Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Tell Me About Europe - Key-Visual in Pink© Groupe Dejour

Germany’s Presidency of the Council of the European Union 2020
Tell Me About Europe

Europe is more than a continent or an idea. Europe consists of many different stories – personal stories of people from different generations. The project “Tell me about Europe” brings the memories of well-known Europeans alive and invites you to listen and join in the discussion. This, alongside a number of other projects, is presented by the Goethe-Institut and the German Federal Foreign Office during the German Presidency of the Council of the European Union from July until December 2020.

With "Tell me about Europe", we are inviting the public in London and twelve other European cities to discuss together Europe's past, present and future. The discussion is based on interviews with well-known Europeans, which have been collected in the European Archive of Voices. In it, contemporary witnesses, born before 1945, tell young people about their life paths. They touch on topics such as war and conflict, the disparities between town and country, gender (in)justice, religious freedom or the recent return of nationalism. The different perspectives on Europe from East and West will also become tangible. A sound collage by the sound artist Marc Matter will take up passages from the conversations and make them apparent for the guests at each event.

The stories encourage reflection on the current state of Europe. Europe has been in a serious crisis for some years now. The consequences of the Covid-19 pandemic have exacerbated this crisis in recent months. What do young people want to give to continue this intergenerational project and to continue writing history? What values have we built Europe on? What can and should a political, social and cultural project look like in the future?

The sentence "Tell Me About Europe" appears in different languages © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Survey
Tell us about YOUR Europe! Take Part in Our Survey and Win a Book Prize!

Tell us about your relationship to Europe, your opinion about Europe, and your hopes for Europe.
Among all participants, we will draw 30 winners.

Have fun with the survey and good luck with the raffle!

I Don't Want to be an Island (Marc Matter, 2020) © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Sound Art: "I Don’t Want To Be An Island"
How Does Europe Sound?

Sound artist Marc Matter explored the diversity of languages and opinions in Europe as part of the project "Tell me about Europe". From a selection of interviews in the European Archive of Voices, he created a sound collage celebrating the diversity and variety of voices and languages.
Listen carefully and immerse yourself in the sound of the voices of Europe!

I Don't Want to be an Island (Marc Matter, 2020)
 

Erzähle mit von Europa - Tschechien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Czech Republic: Prague, 9 September 2020
Vyprávěj Mi O Evropě

The series begins on 9 September at the Goethe-Institut Prague with the Czech-German author and sociologist Alena Wagnerová (born in 1936), who talks about her personal experiences and her view of Europe. The evening is supplemented by the sound collage of Marc Matter and moderated by Zuzana Lizcová.
Watch the recording of the talk on Youtube!

Erzähle mir von Europa - Finnland © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Finland: Oodi, 15 September 2020
Kerro Minulle Euroopasta

On 15 September, different generations will meet in Helsinki in the Oodi City Library to discuss questions  of how we can learn from history and what the future of young people in Europe could look like. The discussion will be moderated by Johanna Vuorelma. 

Erzähle mit von Europa - Kroatien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Croatia: Zagreb, 1 October 2020
Pričaj Mi O Europi

At the Urania Cultural Centre in Zagreb on 1 October, Croatian-born translator Truda Stamać (born in 1942), the linguist Aida Alagić and the journalist Nora Sefa and history professor Tvrtko Jakovina will offer insights into their stories about Europe. The talk will be moderated by Ivana Dragičević.

Erzähle mir von Europa - Bosnien und Herzegowina © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Bosnia & Herzegovina: Sarajevo, 10 October 2020
Pričaj Mi O Evropi

In the format of the "World-Café" method, people of different generations and socio-cultural backgrounds will come together on 10 October in Sarajevo. Together with political scientists, theologists and professionals from the cultural sector they will discuss topics ranging from home and origin, religion and feminism, the EU system, freedom of expression to (trans-)identity.

Erzähle mir von Europa - Norwegen © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Norway: Oslo, 12 October 2020
Fortell Meg Om Europa

In Oslo on the 12 October, moderator Erle Marie Sørheim, author Joanna Rzadkowska, singer Karin Krog and musician John Surman will talk about the question of Norwegian relation to the European continent. They will discuss the meaning of and ambivalent feelings towards Europe as well as the Norwegian attitude in comparison to other countries.

