Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Projects by the Goethe-Institut on the occasion of Germany's EU Council PresidencyIllustration (detail): Tobias Schrank

EU 2020: The Goethe-Institut for Europe

The German presidency of the Council of the EU ended on 31 December 2020. For six months, we reflected on what Europe represents and how we wish to live in Europe in the future.
Via digital and physical formats in Brussels and 19 other European cities, intellectuals and artists from all over Europe discussed new prospects and alliances in Europe as part of the hybrid Free Space festival during the German presidency of the Council of the European Union.
With spectacular installations in public spaces, debates on the impact of artificial intelligence, the drawing-up of carbon-neutral solutions for travelling to the capitals of the presidency trio and cross-generational discussions about Europe, many events were held throughout Europe which raised the spirits of the European public during the coronavirus epidemic and celebrated Europe’s diversity.
The Verschwindende Wand (Disappearing Wall), #oekoropa and Generation A=Algorithm projects were part of the German federal government’s official cultural programme during the 2020 Presidency of the Council of the EU. The Goethe-Institut was also involved in implementing the participative art work Earth Speakr by Olafur Eliasson.
In a closing film, we look back on six months of wide-ranging events held throughout Europe focusing on the European values of freedom, solidarity and sustainability.
 


Our Projects

  • Die Wand Antwerpen 1 Photo: © Lillo Mendola
    The disappearing wall in Antwerp from 19.09.-20.09.2020
  • Die verschwindende Wand 3 Photo: ©Lillo Mendola
    The disappearing wall in Antwerp from 19.09.-20.09.2020
  • Die Verschwindende Wand 4 Photo: ©Lillo Mendola
    The disappearing wall in Antwerp from 19.09.-20.09.2020
  • Die Wand Antwerpen 5 Photo: ©Lillo Mendola
    The disappearing wall in Antwerp from 19.09.-20.09.2020 with the German embassador Martin Kotthaus and director of the Goethe-Institut in Belgium Dr. Elke Kaschl Mohni
  • Wand Antwerpen 6 Photo: ©Lillo Mendola
    opening-speech held by the director of the Goethe-Institut in Belgium Dr. Elke Kaschl Mohni at the art installation "the disappearing wall"
  • Die Wand 7 Photo: ©Lillo Mendola
    The disappearing wall in Antwerp on the weekend of the 19th and 20th september 2020
  • Wand 8 Photo: ©Lillo Mendola
    visitors at the installation
  • Wand in Brüssel Photo: ©Lillo Mendola
    The disappearing wall in Brussels
  • Bürgermeister von Brüssel bei der Wand Foto (Zuschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    The mayor of Brussels Philippe Close visited the wall.
  • Wand auf der Grand-Place Foto (Zuschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    The disappearing wall on the Grand Place/Grote Markt in Brussels.
  • Wand auf der Grande-Place Foto (Ausschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    a look through the installation on the Grand Place/Grote Markt in Brussels
  • Wand auf der Grand-Place Foto (Ausschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    the installation was to be found in Brussels on the 3rd and 4th of october
  • director of the Goethe-Institut Dr. Elke Kaschl Mohni and foreign minister Sophie Wilmès visiting the art installation in Brussels Photo (Ausschnitt): © Citizenmotion
    director of the Goethe-Institut Dr. Elke Kaschl Mohni and foreign minister Sophie Wilmès visiting the art installation in Brussels
  • Earth Speakr Workshop Brussels © Lillo Mendola
    Earth Speakr Workshop in Brussels
  • Earth Speakr Workshop Brüssel 2 © Betrand Vandeloise
    Earth Speakr Workshop in Brussels
  • Freiraum Festival 2020 © Stefanos Tsakiris
    Freiraum Festival 2020
  • Freiraum Festival 2 © Goethe-Institut
    Freiraum Festival 2020
  • Freiraum Festival 3 © Stefanos Tsakiris
    Freiraum Festival 2020
  • Freiraum Festival 4 © Stefanos Tsakiris
    Freiraum Festival 2020
  • Freiraum Festival 5 © Goethe-Institut
    Freiraum Festival 2020
“Disappearing Wall” Photo (detail): Goethe-Institut © Natalia Cheban

Art installation in public spaces
The Disappearing Wall

This artistic wall installation is based on 6,000 quotes from highbrow and popular culture with contributions from eminent thinkers and artists from all over Europe, collected beforehand via a public competition. After the unveiling of the installation, passers-by will be able to take the quotes with them. All that will remain is the transparent frame that held them – the wall disappears. The installation will go on display in ten European countries – including three times in Belgium – from summer 2020 during the German Presidency of the Council of the European Union.

