Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Talking Culture

Podcast of the Goethe-Institut London

Ranging from topics such as Europe, populism, sustainability or feminism, our podcast Talking Culture reflects on worldwide perspectives on contemporary discourse in culture and society. Exclusive interviews with renowned intellectuals, cultural practitioners and artists provide a fascinating insight into their work and research. You can listen to the episodes on iTunes, Spotify or on your preferred podcast platform.

All episodes are available in English.

 


Latest episodes

Talking Culture #5: "Why artists work with blockchain technologies"

Talking Culture #5 with Ben Vickers, Ruth Catlow, Dzina Zhuk, Nicolay Spesivtsev, Calum Bowden, Laura Lotti Photos: private; Skye Bougsty-Marshall (Laura Lotti) Now, as the world is facing a new economic crisis, how could the arts and civil society benefit from blockchain technologies? Hear from artists, curators, technologists and researchers who are using blockchain to revolutionise their way of working. This episode features Ruth Catlow, artistic director of Furtherfield, Ben Vickers, CTO at the Serpentine Galleries, and artist collectives from Berlin to Moscow who are part of the DAOWO Global Initiative.

Audio wird geladen

Ben Vickers is a curator, writer, publisher, technologist and luddite. He is CTO at the Serpentine Galleries in London, co-founder of Ignota Books and an initiator of the open-source monastic order unMonastery.  
Ruth Ctalow is an artist, curator and researcher of emancipatory network cultures, practices and poetics. Artistic director of Furtherfield, a not-for-profit international community hub for arts, technology and social change founded with Marc Garrett in London, in 1996. Co-editor of Artists Re:Thinking the Blockchain (2017); curator of the touring exhibition New World Order (2017-18); runs the award winning DAOWO arts and blockchain lab series with Ben Vickers, in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut; principal investigator for the blockchain research lab at Serpentine Galleries. Director of DECAL Decentralised Arts Lab, a Furtherfield initiative which exists to mobilise research and development by leading artists, using blockchain and web 3.0 technologies for fairer, more dynamic and connected cultural ecologies and economies. 
Dzina Zhuk is an artist and tech-politics researcher based in Moscow and Minsk. She is part of the group eeefff and Flying Cooperation. She co-organizes the annual event WORK HARD! PLAY HARD! in Minsk. Her alter-ego bitchcoin works with voice, audio, future beats and sci-fi synth. Her major interests include jeopardized interfaces; emotional effects of algorithms; non-anthropocentric view towards machine intelligence; and imaginary scenarios of the present day.
Nicolay Spesivtsev is an artist and researcher based in Moscow and Minsk. With a technical background as a computer scientist, Spesivtsev combines a critical approach to computer science that is interwoven with computational economies and queer futurism. He works with imaginations born from overlapping technological, economical, and political landscapes in present day culture. His interests include solidarity born from affective labor, critical approaches to emancipation of joy from assemblages of bodies of living subjects (human and non-human), and systems based on computation, digital decolonialism in Eastern Europe, among many others. He is part of the group eeefff and Flying Cooperation. He co-organizes the annual event WORK HARD! PLAY HARD! in Minsk.
Calum Bowden creates stories, worlds, and platforms that reimagine relations between organisms and algorithms, humans and nonhumans, the Earth and the cosmos. He co-founded Trust and Black Swan. Calum took part in the post-graduate program at the Strelka Institute, Moscow. He has an MA in Design Interactions from the Royal College of Art and a BSc in Anthropology from University College London.
Laura Lotti is a researcher investigating the relations between technological, economic and cultural systems. She is a research partner at Other Internet, where she collaboratively explores headless dynamics in networked cultures. She co-founded Black Swan and is a member of Trust.

Talking Culture #4: "Why young people need to preserve Europe"

Alice Boyd, Simon Strauß Photos: Kanahaya Alam; Martin Walz Europe consists of many different stories – personal stories of different generations. In this episode, we are speaking to two young European intellectuals: British composer & theatre maker Alice Boyd and German historian & journalist Simon Strauß. What role does Europe play in your lives? What are you most afraid of post-Brexit? One of their works is integral to the project Tell Me About Europe taking place during the German EU Council Presidency 2020.

Audio wird geladen

Alice Boyd is a London and Bristol based composer, theatre maker and environmental campaigner. Her work uses the voice, everyday sounds and electronic textures to tell stories about the world around us. She is interested in the intersection between climate change and the arts, and the power that theatre and film has to communicate big issues. Her sound design in Crisis was shortlisted for #CreateCOP25, a competition for the UN’s COP25 Climate Conference in Madrid. 
 
