Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Goethe@LUX Residency
Anahita Razmi

Travels with a Paykan. Photo: The Paykan Project, Anahita Razmi © Courtesy of the artist and Carbon12 Gallery

Goethe@LUX Residency Artist 2018

The Goethe@LUX Residency artist 2018 was Anahita Razmi. The Berlin-based artist works mainly with video, installation, new media and performance to deal with cultural transfers and translocations.

Anahita Razmi examines processes of cultural appropriation in which the meanings of existing images, artefacts and thus identities are altered by situating them in another temporal context. In doing so, she often reflects strategies of disarrangement and structures of perception expressed by the mass media of consumer and pop culture against the background of different communities between the West and the Middle East. The Islamic Republic of Iran, with its current political and social conditions and relations, remains an open, ambivalent point of reference.
 
In 2017, Razmi received a BS Projects scholarship at Braunschweig University of Art, Germany. Other residencies and awards include the Werkstattpreis of the Erich Hauser Foundation (2015), the MAK-Schindler Artists and Architects-in-Residence Program, Los Angeles (2013) and the The Emdash Award, Frieze Foundation (2011).
 
During the residency Razmi worked on a project entitled THE FUTURE STATE which considers the future state of The Islamic Republic of Iran, as seen from the perspective of a diverse range of diasporic political communities. The project had been developed with reference to the work of Iranian Marxist Mansoor Hekmat who is buried in close proximity to Karl Marx in Highgate Cemetery. Hekmat was a theorist, revolutionary and leader of the Iranian worker-communist movement, active in Iran until 1981 and outside the country, in Kurdistan and the UK, afterwards until his death in 2002.
The residency was organised in the context of the bicentenary of Karl Marx’s birth, who is buried close to LUX in Highgate Cemetry.

More information:

Interview with Anahita Razmi.
In this video, the artist speaks about her residency in London:
 
A collaboration between LUX and the Goethe-Institut London.
 

LUX Homepage
 
Back to Goethe@LUX Residency Back to Residency - Home
 

 
 

 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Goethe@LUX-Residenz
Anahita Razmi

Travels with a Paykan. Foto: The Paykan Project, Anahita Razmi. © Courtesy of the artist and Carbon12 Gallery © Courtesy of the artist and Carbon12 Gallery

Goethe@LUX-Residenzkünstlerin 2018

Goethe@LUX-Residenzkünstlerin 2018 war die in Berlin lebende Video-Künstlerin Anahita Razmi. Razmi arbeitet hauptsächlich mit Video, Installationen, neuen Medien und Performance und beschäftigt sich mit kulturellen Transfers und Translokationen.

Anahita Razmi untersucht Prozesse der kulturellen Aneignung, in welchen die Bedeutungen bestehender Bilder, Artefakte und somit Identitäten verändert werden, indem sie in einen anderen zeitlichen Kontext gestellt werden. Oftmals reflektiert Razmi Verwirrungsstrategien und Wahrnehmungsstrukturen der Massenmedien der Konsum- und Popkultur im Spannungsverhältnis zwischen Gemeinschaften zwischen Westen und Nahem Osten. Die Islamische Republik Iran mit ihren aktuellen politischen und sozialen Bedingungen und Beziehungen bleibt ein offener sowie ambivalenter Bezugspunkt.
 
Im Jahr 2017 erhielt Razmi das BS Projects-Stipendium der Hochschule für Bildende Künste Braunschweig. Weitere Residenzen und Auszeichnungen umfassen den Werkstattpreis der Kunststiftung Erich Hauser (2015), die Teilnahme am MAK-Schindler Artists and Architects-in-Residence Program, Los Angeles (2013) sowie der The Emdash Award der Frieze Foundation (2011).
 
Während der Goethe@LUX-Residenz arbeitete Razmi an dem Projekt THE FUTURE STATE. Dieses betrachtet die mögliche Zunkuft der Islamischen Republik Iran aus der Perspektive verschiedener diasporischer politischer Gemeinschaften. Das Projekt wurde mit Bezug auf das Werk des iranischen Marxisten Mansoor Hekmat entwickelt, der in der Nähe von Karl Marx auf dem Highgate Cemetery begraben ist. Hekmat war ein Theoretiker, Revolutionär und Anführer der iranischen arbeiterkommunistischen Bewegung. Bis 1981 war er im Iran aktiv, danach war er bis zu seinem Tod im Jahr 2002 in Kurdistan und Großbritannien tätig. Den Rahmen der diesjährigen Residenz bildet der zweihundertste Geburtstag von Karl Marx, begraben auf dem in der Nähe von LUX gelegenen Highgate Cemetery.

Anahita Razmi über ihre Arbeit:

Interview mit Anahita Razmi.
Eine Zusammenarbeit zwischen LUX und dem Goethe-Institut London.

LUX Homepage

Zurück zu "Goethe@LUX" Zurück zur Residenzseite - Home




 

Top