Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Towel Art Performance
Folding Europe

Towel Art by Hen & Mai
© Quast & Knoblich

In a basement room of the Lancaster Gate Hotel in central London, people are settling down for the ‘Folding Europe’ towel art convention. Elevator music is playing in the background and attendees are offered copious amounts of fruit and water. There are towels resting on the backs of chairs, all in the blue and yellow colours of the EU flag. Over the next hour or so, we’ll learn the art of folding towels into interesting shapes as a way to get through any crisis. “A towel says more than 1,000 words,” guests are told.

By Naomi Larsson

The immersive theatre performance is created by the two Berlin-based artists, Hendrik Quast and Maika Knoblich. Their characters Hen and Mai, two experts in towel folding, are for the first time introducing towel art to the British hospitality industry. Their main expertise? Dealing with difficult emotions in times of political change.

At the end of the day we all use towels


The show was commissioned as part of the Goethe-Institut London’s Europe Actually programme, a series of events focusing on the European common identity. When there’s political uncertainty and tension, cultural relations and the idea of crossing borders is even more important. Quast and Knoblich’s work was inspired by Brexit, and it brings some humour – albeit through an unusual concept – to the crisis. The performance is especially pertinent as it takes place on the weekend of the original leave date.
 
And how do towels fit into all this? “At the end of the day we all use towels,” Mai explains. Hen and Mai want to share their folding techniques with the world as a way to get through any crisis. Britain is a “traumatised society at the moment”, Mai says, so the answer is to make towel art. Towel art is a way to express emotions, release tension, feel more connected with one another, they say. Towel art is the way we can get over Brexit. If only that were true.
 
“Every separation feels the same: like a kick in the stomach,” says Hen in his opening speech, while carrying a bird-shaped towel on his shoulder. “The solution is not to complain about Brexit. It’s to start feeling again.” Hen and Mai, both wearing matching blue blazers, start with a PowerPoint presentation and narrate the (fake) history of towel artistry, dating back to the time of Cleopatra.
 
They tell the audience about their pre-Brexit tour back in November, where they travelled to leave-voting areas of the UK to get a sense of how they were feeling. I’m later told this was true, and the artists did visit these areas to grasp the political climate in the UK as inspiration for their work. On this trip, Hen & Mai realized that Britain became such a divided society because a lot of people felt disconnected and left behind. For some people, voting Leave was more of a statement than anything else.
 
After a dramatic towel art demonstration by Hen in a dimly lit room, the audience is taught how to make the turtle shape. Indeed, folding towels is surprisingly soothing – the two artists might actually be on to something. Maybe towel art can help us all.   
 
In the third sequence, we find Mai tucked up in a hotel room bed with towel art displaced across the room. She’s surrounded by towel swans, and there are towel snakes coming out of the draw, a towel lobster in the toilet.

When the performance is over, the general feeling among audience members seems to be confusion and wondering what just happened. But when connecting this performance to Brexit, then general confusion is a perfect reflection of the whole situation, and indeed much of the consensus among Britons. Riccardo, one of the attendees, said it was “refreshing” to have something like this about Brexit because there’s “so much doom and gloom. It’s nice to smile about it for once.”
 
  • Folding Europe Towel Art Performance Foto: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London
  • Folding Europe Towel Art Performance - interaction Photo: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London
  • Folding Europe Towel Art Performance - bed Photo: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London
  • Folding Europe Towel Art Performance - bed Photo: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London
  • Folding Europe Towel Art Performance - bathroom Photo: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Towel Art Performance
Folding Europe

Towel Art by Hen & Mai
© Quast & Knoblich

Im Keller des Lancaster Gate Hotels im Zentrum Londons nimmt das Publikum für die humorvolle Performance „Folding Europe“ langsam seine Plätze ein. Im Hintergrund spielt Fahrstuhlmusik und den Anwesenden wird ausgiebig Obst und Wasser gereicht. Handtücher im Blau und Gelb der Europaflagge hängen über den Stuhllehnen. In der nächsten Stunde wird das Publikum die Kunst erlernen, alle Arten von Krisen zu bewältigen, indem sie aus Handtüchern interessante Figuren falten. „Ein Handtuch sagt mehr als 1000 Worte“, wird uns Gästen erklärt.