She is also exploring other aspects of our relationship with the environment through collaborations with writers and other sound artists, on the topics of lithium mining in Bolivia, communication between trees and the importance of urban green space for our mental health. Germination, an audio piece in collaboration with non-fiction writer Laura Grace Simpkins has been selected for Louder Than The Storm’s ‘Climate Intersectionality exhibition 2020. 
 
As co-artistic director of Alan and Ron, a new climate comedy duo, she took their foley show Two Super Super Hot Men to VAULT Festival 2020. She is also a company member of Poltergeist and is currently involved in their show Art Heist as a deviser, performer and sound artist. The show went to Latitude Festival, Underbelly at Edinburgh Fringe Festival and New Diorama Theatre.
 
In 2019, she founded Staging Change a performer-led organisation, which aims to improve the environmental sustainability of the theatre and performance industry. Their network of theatre makers, venues and organisations now includes over 250 members, including Pleasance, Underbelly and National Theatre Wales.
Born 1988 in Berlin, studies in classics and history in Basel, Poitiers and Cambridge, while working as a freelance journalist for the Basler Zeitung, Süddeutsche Zeitung and Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung. In addition, internships and guest dramaturgy at the theatre and co-organiser of the "Junge Salon" (tr. young salon) in Berlin. PhD at the Humboldt University of Berlin, which he finished in 2016 with the dissertation "From Mommsen to Gelzer: Concepts of Roman-Republican society in 'constitutional law' and 'nobiles'".

Since October 2016, editor in the literary and arts section and publication of his first debut narrative Seven Nights. On the board for the organisation Arbeit an Europa since 2018 and initiator of the project European Archive of Voices. His book Römische Tage was published in 2019.    

Talking Culture #3: "Why women may hold the keys to a sustainable future"

Iwona Blazwick Photo: Christa Holka Shipping works of art, frequent international travel or single-use exhibition materials makes sustainability a pressing issue in the art world. How are female leaders using their voice to drive a sustainable future both within and outside the sector? In the third episode, Iwona Blazwick talks about sustainability in the art and cultural world. The director of the Whitechapel Gallery has also been participating in the Goethe-Institut’s Women in Culture Network.

Audio wird geladen

Iwona Blazwick has been Director of the Whitechapel Gallery, London since 2001 and is a curator, critic and lecturer; formerly at Tate Modern and London’s Institute of Contemporary Arts (ICA) as well as being an independent curator in Europe and Japan.

Recent curatorial projects include William Kentridge: Thick Time (2016), Thomas Ruff Photographs 1979-2017 (2017), Mark Dion: Theatre of the Natural World (2018) and Michael Rakowitz (2019) at the Whitechapel Gallery and Carlos Bunga: The Architecture of Life at MAAT, Lisbon (2019), The Palace at 4am, a group show at the Archaeological Museum Mykonos (2019) and Sight, a solo show with Antony Gormley and the Neon Foundation on the Island of Delos (2019).

Iwona Blazwick has written monographs and articles on many contemporary artists, published extensively on themes and movements in modern and contemporary art, exhibition histories and art institutions and is series editor of the Whitechapel Gallery/MIT Documents of Contemporary Art

Talking Culture #2: "Why theatre matters right now"

Kris Nelson Photo: Sharron Wallace Covid-19 is only one of the most recent challenges for theatres and festivals worldwide. The rise of right-wing parties has created mistrust and misunderstanding towards the sector in many countries. Why does theatre matter right now? In the second episode, we are speaking to Kris Nelson. The Artistic Director and CEO at LIFT and the Goethe-Institut London invited a number of theatre and festival directors to the first workshop of Dramatic Episodes.

Audio wird geladen

Kris Nelson is Artistic Director and CEO of LIFT, the London International Festival of Theatre. He was Festival Director of Dublin Fringe Festival from 2013 until 2017.

Home in Canada, Kris Nelson founded the performing arts agency Antonym where he represented Theatre Replacement, Public Recordings and 2boys.tv. He was a producer and Encounters Curator for Magnetic North Festival and initiated and co-curated a variety of platforms devoted to artist touring such as PushOFF.

Talking Culture #1: "Why the Germans do it Better"

John Kampfner Brady Lecture Foto © Goethe-Institut/ Pau Ros The Germans do it better, claims author and broadcaster John Kampfner. According to him, Germany confronts the challenges of the contemporary world more effectively than others - unlike ‘Brexit Britain’ and Trump’s America. In the first episode, we are presenting a lecture by Kampfner who focused on his forthcoming book provocatively titled Why the Germans Do It Better. Lessons from a Grown Up Country. The event took place on 4 December 2019.

