Julian Evans

Julian Evans © Jack Evans Julian Evans is a writer and translator from French and German. His books include Transit of Venus: Travels in the Pacific and a biography of Norman Lewis. He is the translator of Norbert Gstrein’s A Sense of the Beginning and co-translator of his Winters in the South. Among his translations from French are Yasmina Khadra’s The Dictator’s Last Night and Michel Déon’s The Foundling Boy, The Foundling’s War, and The Great and the Good.

He has written and presented radio and TV documentaries, including the BBC’s 20-part series on the rise of the European novel, The Romantic Road, and the film José Saramago: A Life of Resistance. He has also reported from central Europe and has covered the current conflict in Ukraine from the frontline. He is a recipient of the Académie Française Prize for the Advancement of French Literature.

 

Questions to Julian Evans

Why did you choose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

Alexander Pushkin called translators ‘the post horses of literature’. I was lucky enough to be able to read German (and French) writers in the original and I liked the idea of delivering their worlds across borders into mine. It’s an activity that has evolved for me, the result of that first enthusiasm.
Which German book do you like the best and why?

Of the many German writers whose greatness I’d champion, I’m drawn repeatedly to the stories of Heinrich von Kleist. There are paragraphs of his I can read again and again and still not work out exactly how he does it.

Selection of translated titles

  • Norbert Gstrein, A Sense of the Beginning (Eine Ahnung vom Anfang). MacLehose Press 2016.
  • Norbert Gstrein, Winters in the South (Die Winter im Süden). MacLehose Press, 2012 (mit Anthea Bell).

Julian Evans

Julian Evans © Jack Evans Julian Evans ist Autor und Übersetzer aus dem Französischen und Englischen. Als Buch sind von ihm Transit of Venus: Travels in the Pacific und eine Biografie von Norman Lewis erschienen. Er ist der Übersetzer von A Sense of the Beginning und Co-Übersetzer von Winters in the South, jeweils von Norbert Gstrein. Aus dem Französischen übersetzte er unter anderem The Dictator’s Last Night von Yasmina Khadra sowie The Foundling Boy, The Foundling’s War und The Great and the Good von Michel Déon.

Er hat verschiedene Radio- und TV-Dokumentationen geschrieben und moderiert, darunter die 20-teilige Serie der BBC zur Entstehung des europäischen Romans, The Romantic Road und den Film José Saramago: A Life of Resistance. Darüber hinaus berichtete er aus Zentraleuropa sowie von der Frontlinie des gegenwärtigen Konflikts in der Ukraine. Er ist Träger des Preises der Académie Française für die Förderung der französischen Literatur.
 

Fragen an Julian Evans

War Übersetzer Ihr Traumberuf? Warum sind Sie Übersetzer geworden?

Alexander Pushkin nannte Übersetzer die ‘Post-Pferde der Literatur’. Glücklicherweise konnte ich deutsche (und französische) Autoren im Original lesen und ich mochte die Idee, ihre Welten über Grenzen hinweg in meine zu bringen. Die Tätigkeit hat sich für mich, als Ergebnis dieses ersten Enthusiasmus, entwickelt.
Welches ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch und warum?

Von den vielen deutschen Autoren die ich bewundere ist Heinrich von Kleist der, zu dessen Geschichten ich mich immer wieder hingezogen fühle. Es gibt bei ihm Absätze, die ich wieder und wieder lesen kann und trotzdem nicht genau darauf komme, wie er es macht.

Auswahl an übersetzten Titeln

  • Norbert Gstrein, A Sense of the Beginning (Eine Ahnung vom Anfang). MacLehose Press 2016.
  • Norbert Gstrein, Winters in the South (Die Winter im Süden). MacLehose Press, 2012 (mit Anthea Bell).