#oekoropa: Europe-wide youth competition on sustainable travel © Goethe-Institut

#oekoropa
#oekoropa - Europewide Youth Competition for Sustainable Travel

With the digital youth competition #oekoropa, the Goethe-Institut shows that travelling is possible even in these times – first conceptually and then in reality. Students aged 16 to 19 and their teachers from all EU member states are invited to participate with their innovative concepts for climate neutral travelling across Europe.

Das Logo des Projekts Earth Speakr © Olafur Eliasson

"Earth Speakr"
A participatory, Europe-wide work of art

“Earth Speakr” is an artwork created by Olafur Eliasson with his studio, kids, creative partners, researchers, and experts. The open-ended artwork launches officially 1 July and will evolve over the course of 2020 with the active participation of kids across the EU. It is funded by the Federal Foreign Office on the occasion of the German Presidency of the Council of the European Union 2020 and realised in cooperation with the Goethe-Institut.

Logo des Projekts Generation A=Algorithmus Illustration: © Tobias Schrank

„Generation A“
Towards a future of artificial intelligence

Big data, algorithms and deep learning: artificial intelligence (AI) is changing our lives and has long been part of everyday life. How much potential does AI possess and how can it be safely integrated into future societies? The “Generation A = algorithm” project explores these issues in wide-ranging formats. The “Couch Lessons” series will provide insights into various aspects of AI every Wednesday.

The projects ‘Europaküche’, ‘Erzähle mir von Europa’, ‘die Verschwindende Wand’, ‘#oekoropa’ and ‘Generation A=Algorithmus’ are all part of the German federal government’s cultural programme to mark the German Presidency of the Council of the European Union. The Goethe Institute is also involved in the implementation of the participative artwork ‘Earth Speakr’ by Olafur Eliasson which the Berlin-based artist is creating for the German Presidency of the Council of the European Union.

The EU 2020 projects of the Goethe-Institut are funded with special funds from the German Foreign Office for the German EU Presidency 2020.  
Hellgrünes Logo des Goethe-Instituts auf weißem Grund Logo EU 2020

In addition to these initiatives, the Goethe Institute is also implementing further large-scale projects focusing on Europe as part of EU 2020. They include the ‘Freiraum’ festival and the conference series on multilingualism in Europe.

Freiraum Festival © Foto Alexandru Andrei

A hybrid festival on the state of freedom today with voices from all over Europe
Freiraum Festival

The Freiraum Festival will be held on 30, 31 October and 1 November 2020, during Germany’s EU Council presidency. In digital as well as physical formats in Brussels and 19 other European cities, from Athens up to Turin and Prague, the Goethe-Instituts will be joining forces again with partners in culture and the arts, the research community and civil society to ask:
What is the state of freedom today in Europe in corona era?

Konferenzserie "Mehrsprachigkeit in Europa" Foto (fragment): Eric Berghen

“Europe. Your languages”
Multilingualism in Europe: a digital series of conferences

24 official languages, 60 regional and minority languages, countless dialects and language variations: Europe is a continent of multilingualism. Germany, the country in the EU with the most neighbours, and a glance next door: what can we learn from each other? On the occasion of the European trio presidency Germany – Portugal – Slovenia, the Goethe-Institut’s Europanetzwerk Deutsch will examine these and other questions with high-ranking experts.

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Projekte des Goethe-Instituts anlässlich der EU-Ratspräsidentschaft DeutschlandsIllustration (Ausschnitt): Tobias Schrank

Das Goethe-Institut für Europa

Am 31. Dezember 2020 endete die deutsche EU-Ratspräsidentschaft. Sechs Monate lang haben wir uns gefragt: Was macht Europa aus und wie wollen wir zukünftig in Europa leben?
In digitalen und physischen Formaten in Brüssel und 19 weiteren europäischen Städten diskutierten im Rahmen des hybriden Freiraum Festivals Intellektuelle, Kulturschaffende und Künstler*innen aus ganz Europa anlässlich der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft über neue Perspektiven und Allianzen in Europa.
Bei aufsehenerregenden Installationen im öffentlichen Raum, Debatten über den Einfluss Künstlicher Intelligenz, bei der Erarbeitung klimaneutraler Reisekonzepte zu den Hauptstädten der Trio-Ratspräsidentschaft oder generationsübergreifenden Gesprächen über Europa wurden europaweit zahlreiche Veranstaltungen durchgeführt, die die europäische Öffentlichkeit gerade in Zeiten von Corona gestärkt und die Vielfalt Europas gefeiert haben.
Die Projekte die „Verschwindende Wand“, „#oekoropa“ und „Generation A=Algorithmus“ waren Teil des offiziellen Kulturprogramms der deutschen Bundesregierung anlässlich der Ratspräsidentschaft 2020. Zusätzlich war das Goethe-Institut an der Umsetzung des partizipativen Kunstwerks „Earth Speakr“ von Olafur Eliasson beteiligt.
Wir blicken in einem Abschlussfilm zurück auf sechs Monate mit vielfältigen Veranstaltungen in ganz Europa, in denen die europäischen Werte Freiheit, Solidarität und Nachhaltigkeit im Mittelpunkt standen.