Audio wird geladen

John Kampfner is an award winning author, broadcaster, commentator and force in the UK creative sector. He was Chief Political Correspondent at the Financial Times, political commentator for the BBC's Today programme, and editor of the New Statesman, regularly contributing to British and international media. He established the Creative Industries Federation in 2014 and was its CEO for five years. John Kampfner was also the founder Chair of Turner Contemporary, one of the UK's most successful art galleries.

His previous five books include the best-selling Blair’s Wars (2003) and Freedom For Sale (2009), which was short-listed for the Orwell Prize. Kampfner is a Senior Associate Fellow at the Royal United Services Institute (RUSI) and adviser to the Frankfurt Book Fair. He presents the podcast series Pale, Male and Stale with the comedian Shazia Mirza which looks at politics and identity.

His forthcoming book is provocatively titled Why the Germans Do It Better. Lessons from a Grown Up Country (to be published in July 2020). When the Berlin Wall came down in 1989, John Kampfner was working as the East Berlin correspondent of the Telegraph. Thirty years later, he finds a country transformed. Germany, for sure, faces problems: the social effects of the refugee influx, the rise of the AfD, a slowing economy, an ageing population, worsening infrastructure and a continued timidity in foreign affairs. Yet Kampfner juxtaposes contemporary Germany with the mayhem of 'Brexit Britain' and Trump's America and argues that its political maturity enables it to confront the challenges of the contemporary world better than others.
Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Talking Culture

Podcast des Goethe-Instituts London

Mit Folgen über Europa, Populismus, Nachhaltigkeit oder Feminismus vertonen wir in unserem Podcast Talking Culture aktuelle und globale Debatten in der Gesellschaft und Kulturwelt. In exklusiven Interviews sprechen wir mit Intellektuellen, Kulturschaffenden und Künstler*innen, die spannende Einblicke in ihre Arbeit und Recherchen geben. Sie können die Folgen auf iTunes, Spotify oder überall dort hören, wo man Podcasts abrufen kann.

Die Folgen sind alle auf Englisch verfügbar.


Aktuelle Folgen

Talking Culture #5: „Why artists work with blockchain technologies"

Talking Culture #5 mit Ben Vickers, Ruth Catlow, Dzina Zhuk, Nicolay Spesivtsev, Calum Bowden, Laura Lotti Fotos: privat; Skye Bougsty-Marshall (Laura Lotti) Wie könnten die Kunst und Zivilgesellschaft jetzt, da die Welt einer neuen Wirtschaftskrise gegenüber steht, von Blockchain-Technologien profitieren? Erfahren Sie von Künstler*innen, Kutaror*innen, Technolog*innen und Forscher*innen, die mit Blockchain ihre Arbeit revolutionieren. Mit Beiträgen von Ruth Catlow (Furtherfield), Ben Vickers (Serpentine Galleries) und Künstlerkollektiven aus Berlin und Moskau, die Teil der DAOWO Gobal Initiative sind. 

Audio wird geladen

Ben Vickers ist Kurator, Autor, Verleger und Technologe. Er ist CTO der Serpentine Galleries in London, Mitbegründer von Ignota Books und Initiator der Open-Source Ordensgemeinschaft unMonastery
Ruth Catlo ist Künstlerin, Kuratorin und Forscherin im Bereich emanzipatorische Netzwerkkulturen, -praktiken und -poetik. Zudem ist sie künstlerische Direktorin von Furtherfield, einem gemeinnützigen, internationalen Community-Zentrum für Kunst, Technologie und sozialen Wandel, das sie 1996 zusammen mit Marc Garrett in London gründete. Mitherausgeberin von Artists Re:Thinking the Blockchain (2017); Kuratorin der Wanderausstellung New World Order (2017-18); Gemeinsam mit Ben Vickers leitet sie die preisgekrönte DAOWO Arts and Blockchain Lab-Reihe in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut und ist Leiterin des Blockchain-Forschungslabors der Serpentine Galleries. Sie ist Direktorin von DECAL Decentralised Arts Lab, einer Initiative von Furtherfield, die sich der Mobilisierung von Forschung und Entwicklung durch führende Künstler verschrieben hat und Blockchain- und Web 3.0-Technologie für gerechtere, dynamischere und mehr vernetzte kulturelle Umweltforschung und Wirtschaftssysteme einsetzt. 
 
