzugestalten, um die internationalen Kulturbeziehungen zu informieren und das Thema weiterhin ganz oben auf die politische Tagesordnung zu setzen.

Aktuelle Nachrichten, Veranstaltungen und Veröffentlichungen finden Sie unter www.globalculturalrelations.org