Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

"Brady Lecture" 2019 with John Kampfner
Does Germany really do it better?

John Kampfner during his lecture at the Goethe-Institut London.
John Kampfner’s lecture full of insights and humour gave an idea of his book, provocatively titled “Why the Germans Do It Better. Lessons from a Grown Up Country” (publication date: July 2020). | Photo: © Pau Ros / Goethe-Institut

While the US endures Trump administration chaos and the UK has been mired in Brexit for years on end, the political maturity of Germany stands in impressive contrast. Author John Kampfner opened the 2019 Brady Lecture at the London Goethe-Institut with this provocative argument.

By Marten Hahn

A title like "Why the Germans do it better“ is still sensitive more than 70 years after the second world war. John Kampfner is well aware of this and is quick to explain the title of his talk (which is soon to be followed by a book of the same name). "My German interviewees", he says "tend to fall off their chairs. Das können Sie doch nicht sagen! But the Brits usually say: I see what you mean.“ London Goethe-Institut director Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte intervenes at this point to clarify that Kampfner was not invited "because of this title, but in spite of it".

Very few people in the UK know Germany as Kampfner does. He was a young British reporter in Bonn when Germany was still divided and was the last East-Berlin correspondent for the British Telegraph newspaper. He was present in 1989 when the wall came down. He has maintained the same attachment to the country as a chronicler of its later experience. As Kampfner sees it, the 150-year history of Germany is split into two parts. In the first, Germany represents two world wars, dictatorship and the horror of the Holocaust. In the second, it represents reconciliation, stability and maturity. It is this second history that he wants to talk about in his book "Why the Germans do it better“. The history of present-day Germany. For the purpose of this book, he travelled across Germany once more, speaking to politicians, businesspeople, technology experts, artists and many others.

The point is how problems are dealt with

Kampfner sings the praises of Germany’s virtues and successes. He talks about the Mittelstand and the country's functional trade unions. He praises the advantages of a decentralised system, noting that dozens of cities are equally important, rather than subordinate to a single metropolis. He is also excited by the lively cultural landscape, from the high-cultural tradition of operas and orchestras to the club scenes of Berlin and Leipzig. In addition to all this, he emphasises Germany’s consensus-based politics and its culture of remembrance.

Kampfner's praise for Germany is interlaced with repeated sideswipes at the UK. In contrast to Germany, he says, "we are trapped by an atrophied political system". Germany had help in the post-war years to write a constitution of which the country is still proud today. "Why", he asks, "did we not think of creating something similar back home?“ According to Kampfner, the UK forgot to modernise its own system.
 
Kampfner doesn’t deny that Germany also has problems. The sagging economy, the social fabric scarred by the refugee crisis, the ascendancy of the right-wing populist AfD party. On top of which the population is ageing and infrastructure is deteriorating, while Germany, almost never a trendsetter, came late and timidly to digitalisation.

So why the praise? In Kampfner's view the question is not whether problems exist but how a country deals with them. Germany has "developed a political maturity that few others can match“. It learned the importance of stability "the hard way“. The post-war Federal Republic had only eight Chancellors before Angela Merkel.

"Ordnung muss sein" *

[*"order must prevail"; emphasises ubiquity of same order at levels of household and state]

Kampfner sees the German love of rules and order as a kind of political identity. Germany had to start again after the 2nd world war. In contrast to Russian and French military symbolism, American reverence for the Founding Fathers, or the patriotic martial pride historically taught in Britain, Germany had nothing to fall back on other than the post-war democratic order itself. This, Kampfner argues, is why Germany "cares so passionately about process, about getting it right, not playing fast and loose“ in politics. 'Slowly but surely’ is the German motto. As Kampfner sees it, politics in Germany was not reality TV : "they leave that to us and to America".

Kampfner never ceases to bring his political analysis to life with anecdotes. He recalls his first coffee with Merkel, when she was still an advisor to Lothar de Maiziere. He tells us how the Chancellor caused Britain's then-prime minister David Cameron to stutter in a conversation about culture. And how Merkel once admonished Barack Obama that the problem of governing could not be solved by means of charisma.

Whenever the audience laughs aloud during Kampfner's talk, we are reminded that in one discipline at least, the Germans won't supplant the British any time soon. Let's call it "serious amusement", in which careful wit and substance are measured out with care to form a fully rounded evening.

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

"Brady Lecture" 2019 mit John Kampfner
Kann es Deutschland wirklich besser?

John Kampfner während seiner Lesung am Goethe-Institut London.
John Kampfners Lesung voller Einblicke und Humor gab einen Eindruck von seinem provokativ betitelten Buch “Why the Germans Do It Better. Lessons from a Grown Up Country” (Erscheinungsdatum: Juli 2020). | Foto: © Pau Ros / Goethe-Institut

Die USA leiden unter dem Chaos der Trump-Regierung und Großbritannien blockiert sich seit Jahren durch den Brexit selbst. Deutschland hingegen glänzt durch politische Reife. So lautet die provokante These, mit der der Autor John Kampfner die diesjährige Brady Lecture im Goethe-Institut London eröffnete.

