Sarah Pybus

Sarah Pybus © Sarah Pybus Sarah Pybus holds a BA (Hons) in English Literature and German and an MA in Translation Studies, both from the University of Sheffield. She began working as an in-house translator in 2007 and went freelance in 2012, when she also began to pursue her interest in literary translation.

She took part in the 2013 Emerging Translators’ Programme at New Books in German, and in 2015 she was awarded 1st prize in the Non-fiction Translation Competition organised by the German Book Office New York/Geisteswissenschaften International.



 

Three questions to Sarah Pybus

Why did you choose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

I began my degree with no idea of what I wanted to do with my life, until we started translating as part of the course. I continued on to a Master’s in Translation Studies and from there moved directly into the translation industry – first as a project administrator, then as an in-house commercial translator, and now as a freelance translator of both commercial and literary texts. Now I can’t imagine myself doing anything else.
Which German book do you like the best and why?

I’m not sure I can pick one, but I am a fan of Juli Zeh.
Is there a particular book you would like to translate?

I’d love to translate travel literature and crime fiction. And the short stories of Doris Dörrie.

Selection of translated titles

  • Monika Dommann: Authors and Apparatus. Cornell University Press, 2019.
     
  • Wolfgang Bauer: Crossing the Sea: With Syrians on the Exodus to Europe.  And Other Stories, 2016

Sarah Pybus

Sarah Pybus © Sarah Pybus Sarah Pybus hat einen Bachelor in Englischer Literatur und Germanistik und einen Master in Übersetzungswissenschaften, beide von der University of Sheffield. Sie begann 2007 als betriebsinterne Übersetzerin zu arbeiten und machte sich 2012 selbstständig, wobei sie auch begann, ihrem Interesse für Literaturübersetzung nachzugehen. 

2013 nahm sie am Emerging Translators Programm von New Books in German teil, und 2015 wurde sie mit dem ersten Preis der Non-fiction Translation Competition ausgezeichnet, die vom German Book Office New York/Geisteswissenschaften International veranstaltet wurde.


 

Drei Fragen an Sarah Pybus

War Übersetzerin Ihr Traumberuf? Warum sind Sie Übersetzerin geworden?

Ich begann mein Studium ohne eine Idee davon, was ich mit meinem Leben anfangen sollte, bis wir als Teil des Kurses zu übersetzen anfingen. Ich habe mit einem Master in Übersetzungswissenschaften weitergemacht und bin von dort direkt in die Übersetzungsindustrie gegangen – zunächst als Projektverwalterin, dann als firmeninterne gewerbliche Übersetzerin und jetzt als selbstständige Übersetzerin sowohl von geschäftlichen als auch literarischen Texten. Mittlerweile kann ich mir nicht mehr vorstellen, etwas anderes zu machen.   
Welches ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch und warum?

Ich bin nicht sicher, ob ich eines auswählen kann, aber ich bin ein Fan von Juli Zeh.
Gibt es ein Buch, das Sie unbedingt übersetzen wollen?

Ich würde sehr gerne Reiseliteratur und Krimis übersetzen. Und die Kurzgeschichten von Doris Dörrie.

 

Auswahl an übersetzten Titeln

  • Monika Dommann: Authors and Apparatus. Cornell University Press, 2019.
     
  • Wolfgang Bauer: Crossing the Sea: With Syrians on the Exodus to Europe.  And Other Stories, 2016