Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Goethe at LUX-Residency
Liz Rosenfeld

Liz Rosenfeld | Photo: Christa Holka © Liz Rosenfeld | Photo: Christa Holka

Liz Rosenfeld

The artist Liz Rosenfeld deals with queer perspectives on history. As the London artist-in-residence, she worked on a short film dealing with the changing queer and ecological history of the London park Hampstead Heath.
 

Liz Rosenfeld was the first artist in residence for the 2017 established Goethe at LUX Residency, which is organised in collaboration between the Goethe-Institut and LUX, the archive for moving image in London. Liz Rosenfeld is a Berlin based artist utilising disciplines of film, video and live performance to convey a sense of past and future histories. In her work, Rosenfeld is invested in concepts of how history can be queered and experienced through the moment and the ways in which it is lived and remembered. She explores how we identify ourselves with in/out community and social poly-relationship configurations.
 
At the moving image agency LUX, she mainly conducted extensive research regarding the changing queer and ecological history of the London park Hampstead Heath for her new short film FUCK TREE. FUCK TREE is a film made as a companion piece to Luther Price's work, SODOM (1989) from the LUX film archive. During the residency, a series of events with Liz took place in London and Glasgow. Hear more about her artistic practice, her time in London and how she feels about the German capital in the video interview:
 



Find more videos by Liz Rosenfeld on her Vimeo channel. Read here about her jewish roots in Germany and how this influenced her decision to move to Berlin
 
 

 
  • Frida & Anita- Christa Holka © Christa Holka
    In London, Liz Rosenfeld presented her experimental film trilogy „The Surface Tension Trilogy“, which tracks the intervowen stories of famous women and artists in the city of Berlin during the Weimar era.
  • Andre Photo for Performance_copyright Liz Rosenfeld © Liz Rosenfeld
    Open-Air performance: „A Chaotic Assemblage of Understanding(s)“ was a performative reading of her first feature film treatment „FOXES“, a queer feminist speculative fiction piece.
  • SODOM002 – Luther Price, SODOM, 1989 ©Courtesy of the artist and LUX
    „Queer Ecologies“: In Glasgow, the artist presented selected films of the LUX Collection, which spoke to and inspired her research themes.
  • 20110824_Marit_0060_LR © Alexa Vachon
    In London, Cinenova and Liz Rosenfeld co-presented Marit Östberg’s Film „When We Are Together We Can Be Everywhere“, a feature porn documentary.
  • Liz Rosenfeld Foxes Mood Board 2 © Liz Rosenfeld
    To introduce the online presentation of „Proliferatons – Part I“, it was shown in a launch event – alongside a selection of the artist’s works and films from LUX’s archive. Topic: The limitations of the human condition.
  • Fuck Tree Event_IMG_4731 (1) © Liz Rosenfeld (2017)
    In the culminating event of her residency, Liz Rosenfeld showed her newly created film work „Fuck Tree“, which deals with queer public spaces in London. She presented it as a companion piece to Luther Price’s film „Sodom“ (1989).
A collaboration between LUX and the Goethe-Institut London.


 

Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Goethe at LUX-Residenz
Liz Rosenfeld

Liz Rosenfeld | Photo: Christa Holka © Liz Rosenfeld | Photo: Christa Holka

Goethe at LUX Residenzkünstlerin 2017

Die Künstlerin Liz Rosenfeld beschäftigt sich mit queeren Sichtweisen auf Geschichte. Als Stipendiatin der Goethe at LUX Residency arbeitete sie an einem Kurzfilm zur queeren und ökologischen Geschichte des Londoner Parks Hampstead Heath.

Liz Rosenfeld war die erste Künstlerin der 2017 begründeten Goethe at LUX Residenz, die das Goethe-Institut und LUX, dem Archiv für Bewegtbild, gemeinsam ausrichten. Sie lebt in Berlin und nutzt Film, Video und Live-Performances, um ein Gefühl für vergangene und zukünftige Interpretationen von Geschichte zu vermitteln. In ihren Arbeiten fragt Rosenfeld, wie Geschichte von einem queeren Standpunkt verstanden und im Moment erfahren werden kann, in welcher Weise sie gelebt und erinnert wird. Sie untersucht, wie wir unsere Identität inner- und außerhalb unserer Community und in anderen sozialen Beziehungen definieren.

Bei LUX recherchierte Rosenfeld für ihren Kurzfilm „FUCK TREE“ intensiv zur queeren und ökologischen Geschichte des Londoner Parks Hampstead Heath. Sie konzipierte „FUCK TREE“ als Begleitfilm zu Luther Prices Werk „SODOM“ (1989) aus dem LUX-Archiv. Während ihrer Residenz gab es eine Reihe von Veranstaltungen mit der Künstlerin in London und Glasgow. Mehr zu Liz Rosenfelds künstlerischem Werk, ihrer Zeit in London und was sie über die deutsche Hauptstadt denkt, hören Sie im Video-Interview: 

 
Weitere Videos von Liz Rosenfeld finden Sie auf ihrem Vimeo-Profil. Darüber hinaus schreibt sie hier über ihre jüdischen Wurzeln in Deutschland und darüber, wie das zu ihrer Entscheidung beitrug, nach Berlin zu ziehen.
  • Frida & Anita- Christa Holka © Christa Holka
    Liz Rosenfeld präsentierte in London ihre experimentelle Filmtrilogie „The Surface Tension Trilogy“, die von ineinander verwobenen Leben berühmter Frauen und Künstlerinnen im Berlin der Weimarer Zeit erzählt.
  • Andre Photo for Performance_copyright Liz Rosenfeld © Liz Rosenfeld
    Performance im Freien: „A Chaotic Assemblage of Understanding(s)“ war eine performative Lesung ihres ersten Spielfilms „FOXES“, eine queer-feministische Fiktion.
  • SODOM002 – Luther Price, SODOM, 1989 ©Courtesy of the artist and LUX
    „Queer Ecologies“: In Glasgow stellte die Künstlerin ausgewählte Filme der Sammlung von LUX vor, die sich mit ihren Forschungsthemen befassten und diese weiter inspirierten.
  • 20110824_Marit_0060_LR © Alexa Vachon
    In Zusammenarbeit mit Cinenova präsentierte sie in London Marit Östbergs Film „When We Are Together We Can Be Everywhere“, eine spielfilmartige Pornodokumentation.
  • Liz Rosenfeld Foxes Mood Board 2 © Liz Rosenfeld
    Zum Auftakt der Online-Präsentation von „Proliferations – Part I“ wurde der Film im Rahmen eines Launch-Events zusammen mit weiteren Arbeiten der Künstlerin und der Sammlung von LUX gezeigt. Thema: Die Begrenzungen des menschlichen Daseins.
  • Fuck Tree Event_IMG_4731 (1) © Liz Rosenfeld (2017)
    Zum Abschluss ihrer Residenz präsentierte Liz Rosenfeld den im Laufe ihres Aufenthaltes entstandenen Film „Fuck Tree“, den sie als Begleitstück zu Luther Prices Film „Sodom“ (1989) konzipierte und der von queeren öffentlichen Räumen in London handelt.
Residenzzeitraum: Mai – Juli 2017
Eine Zusammenarbeit von LUX und dem Goethe-Institut London.

LUX


Zurück zu "Goethe@LUX" Zurück zur Residenzseite - Home

 

Top