Von Marten Hahn

“Why the Germans do it better” - so ein Titel ist auch mehr als 70 Jahre nach dem zweiten Weltkrieg noch immer eine sensible Angelegenheit. John Kampfner weiß das und macht den Titel seines Vortrags – dem bald ein gleichnamiges Buch folgen wird - schnell zum Thema. „Spreche ich mit Deutschen darüber, fallen die fast vom Stuhl. ‚Das können Sie doch nicht sagen, heißt es dann.“ Von britischen Landsleute höre er jedoch: „Ich verstehe was du meinst.“ Die Direktorin des Goethe Instituts Katharina von Ruckteschell-Katte schiebt zur Sicherheit noch klärend ein, man habe Kampfner nicht „wegen des Titels“ eingeladen, sondern „trotz des Titels“.

Denn Kampfner kennt Deutschland so gut wie nur wenige in Großbritannien. Der Brite arbeitete als junger Reporter im Bonn der Vorwendezeit und war der letzte Ost-Berlin-Korrespondent der britischen Zeitung The Telegraph. Er war da als 1989 die Mauer fiel. Und er ist dem Land auch danach als Chronist verbunden geblieben. Er sehe Deutschlands 150-jährige Geschichte zweigeteilt. Im ersten Teil stehe Deutschland für zwei Weltkriege, für Diktatur und den Horror des Holocausts. Der zweite Teil stehe für Versöhnung, Stabilität und Reife. Es sei diese Geschichte, die er mit seinem Buch „Why the Germans do it better“ – Warum die Deutschen es besser machen – erzählen wolle. Die Geschichte des Deutschlands der Gegenwart. Kampfner ist für das Buch wieder einmal durch Deutschland gereist und hat mit Politikern, Unternehmern, Technologie-Experten, Künstlern und vielen anderen gesprochen.

Es kommt darauf an, wie man Herausforderungen löst

Es folgt eine Lobeshymne auf Deutschlands Tugenden und Erfolge. Kampfner spricht über den Mittelstand und funktionierende Gewerkschaften. Er preist den Vorteil eines dezentralen Systems. Es gäbe dutzende gleichrangige Städte, statt nur eine Metropole. Und er begeistert sich für die lebhafte Kulturlandschaft - von der Hochkultur der Opern und Orchester bis zur Club-Szene in Berlin und Leipzig. Dazu komme eine konsensbasierte Politik und Deutschlands Erinnerungskultur.

Immer wieder verteilt Kampfner dabei Seitenhiebe Richtung Großbritannien. Im Vergleich zu Deutschland „leben wir in einem verkümmerten politischen System.“ Man habe Deutschland in der Nachkriegszeit beim Schreiben einer Verfassung geholfen, auf die das Land bis heute stolz sei. „Warum haben wir nicht daran gedacht, etwas Ähnliches für uns selbst zu schaffen?“  Man habe vergessen, das eigene System zu modernisieren.
 
Kampfner verneint nicht, dass auch Deutschland Probleme hat. Die Wirtschaft schwächle, die Flüchtlingskrise habe Spuren im sozialen Gefüge hinterlassen und die rechtspopulistische AfD befinde sich im Aufwind. Außerdem werde die Bevölkerung immer älter und die Infrastruktur immer schlechter. Deutschland sei auch fast nie ein Trend-Setter und zu zögerlich, was Digitalisierung angeht.

Warum also der Lobgesang? Es gehe nicht darum, ob es Probleme gebe, so Kampfner, sondern wie ein Land damit umgehe. Deutschland habe “eine politische Reife entwickelt, an die nur wenige andere heranreichen.“ Es habe die Bedeutung von Stabilität auf die “harte Tour“ gelernt. Im Nachriegsdeutschland habe es vor Angela Merkel nur acht Kanzler gegeben.

Ordnung muss sein

In der Liebe der Deutschen für Regeln und Ordnung sieht Kampfner eine Art politische Identität. In der Stunde Null der Nachkriegszeit habe Deutschland neu anfangen müssen. Anders als Russland und Frankreich mit ihrer militärischen Symbolik, anders als die USA mit der Geschichte ihrer Gründerväter, anders als Großbritannien mit seiner patriotischen Geschichtslehre und Kriegsleidenschaft habe Deutschland nichts gehabt, worauf es zurückgreifen konnte - außer die demokratische Ordnung der Nachriegszeit. „Deswegen ist dem Land Rechtsstaatlichkeit so wichtig.“ Deswegen „treibe das Land kein Schindluder“ mit der Politik. „Langsam aber sicher“ sei das Motto. Politik sei in Deutschland kein Reality-TV. „Das überlassen sie uns und den Amerikanern“, so der Brite.

Immer wieder würzt John Kampfner seine politische Analyse mit Anekdoten. Er berichtet von seinem ersten Kaffee mit Merkel, als diese noch Beraterin von Lothar de Maizière war. Er erzählt wie die Kanzlerin den britischen Ex-Premier David Cameron mit einem Gespräch über Kultur zum Stottern brachte. Und wie Merkel einmal zu Barack Obama sagte, man könne die Aufgabe des Regierens nicht mit Charisma lösen.

Und immer dann wenn an diesem Abend ein Lachen durchs Publikum geht wird klar: Es gibt mindestens eine Disziplin, in der die Deutschen den Briten so bald nicht das Wasser reichen können. Wir nennen sie an dieser Stelle einmal ‚ernste Unterhaltung‘. Dafür werden Witz und Substanz so dosiert, dass ein runder Abend draus wird.

 

Top