Erzähle mir von Europa - Luxemburg © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Institut Pierre Werner (Luxembourg), 19 October 2020
Ziel Mir Iwwer Europa

On 19 October Sandra Gugić, a German speaking author of Serbian origin, and Meris Sehovic, the co-president of Déi Greng, will be discussion Europe as a “dream word”, as a precarious creation and a historical construct in Luxemburg. Biographical, political and cultural perspectives are interwoven with different views from the East and West.

Erzähle mit von Europa - Albanien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Albania: Goethe-Zentrum Tirana, 22 October 2020
Më Fol Për Europën

On 22 October, artist Mariana Kostandini, political scientist and journalist Nora Sefa, cultural scientist Melanie Henke, the journalist and translator Ben Andoni and the moderator Arian Leka will talk about the life of Maks Velo as well as their personal stories of and perspectives on Europe.

Erzähle mir von Europa - Georgien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Georgia: Tiflis, 13 November 2020
მომიყევიევროპისშესახებ

On 13 November, the discussion in Tbilisi will revolve around the European idea in Georgian literature. The moderator Lascha Bakradse will approach the topic with the writers, Lascha Bugadze and Ana Kordsaia-Samadashvili.

Erzähle mir von Europa - Schweden © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Sweden: Stockholm, 17 November 2020
Berätta För Mig Om Europa

Two panel discussions on the topics “generations” and “identity” will be held on the 17 November in Stockholm. Guests of the evening will be: Rosaline Marbinah, Hanna Rajs Lara, Jörg Nies as well as Inger Enkvist. The talks will be moderated by the journalists Mats Almegård and Harald Hultqvist.
 

Erzähle mir von Europa - Italien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Italy: Rome, 18 November 2020
Raccontami dell'Europa

In Rome on 18 November, women of different generations trace the development of feminism, from the achievements of the 1968 movement to the current role of women in sustainability politics. With the moderator Milvia Spadi, the guests will discuss the concept of Europe and the feeling of European togetherness from a feminist perspective.

Erzähle mit von Europa - Russland © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Russia: Moscow 19 November 2020
Расскажи Мне О Европе

Sergej Buntman, editor at the radio station Echo Moskvy, moderates a discussion with the topic "Dialogue between East and West" with author Ludmila Ulitzkaja on 19 November in Moscow. The audience can pose questions and participate in the discussion.

Erzähle mit von Europa - Frankreich © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

France: Strasbourg, 24 November 2020
Raconte-Moi l’Europe

The multivocality of Europe will play a prominent role in the event on 24 November in Strasbourg. Here, the sound collage of Marc Matter will lead through the discussion about Europe and its borders. The choir, consisting of a representative oft he European Parliament, the authors Kristof Magnusson and Nora Bossong as well as political science students of the University of Strasbourg will be conducted by the journalist Annette Gerlach.

Erzähle mit von Europa - Großbritannien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Great Britain: London, 2 December 2020
Tell Me About Europe

The closing event of the Tell Me About Europe series will be celebrated in London with an online discussion. The panel will be moderated by the journalist Rosie Goldsmith and will invite British and UK-based artists, cultural practitioners, politicians, journalists and authors from different generations to share their very personal stories about Europe and their hopes for its future. The event will be accompanied by a newly commissioned dance performance based on the sound installation I don’t want to be an Island.

Interviews from the "European Archive of Voices"

In conversation with young people, people born before 1945 like former President of Iceland Vigdís Finnbogadóttir, French screenwriter Jean-Claude Carrière and Slovakian philosopher Egon Gál, talk about their lives and experiences of war, oppression and flight in Europe.

Cooperation partner:
Arbeit an Europa is a group of young Europeans who have come together to help shape the future of Europe through dialogue and exchange. The European Archive of Voices is one of a range of projects being developed in cooperation with a network of supporters across Europe. Arbeit an Europa organises regular discussion workshops in different European regions, which aim to explore ideas of European identity, and facilitate discussion with people across Europe.

