Comic-Residency 2021: Anna Haifisch

Visual Comic-Residency Anna Haifisch 2021 © Anna Haifisch

The Belgian capital is among the major hubs for comic book artists  around the world. To give artists who live in Germany the opportunity to partake in this environment, the Goethe-Institut Brussels organises a comic residency.

In 2021, we invited Leipzig-based artist Anna Haifisch to Brussels. For four weeks, she worked on her ongoing projects at the cultural centre ‘LaVallée’ in Molenbeek. Aside from studios and workshops, the centre also houses exhibition spaces.

Having presented her illustrations and cartoons at the series of talks ‘Grafixx EXTD’, Anna Haifisch’s works will now be on display at the international comics festival ‘Grafixx’, which will take place in Antwerp from 26 to 28 November 2021.
 

Anna Haifisch was born in Leipzig in 1986. From 2004 to 2011, she studied graphic design and illustration at the Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig (Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst, HGB), and worked as a screen printer for Kayrock Screenprinting Inc. in Brooklyn, New York from 2008 to 2010.

Upon returning to Leipzig, she completed her studies with a diploma (2011) and went on to work as an assistant professor in the illustration class at HGB.

Anna Haifisch is also a co-founder of the comics and graphic art festival ‘The Millionaires Club’. From 2013 to 2015, she returned to HGB to pursue postgraduate studies. Since then, she has been working as an artist, cartoonist and illustrator in Leipzig. In 2020, she was awarded the ‘Max und Moritz-Preis’ as the best German comic books artist.

Comic-Residenz 2021: Anna Haifisch

Visual Comic-Residenz Anna Haifisch 2021 © Anna Haifisch

Die belgische Hauptstadt zählt zu einer der Metropolen für Comic-Zeichner*innen weltweit. Das Goethe-Institut Brüssel organisiert eine Comic-Residenz, um auch in Deutschland lebenden Künstler*innen an dieser Szene teilhaben zu lassen.

Im Jahr 2021 luden wir die Leipziger Künstlerin Anna Haifisch nach Brüssel ein. Vier Wochen lang arbeitete sie an ihren neuen Projekten im Molenbeeker Kulturzentrum „LaVallée“, welches neben Studios und Ateliers auch Ausstellungsräume beherbergt.

Nachdem sie bereits im Mai an der Vortragsreihe „Graffixx EXTD“ ihre Illustrationen und Cartoons vorgestellt hat, werden die Werke Anna Haifisch´s beim internationalen Comic-Festivals „Grafixx“ vom 26. - 28. November 2021 in Antwerpen zu sehen sein.

Anna Haifisch wurde 1986 in Leipzig geboren. Sie studierte von 2004 bis 2011 Druckgrafik und Illustration an der Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst Leipzig (HGB) und arbeitete als Siebdruckerin bei Kayrock Sreenprinting Inc. in Brooklyn, New York (2008-10).

Anschließend kehrte sie nach Leipzig zurück und schloss ihr Studium mit Diplom ab (2011). Darüber hinaus arbeitete sie für ein Jahr als Lehrbeauftragte in der Illustrationsklasse an der HGB.

Anna Haifisch ist zudem Mitbegründerin des Comic- und Grafikfestivals „The Milllionaires Club“ und kehrte für ein Aufbaustudium an die HGB zurück (2013-2015). Daran anschließend arbeitet sie seitdem als Künstlerin, Cartoonistin und Illustratorin in Leipzig und wurde im Jahre 2020 mit dem „Max und Moritz-Preis“ als beste deutsche Comic-Künstlerin ausgezeichnet.