Von Naomi Larsson

Entwickelt wurde die eindringliche Theater Performance von den beiden in Berlin lebenden Künstlern Hendrik Quast und Maika Knoblich. Ihre Charaktere Hen und Mai, zwei Experten im Handtuchfalten, präsentieren dem britischen Gastgewerbe die Handtuchkunst zum ersten Mal. Ihre Hauptkompetenz? Wie man in Zeiten politischer Veränderungen mit schwierigen Gefühlen umgehen kann.

Letztendlich benutzen alle Menschen Handtücher


Die Veranstaltung wurde für die Veranstaltungsreihe Europe Actually des Goethe-Instituts London in Auftrag gegeben, die sich mit der Frage nach dem europäischen Gemeinschaftsgefühl befasst. Gerade da, wo politische Ungewissheit und Spannungen herrschen, braucht es kulturelle Verbindungen und Grenzüberschreitungen. Quast und Knoblichs Performance ist vom Brexit inspiriert und geht mit Humor – wenn auch durch ein ungewöhnliches Konzept – an die Krise heran. Die Performance findet am Wochenende des ursprünglich geplanten Brexits statt und ist daher thematisch besonders relevant.
 
Was haben also Handtücher mit der Krise zu tun? „Letztendlich benutzen alle Menschen Handtücher“, erklärt Mai. Hen und Mai präsentiereb ihre Falttechniken als eine Methode zur Krisenbewältigung. Großbritannien ist „momentan eine traumatisierte Gesellschaft“, wie Mai sagt, Handtuchkunst sei die Antwort. Durch die Kunst, Hanftücher zu falten, könnte man Gefühle ausdrücken, sich entspannen und miteinander verbunden fühlen. Mit Handtuchkunst könnten wir über den Brexit hinwegkommen. Ach, wenn es doch so wäre!
 
„Jede Trennung fühlt sich gleich an: wie ein Schlag in den Magengrube“ sagt Hen in seiner Eröffnungsrede, wobei er ein vogelförmiges Handtuch auf der Schulter trägt. „Über den Brexit zu jammern ist keine Lösung, wir müssen wieder etwas fühlen.“ Hen and Mai, beide in blauem Blazer, beginnen mit einer PowerPoint-Präsentation und erzählen die (erfundene) Geschichte der Handtuchkunst, die bis zurück zu Kleopatra reicht.
 
Hen & Mai erzählen dem Publikum von ihrer Tour im November, als sie Gegenden des Vereinigten Königreichs besuchten, wo vornehmlich für den Brexit gestimmt wurde. Die beiden wollten herausfinden, was die Leute dort dachten und fühlten. Später erfahre ich, dass die Künstler tatsächlich vor Ort waren, um ein Gespür für das politische Klima im Vereinigten Königreich und Inspiration für ihre Performance zu bekommen. Auf dieser Reise wurde den beiden klar, dass Großbritannien deswegen so gespalten ist, weil viele Menschen sich abgehängt und außen vor fühlen. Einige wollten mit ihrer Stimme für den Brexit eine deutliche Aussage machen.
 
Nach einer dramatischen Handtuchkunstvorführung von Hen in einem schwach beleuchteten Zimmer, wird dem Publikum gezeigt, wie man eine Schildkröte falten kann.Tatsächlich ist das Handtuchfalten äußerst beruhigend – womöglich haben die beiden Künstler doch Recht. Vielleicht kann das Falten von Handtüchern uns wirklich allen helfen.
 
In der dritten Szene sehen wir Mai in einem Hotelzimmer im Bett unter einer Decke – über das ganze Zimmer verstreut sind Werke ihrer Handtuchkunst. Sie ist von Schwänen umgeben, aus der Schublade kommen zwei Schlangen und aus der Toilette klettert ein Hummer.

Als die Performance vorbei ist, scheint das Publikum verwirrt zu sein. Doch bringt man die Performance mit dem Brexit in Verbindung, dann spiegelt die allgemeine Verwirrung im Land die Lage sehr treffend wieder. Riccardo, ein Zuschauer, meint es sei „erfrischend“ gewesen, ein solches Stück zum Thema Brexit zu sehen, weil tagtäglich so viel „Trübsal geblasen wird. Es ist nett, zur Abwechslung darüber lachen zu können.“
 
  • Folding Europe Towel Art Performance Foto: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London
  • Folding Europe Towel Art Performance - interaction Foto: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London
  • Folding Europe Towel Art Performance - bed Foto: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London
  • Folding Europe Towel Art Performance - bed Foto: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London
  • Folding Europe Towel Art Performance - bathroom Foto: Rupert Hitchcox © Goethe-Institut London



 

Top