Arabella Spencer

Arabella Spencer © Arabella Spencer Arabella Spencer studied German and Philosophy at King’s College London and Literary Translation at the University of East Anglia, and also holds a degree in Politics, Philosophy and History from Birkbeck, University of London.

She has worked in the fashion industry, in banking, and as a freelance translator. She has lived in Munich, Seville and currently lives in London. ‘Who is Martha’ by Marjana Gaponenko (New Vessel Press) published in 2014 is her first published translation of a novel.




 

Three questions to Arabella Spencer

Why did you choose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

I have always loved books. When I lived in Munich and worked in the fashion industry I used to frequent Hugendubel during my lunchbreaks and increasingly found that I was struggling to tear myself away from all the wonderful works and editions of German literature that the bookshop had to offer and go back to my day job. I rarely managed to leave the bookshop without a purchase and would spend many hours reading at night and slowly my bookshelves began to fill. It was discovering Thomas Bernhard’s works that made me want to translate. I decided to study German and literary translation with the express hope that I would one day get to translate a novel.
Which German book do you like the best and why?

It’s actually quite impossible to say which German book I like the best, so I am going to choose three. Auslöschung by Thomas Bernhard, because when I first read it in my early twenties, it made a big impression on me. I was captured by its exploration of human nature, identity, and the way Murnau the main protagonist makes sense of the world. I found the novel both provocative and thought provoking. Die Schlafwandler by Herman Broch is also one of my favourites, with its fusion of literature, philosophy and politics. And, Als wir träumten by Clemens Meyer for the natural ease with which the words seems to flow from his pen.
Is there a particular book you would like to translate?

Something by Thomas Bernhard one day. A play. A work of philosophy. I also loved working on Who is Martha? because of Marjana’s wonderful imagination, humour and evident love of the German language, so I would very much like to translate her next novel.

Selection of translated titles

  • Gaponenko, Marjana: Who is Martha? (Wer ist Martha?). New Vessel Press, 2014.

Arabellla Spencer

Arabella Spencer © Arabella Spencer Arabella Spencer hat Deutsch und Philosophie am King‘s College in London und Literaturübersetzung an der University of East Anglia studiert.

Außerdem hat sie einen Abschluss am Birckbeck, University of London in Politik, Philosophie und Geschichte gemacht. Arabella Spencer hat in der Modeindustrie, im Bankensektor und als freie Übersetzerin gearbeitet und in München und Sevilla gelebt und wohnt momentan in London. Who is Martha? von Marjana Gaponenko (New Vessel Press) aus dem Jahr 2014 ist ihre erste veröffentlichte Romanübersetzung.



 

Drei Fragen an Arabella Spencer

Wie sind Sie dazu gekommen, als Übersetzerin zu arbeiten?

Ich habe Bücher immer geliebt. Als ich in München gewohnt und in der Modeindustrie tätig war, bin ich in meiner Mittagspause häufig zu Hugendubel gegangen und fand es jedes Mal schwieriger, mich von dem wunderbaren Angebot an deutscher Literatur loszureißen und an meine Arbeit zurückzukehren. Selten verließ ich die Buchhandlung ohne ein Buch in der Hand. Nachts habe ich Stunden damit verbracht zu lesen und so langsam füllten sich meine Bücherregale. Die Entdeckung von Thomas Bernhardts Werken waren dann schließlich der Auslöser Literatur übersetzen zu wollen. Ich habe mich dann dazu entschlossen, Deutsch und Literaturübersetzung zu studieren und zwar mit der ausdrücklichen Hoffnung, dass ich eines Tages einen Roman übersetzen würde können.
Welches ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch?

Es ist tatsächlich fast unmöglich zu sagen, welches deutsche Buch ich am liebsten mag. Deshalb wähle ich drei: Auslöschung von Thomas Bernhard, weil es, als ich es Anfang Zwanzig zum ersten Mal gelesen habe, einen großen Eindruck auf mich gemacht hat. Ich war gefesselt von der Erforschung der menschlichen Natur und Identität und von der Art und Weise, wie Murnau, der Hauptprotagonist, sich den Sinn der Welt erschließt. Ich empfand den Roman als provokativ, gleichzeitig hat er aber auch Denkanstöße gegeben. Die Schlafwandler von Herman Broch, der diese Verbindung von Literatur, Philosophie und Politik schafft, ist ebenfalls eines meiner Lieblingsbücher. Und Als wir träumten von Clemens Meyer wegen seiner natürlichen Leichtigkeit mit der die Worte aus seinem Stift zu fließen scheinen.
Gibt es ein Buch, das Sie unbedingt übersetzen wollen?

Irgendwann mal etwas von Thomas Bernhard. Ein Theaterstück. Ein philosophisches Werk. Ich habe auch die Arbeit an Who is Martha? sehr gemocht, wegen Marjanas wunderbarem Einfallsreichtum, Humor und offensichtlicher Liebe zur deutschen Sprache, weswegen ich sehr gerne auch ihren nächsten Roman übersetzten würde.

Auswahl an übersetzten Titeln

  • Gaponenko, Marjana: Who is Martha? (Wer ist Martha?). New Vessel Press, 2014.