Curatorial team: Edouard Barthen and Leona Lynen

“Tell me about Europe” is a project by the Goethe-Institut, supported with special funds from the Federal Foreign Office for the the German Presidency of the Council of the European Union 2020.

Hellgrünes Logo des Goethe-Instituts auf weißem Grund Logo EU 2020

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Erzähle mir von Europa - Key-Visual in Beige© Groupe Dejour

Deutschlands Präsidentschaft im Rat der Europäischen Union 2020
Erzähle mir von Europa

Europa ist mehr als ein Kontinent oder eine Idee. Europa setzt sich aus vielen Geschichten zusammen – persönliche Geschichten von Menschen unterschiedlicher Generationen. Das Projekt „Erzähle mir von Europa“ erweckt Erinnerungen bekannter Europäer*innen zum Leben und lädt zum Zuhören und Diskutieren ein. Mit diesem und zahlreichen weiteren Projekten begleitet das Goethe-Institut zusammen mit dem Auswärtigen Amt die deutsche Präsidentschaft im Rat der Europäischen Union von Juli bis Dezember 2020.

Im Rahmen des Projekts „Erzähle mir von Europa“ laden wir zu Veranstaltungen in London und zwölf weiteren europäischen Städten ein, um mit Menschen vor Ort über die Vergangenheit, Gegenwart und Zukunft Europas zu diskutieren. Grundlage der Diskussion sind Interviews mit bekannten Europäer*innen, die im Europäischen Archiv der Stimmen gesammelt wurden. Darin erzählen Zeitzeug*innen, die vor 1945 geboren wurden, jungen Menschen von ihren Lebenswegen. Sie berühren in den Gesprächen Themen wie Kriege und Konflikte, das Gefälle zwischen Stadt und Land, Geschlechter(un)gerechtigkeit, Religionsfreiheit oder die Rückkehr von Nationalismus. Auch die verschiedenen Perspektiven auf Europa aus Ost und West werden deutlich. Eine Klangcollage des Tonkünstlers Marc Matter wird Passagen aus den Gesprächen aufgreifen und für die Besucher*innen auf den Veranstaltungen sinnlich erfahrbar machen.

Die Erzählungen regen dazu an, über die aktuelle Verfasstheit Europas zu reflektieren. Seit einigen Jahrensteckt Europa in einer schweren Krise. Die Folgen der Covid-19 Pandemie haben diese in den letzten Monaten noch verschärft. Welche Impulse möchten junge Menschen geben, um dieses generationsübergreifende Projekt fortzuführen und die Geschichte weiter zu schreiben? Auf welchen Werten haben wir Europa aufgebaut? Was kann und soll das politische, gesellschaftliche und kulturelle Projekt in Zukunft sein?

Erzähle mit von Europa - Tschechien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Tschechien: Prag, 9. September 2020
Vyprávěj Mi O Evropě

In Prag lädt das Goethe-Institut am 9. September zu einem Diskussionsabend mit der Autorin und Soziologin Alena Wagnerová unter dem Titel „Erzähle mir von Europa“ ein. Mit dabei ist auch die Sound-Installation von Marc Matter und vielleicht auch Ihre Geschichte? Durch den Abend führte Zuzana Lizcová.
Sehen Sie die Aufzeichnung des Gesprächs auf Youtube!

Erzähle mir von Europa - Finnland © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Finnland: Oodi, 15. September 2020
Kerro Minulle Euroopasta

Junge, engagierte Bürger*innen diskutieren mit der Autorin Sirpa Kähkönen und dem Fotografen Caj Bremer über die Vergangenheit Europas und wie die junge Generation auf diesem Erbe aufbauend und es verändernd ihre Zukunft gestalten möchte. Moderiert wird die Veranstaltung von Johanna Vuorelma.

Erzähle mit von Europa - Kroatien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Kroatien: Zagreb, 1. Oktober 2020
Pričaj Mi O Europi

Am 1. Oktober erzählen Truda Stamać, Aida Alagić, Nora Sefa und Tvrtko Jakovina im Kulturzentrum Urania in Zagreb in einer Podiumsdiskussion, moderiert von Ivana Dragičević, ihre eigenen Europa-Geschichten. Sie sprechen über Identitätssuche, Europa der Generationen, Migration und Emigration, und wie man Europa leben kann.


