Stefan Tobler

Stefan Tobler © Stefan Tobler Stefan Tobler was born in the Amazon to an English mother and Swiss father. As well as being the publisher at And Other Stories, he is a literary translator from Portuguese and German, including of much German poetry.

Among his recent translations are Arno Geiger's The Old King in His Exile (2017), Clarice Lispector’s Água Viva (shortlisted for the 2015 Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize) and Raduan Nassar’s A Cup of Rage (longlisted for the 2016 Man Booker International Prize).
He is also on Twitter sometimes: @stefantobler



 

Three questions to Stefan Tobler

Why did you choose to become a translator? Is it the profession you always wanted?

I'd dabbled with a few translations during my BA studies and the time after that. But I really started to take translation seriously when I moved to Dresden for three years in my mid-twenties. I was picking up a lot of contemporary German fiction and poetry books in my (miraculously good) local bookshop, Lesezeichen, and felt a need to read the German poets in English.
Which German book do you like the best and why?

Ones I've read (including by Berthold Brecht, Goethe, ETA Hoffmann, Erich Kästner, Alexander Kluge, Peter Kurzeck, Thomas Mann, Herta Müller, Helga M. Novak, Rilke, Volker Sielaff and Christa Wolf) and the ones I've still to read.
Is there a particular book you would like to translate?

Oktober und wer wir selbst sind by Peter Kurzeck is one of many.

Stefan Tobler

Stefan Tobler © Stefan Tobler Stefan Tobler wurde im Amazonas als Sohn einer englischen Mutter und eines schweizer Vaters geboren. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Verleger von And Other Stories ist er Literaturübersetzer aus dem Portugiesischen und dem Deutschen, einschließlich viel deutscher Lyrik.

Unter seinen neuesten Übersetzungen sind Arno Geigers The Old King in His Exile (2017), Clarice Lispectors Água Viva (nominiert für den Oxford-Weidenfeld Translation Prize 2015) und Raduan Nassars A Cup of Rage (gelistet für den Man Booker International Prize 2016).
Außerdem ist er manchmal auf Twitter: @stefantobler


 

Drei Fragen an Stefan Tobler

War Übersetzer Ihr Traumberuf? Warum sind Sie Übersetzer geworden?

Während meines Bachelor-Studiums und in der Zeit danach habe ich ein paar Übersetzungen gemacht. Richtig ernst genommen habe ich Übersetzung, als ich in meinen Mittzwanzigern für drei Jahre nach Dresden zog. Ich habe mir einiges an zeitgenössischer Belletristik und Gedichtbänden in meinem (wunderbar guten) lokalen Buchladen, Lesezeichen, angeschafft und spürte ein Bedürfnis danach, die deutschen Dichter auf Englisch zu lesen.   
Welches ist Ihr deutsches Lieblingsbuch und warum?

Die, die ich gelesen habe (unter anderem von Berthold Brecht, Goethe, ETA Hoffmann, Erich Kästner, Alexander Kluge, Peter Kurzeck, Thomas Mann, Herta Müller, Helga M. Novak, Rilke, Volker Sielaff and Christa Wolf) und die, die ich noch lesen muss.
Gibt es ein Buch, das Sie unbedingt übersetzen wollen?

Oktober und wer wir selbst sind von Peter Kurzeck ist eines von vielen.