Unsere Projekte

  • Die Wand Antwerpen 1 Foto (Zuschnitt): © Lillo Mendola
    Die Verschwindende Wand in Antwerpen 19.09. - 20.09.2020
  • Die verschwindende Wand 3 Foto (Zuschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    Die Verschwindende Wand Antwerpen 19.09. - 20.09.2020
  • Die Verschwindende Wand 4 Foto (Zuschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    Die Verschwindende Wand in Antwerpen 19.09. - 20.09.2020
  • Die Wand Antwerpen 5 Foto (Zuschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    Die Verschwindende Wand in Antwerpen 19.09. - 20.09.2020 mit dem deutschen Botschafter Martin Kotthaus und der Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts Belgien Dr. Elke Kaschl Mohni
  • Wand Antwerpen 6 Foto (Zuschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    Eröffnung der Installation "Die Verschwindende Wand" in Antwerpen 19.09. - 20.09.2020 durch die Leiterin des Goethe-Instituts Belgien Dr. Elke Kaschl Mohni
  • Die Wand 7 Foto (Zuschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    Die Verschwindende Wand in Antwerpen am Wochenende des 19.09. - 20.09.2020
  • Wand 8 Foto (Zuschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    Besucher*innen der Installation
  • Wand in Brüssel Foto (Zuschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    Die Verschwindende Wand in Brüssel
  • Bürgermeister von Brüssel bei der Wand Foto (Zuschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    Der Brüsseler Bürgermeister Philippe Close besuchte die Installation.
  • Wand auf der Grand-Place Foto (Zuschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    Die Verchwindende Wand auf dem Grand Place/Grote Markt in Brüssel.
  • Wand auf der Grande-Place Foto (Ausschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    Sicht durch die Installation auf dem Brüsseler Grand Place/Grote Markt
  • Wand auf der Grand-Place Foto (Ausschnitt): ©Lillo Mendola
    Die Installation war in Brüssel vom 03.10. - 04.10.2020 zu sehen.
  • Institutsleiterin Dr. Elke Kaschl Mohni mit der belgischen Außenministerin Sophie Wilmès beim Besuch der Installation in Brüssel Foto (Ausschnitt): © Citizenmotion
    Institutsleiterin Dr. Elke Kaschl Mohni mit der belgischen Außenministerin Sophie Wilmès beim Besuch der Installation in Brüssel
  • Earth Speakr Workshop Brüssel © Lillo Mendola
    Earth Speakr Workshop Brüssel
  • Earth Speakr Workshop Brüssel 2 © Betrand Vandeloise
    Earth Speakr Workshop Brüssel
  • Freiraum Festival 2020 © Stefanos Tsakiris
    Freiraum Festival 2020
  • Freiraum Festival 2 © Goethe-Institut
    Freiraum Festival 2020
  • Freiraum Festival 3 © Stefanos Tsakiris
    Freiraum Festival 2020
  • Freiraum Festival 4 © Stefanos Tsakiris
    Freiraum Festival 2020
  • Freiraum Festival 5 © Goethe-Institut
    Freiraum Festival 2020
Verschwindende Wand Foto (Ausschnitt): Goethe-Institut © Natalia Cheban

Künstlerische Installation im öffentlichem Raum
Die Verschwindende Wand in Antwerpen!

Grundlage der künstlerischen Wandinstallation sind 6000 Zitate aus Hoch- oder Popkultur, wie etwa von bekannten Denker*innen oder Künstler*innen aus ganz Europa, welche zuvor über eine öffentliche Ausschreibung gesammelt wurden. Nach der Enthüllung der Installation haben Passant*innen die Möglichkeit, die Zitate mitzunehmen. Zurück bleibt nur noch der durchsichtige Rahmen, in dem sie sich befanden: die Wand ist verschwunden. Ab Sommer 2020, anlässlich der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft wird die Installation in zehn europäischen Ländern zu sehen sein. In Belgien steht die Wand am 19. und 20. September in Antwerpen auf dem Operaplein und später wird man sie auch in Brüssel und Namur besuchen können.