 

Erzähle mir von Europa - Bosnien und Herzegowina © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Bosnien & Herzegowina: Sarajevo, 10. Oktober 2020
Pričaj Mi O Evropi

Mit der „World-Café“-Methode kommen in Sarajevo am 10. OktoberJugendliche und Frauen verschiedenen Alters und sozio-kulturellen Hintergrunds zusammen, um mit Experten aus verschiedenen Bereichen wie Politik, Religion und Kultur zu diskutieren. Die Themen reichen von Heimat und Herkunft, Religion und Feminismus, über das E.U.-System, freie Meinungsäußerung und kritisches Denken bis hin zu (Trans-)Identität.

Erzähle mir von Europa - Norwegen © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Norwegen: Oslo, 12.Oktober 2020
Fortell Meg Om Europa

In Oslo stellen sich am 12. Oktober die Moderatorin Erle Marie Sørheim, die Autorin Joanna Rzadkowska, die Sängerin Karin Krog  und der Musiker John Surmanam die Frage nach der norwegischen Beziehung zum Kontinent Europa. Es wird um die Bedeutung Europas, das ambivalente Empfinden gegenüber dem Kontinent sowie den Vergleich der norwegischen Einstellung mit der anderer Länder gehen.

Erzähle mir von Europa - Luxemburg © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Institut Pierre Werner (Luxemburg), 19. Oktober 2020
Ziel Mir Iwwer Europa

Sandra Gugić, eine deutschsprachige Schriftstellerin mit serbischen Wurzeln, und Meris Sehovic, Kopräsident von Déi Greng, werden am 19. Oktober in Luxemburg über Europa als Traumwort, als prekäres Gebilde und historische Konstruktion diskutieren. Biografische, politische und kulturelle Perspektiven überschneiden sich dabei und lassen auch den unterschiedlichen Blick aus Ost und West zur Sprache kommen. 

Erzähle mit von Europa - Albanien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Albanien: Goethe-Zentrum Tirana, 22. Oktober 2020
Më Fol Për Europën

Am 22. Oktober werden die Künstlerin Mariana Kostandini, die Politikwissenschaftlerin und Journalistin Nora Sefa, die Kulturwissenchaftlerin Melanie Henke, der Journalist und Übersetzer Ben Andoni mit dem Moderator Arian Leka in Tirana über Leben und Wirkung von Maks Velo, über ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen und ihre Perspektive auf Europa diskutieren.

Erzähle mir von Europa - Georgien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Georgien: Tiflis, 13. November 2020
მომიყევიევროპისშესახებ

Am 13. November wird es sich bei der Diskussion in Tiflis um den europäischen Gedanken in georgischer Literatur drehen. Der Moderator Lascha Bakradse wird sich mit den Schriftsteller*innen, Lascha Bugadse und Ana Kordsaia-Samadaschwili, dem Thema annähern.

Erzähle mir von Europa - Schweden © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Schweden: Stockholm, 17. November 2020
Berätta För Mig Om Europa

Am 17. November werden im Europa-Haus in Stockholm zwei Podiumsdiskussionen sattfinden, die sich mit den Themen „Generationen“ und „Identität“ beschäftigen. Gäste der Veranstaltung sind: Rosaline Marbinah, Hanna Rajs Lara, Jörg Nies sowie Inger Enkvist. Mats Almegård und Harald Hultqvist führen durch die Diskussionen.

Erzähle mir von Europa - Italien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Italien: Rom, 18. November 2020
Raccontami dell'Europa

Frauen unterschiedlicher Generationen verfolgen am 18. November in Rom die Entwicklung des Feminismus zurück, von den Errungenschaften infolge der 68er-Bewegung bis hin zur aktuellen Rolle der Frauen in der Nachhaltigkeitspolitik. Mit der Moderatorin Milvia Spadi diskutieren die Gäste aus einer feministischen Perspektive heraus über den Begriff Europas und das Gefühl einer europäischen Zusammengehörigkeit.