#oekoropa: Europaweiter Jugendwettbewerb zu nachhaltigem Reisen © Goethe-Institut

#oekoropa
#oekoropa - Europaweiter Jugendwettbewerb zu nachhaltigem Reisen

Mit dem digitalen Jugendwettbewerb #oekoropa ruft das Goethe-Institut zu nachhaltigem Reisen auf -zunächst konzeptionell, später ganz real. Schüler*innen aus allen EU-Mitgliedsstaaten im Alter von 16 bis 19 Jahren und ihre Lehrer*innen sind eingeladen, sich mit ihrem innovativen Konzept für eine klimaneutrale Reise durch Europa zu beteiligen.​

Das Logo des Projekts Earth Speakr © Olafur Eliasson

„Earth Speakr“
Ein partizipatives, europaweites Kunstwerk

„Earth Speakr“ ist ein Kunstwerk von Olafur Eliasson, realisiert mit seinem Studio, Kindern und Jugendlichen, kreativen Partner*innen, Wissenschaftler*innen und Expert*innen. Das Kunstwerk beginnt am 1. Juli und wird im Laufe des Jahres Gestalt annehmen – durch die Beteiligung von jungen Menschen in der gesamten EU. Das Projekt wird vom Auswärtigen Amt aus Anlass der deutschen EU Ratspräsidentschaft 2020 gefördert und in Kooperation mit dem Goethe-Institut realisiert.

Logo des Projekts Generation A=Algorithmus Illustration: © Tobias Schrank

„Generation A“
Zur Zukunft Künstlicher Intelligenz

Big Data, Algorithmen oder Deep Learning: Künstliche Intelligenz (KI) verändert unser Leben und ist längst im Alltag präsent. Welche Potenziale bietet KI und wie können wir sie sicher in zukünftige Gesellschaften integrieren? Diesen Fragen geht das Projekt „Generation A = Algorithmus“ in vielfältigen Formaten nach. So gibt unter anderem die Reihe „Couch Lessons“ jeden Mittwoch Einblick in verschiedene Bereiche der KI.

Die Projekte Europaküche, Erzähle mir von Europa, die Verschwindende Wand, #oekoropa und Generation A=Algorithmus sind Teil des Kulturprogramms der deutschen Bundesregierung anlässlich der Ratspräsidentschaft. Zusätzlich ist das Goethe-Institut an der Umsetzung des partizipativen Kunstwerks Earth Speakr von Olafur Eliasson beteiligt, das der in Berlin lebende Künstler für die Deutsche EU-Ratspräsidentschaft gestaltet.

Die EU2020-Projekte des Goethe-Instituts werden gefördert mit Sondermitteln des Auswärtigen Amts zur deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft 2020.  
Hellgrünes Logo des Goethe-Instituts auf weißem Grund Logo EU 2020

Neben diesen Initiativen führt das Goethe-Institut im Rahmen von EU 2020 auch noch weitere Großprojekte mit europäischem Fokus durch. Hierzu zählen unter anderem das Festival von „Freiraum“ und die Konferenzserie zur Mehrsprachigkeit in Europa.

Freiraum Festival © Foto Alexandru Andrei

Ein hybrides Festival zum Stand der Freiheit heute mit Stimmen aus ganz Europa
Freiraum Festival

Vom 30. Oktober bis 1. November 2020 findet das Freiraum Festival statt. In digitalen und physischen Formaten in Brüssel und in 19 anderen europäischen Städten von Athen über Prag bis Turin geht das Goethe-Institut anlässlich der deutschen EU-Ratspräsidentschaft gemeinsam mit Akteur*innen aus 42 europäischen Städten aus Kultur, Wissenschaft und Zivilgesellschaft der Frage nach: Was ist der Stand der Freiheit heute in Europa, in Corona Zeiten? 

Konferenzserie "Mehrsprachigkeit in Europa" Foto (Ausschnitt): Eric Berghen

„Europa. Deine Sprachen“
Konferenz zur Mehrsprachigkeit in Europa

24 offizielle Amtssprachen, 60 Regional- und Minderheitensprachen, ungezählte Dialekte und Sprachvarianten: Europa ist ein Kontinent der Mehrsprachigkeit. Deutschland, das Land in der EU mit den meisten Nachbarn, und der Blick nach nebenan: Was können wir voneinander lernen? Anlässlich des europäischen Trio-Ratsvorsitzes Deutschland – Portugal – Slowenien beleuchtet das Europanetzwerk Deutsch des Goethe-Instituts diese und weitere Fragen mit hochrangigen Expertinnen und Experten.

Top