Erzähle mit von Europa - Russland © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Russland: Moskau, 19. November 2020
Расскажи Мне О Европе

Über den Radiosender Echo Moskvy wird am 19. November aus Moskau eine Diskussion zum Thema „Dialog zwischen Ost und West“ mit der Schriftstellerin Lidmila Ulitzkaja und dem Chefredakteur des Radiosenders, Sergej Buntman, gesendet. Die registrierten Zuhörer*innen können die Diskussion durch Fragen ergänzen.

Erzähle mit von Europa - Frankreich © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Frankreich: Straßburg, 24. November 2020
Raconte-Moi l’Europe

Die Vielstimmigkeit Europas wird am 24. November in Straßburg eine besondere Rolle einnehmen. Hier wird die Klangcollage des Künstlers Marc Matter den Ton angeben für eine Diskussion über Europa und seine Grenzen. Die Journalistin Annette Gerlach dirigiert den Chor, bestehend aus einer Vertreterin des Europäischen Parlaments, den Autoren Kristof Magnusson und Nora Bossong sowie Politikwissenschaftsstudent*innen der Universität Straßburg.

Erzähle mit von Europa - Großbritannien © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Großbritannien: London, 2. Dezember 2020
Tell Me About Europe

Die Abschlussveranstaltung der Reihe Erzähle mir von Europa findet am 02. Dezember in London in Form einer Online-Diskussion statt. Das Panel wird von der Journalistin Rosie Goldsmith moderiert und lädt britische und in Großbritannien lebende Künstler*innen, Kulturschaffende, Politiker*innen, Journalist*innen und Autor*innen verschiedener Generationen ein, ihre ganz persönlichen Geschichten über Europa und ihre Hoffnungen für seine Zukunft zu teilen. Die Veranstaltung wird von einer neu in Auftrag gegebenen Tanzperformance begleitet, die mit der Klanginstallation I don’t want tob e an island arbeitet.

I Don't Want to be an Island (Marc Matter, 2020) © Goethe-Institut | Design: Groupe Dejour

Klangcollage: „I Don’t Want To Be An Island“
Wie klingt Europa?

Der Tonkünstler Marc Matter hat sich im Rahmen des Projekts „Erzähle mir von Europa“ mit der Vielfalt der Sprachen und Meinungen in Europa befasst. Aus einer Auswahl von Interviews aus dem Europäischen Archiv der Stimmen ist eine Klangcollage entstanden, welche die Vielzahl und Vielfältigkeit von Stimmen und Sprachen präsentiert.
Hören Sie genau hin und tauchen Sie ein in den Klang der Stimmen Europas!

I Don't Want to be an Island (Marc Matter, 2020)
 

Interviews aus dem „Europäischen Archiv der Stimmen“

Im Gespräch mit jungen Menschen erzählen vor 1945 geborene Menschen wie die ehemalige Präsidentin Islands Vigdís Finnbogadóttir, der französische Drehbuchautor Jean-Claude Carrière oder der slowakische Philosoph Egon Gál von ihren Lebenswegen und Erfahrungen von Krieg, Unterdrückung und Flucht in Europa.

Kooperationspartner:
Arbeit an Europa ist eine Gruppe von jungen engagierten Europäer*innen, die sich zusammengeschlossen hat, um die Zukunft Europas mitzugestalten. Das Europäische Archiv der Stimmen ist ein zentrales Projekt der Gruppe und wird in Zusammenarbeit mit Unterstützer*innen in ganz Europa realisiert. Die Gruppe kommt außerdem mehrmals im Jahr in verschiedenen europäischen Regionen abseits der Metropolen zusammen, um zentrale Ideen des europäischen Selbstverständnisses zu diskutieren und sich mit jungen Menschen vor Ort  auszutauschen.

Kuratorisches Team: Edouard Barthen und Leona Lynen

„Erzähle mir von Europa“ ist ein Projekt des Goethe-Instituts, gefördert mit Sondermitteln des Auswärtigen Amts zur deutschen Präsidentschaft im Rat der Europäischen Union 2020.
Hellgrünes Logo des Goethe-Instituts auf weißem Grund
Logo EU 2020

Top