Dzina Zhuk ist Künstlerin und Technikwissenschaftlerin und lebt in Moskau und Minsk. Sie ist Mitglied der Gruppe eeefff und Flying Cooperation. Weiter ist sie Mitorganisatorin der jährlichen Veranstaltung WORK HARD! PLAY HARD! in Minsk. Ihr Alter-Ego Bitchcoin arbeitet mit Stimme, Audio, zukünftigen Beats und Sci-Fi-Synth. Zu ihren Hauptinteressen gehören unter anderem gefährdete Schnittstellen, die emotionalen Wirkungen von Algorithmen, die nicht-anthropozentrische Betrachtungsweise maschineller Intelligenz und imaginäre Szenarien der Gegenwart.
Nicolay Spesivtsev ist als Künstler und Forscher in Moskau und Minsk tätig. Mit einem technischen Hintergrund als Informatiker verbindet Spesivtsev einen kritischen Ansatz der Informatik, der mit rechnergestützten Wirtschaftssystemen und einem eigenartigen Futurismus verwoben ist. Er arbeitet mit Fantasien, die aus sich überschneidenden technologischen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Landschaften in der heutigen Kultur geboren wurden. Zu seinen Interessen zählen aus gefühlsbetonter Arbeit erwachsende Solidarität, kritische Ansätze zur Emanzipation der Freude aus Assemblagen der Körper lebender Subjekte (sowohl menschliche als auch nicht-menschliche), Computersysteme, digitale Entkolonialisierung in Osteuropa und vieles mehr. Er ist Mitglied der Gruppe eeefff und Flying Cooperation. Weiter ist er Mitorganisator der jährlichen Veranstaltung WORK HARD! PLAY HARD! in Minsk.
Calum Bowden schafft Geschichten, Welten und Plattformen, die die Beziehungen zwischen Organismen und Algorithmen, zwischen Menschen und Nichtmenschen, zwischen der Erde und dem Kosmos völlig neu interpretieren. Er war Mitbegründer von Trust und Black Swan. Calum besuchte das Graduiertenkolleg am Strelka-Institut in Moskau. Er verfügt über einen Master in Design Interactions vom Royal College of Art und einen Bachelorabschluss in Anthropologie vom University College London.
 
Laura Lotti untersucht die Beziehungen zwischen technologischen, wirtschaftlichen und kulturellen Systemen. Laura ist Forschungspartnerin bei Other Internet und erforscht dort gemeinsam mit anderen die kopflose Dynamik in vernetzten Kulturen. Sie ist Mitbegründerin von Black Swan und Mitglied von Trust.
 

Talking Culture #4: „Why young people need to preserve Europe“

Alice Boyd, Simon Strauß Photos: Kanahaya Alam; Martin Walz Europa setzt sich aus Geschichten unterschiedlicher Generationen zusammen. In dieser Folge sprechen wir mit zwei jungen Europäer*innen: der Komponistin und Theaterschaffenden Alice Boyd (GB) und dem Historiker und Journalisten Simon Strauß (DE). Welche Rolle spielt Europa für euch? Wovor fürchtet ihr euch nach dem Brexit? Eine ihrer Arbeiten ist Grundlage für das Projekt Erzähle mir von Europa, das im Rahmen der Dt. EU Ratspräsidentschaft 2020 stattfindet. 

Audio wird geladen

Alice Boyd ist eine Komponistin, Theaterschaffende und Umweltaktivistin aus London und Bristol. Ihre Arbeiten erzählen Geschichten über die Welt um uns herum, in denen sie Stimmen, alltägliche Geräusche und elektronische Töne integriert. Sie interessiert sich für die Schnittstelle zwischen Klimawandel und Kunst, aber auch für die Wirkung des Theaters und Films bei der Kommunikation bedeutender Themen. Ihre Tongestaltung bei Crisis schaffte es in die engere Auswahl bei #CreateCOP25, einem Wettbewerb der UN COP25 Climate Conference in Madrid.

In Zusammenarbeit mit Schriftsteller*innen und weiteren Klangkünstler*innen, erkundet sie weitere Aspekte unseres Verhältnisses zur Umwelt, etwa dem Thema Lithium Bergbau in Bolivien, Kommunikation zwischen Bäumen und der Bedeutung urbaner Grünflächen für die mentale Gesundheit. Ihr Audiowerk Germination, das in Zusammenarbeit mit der Sachbuchautorin Laura Grace Simpkins entstand, wurde für die Ausstellung Louder Than The Storm’s ‘Climate Intersectionality 2020 ausgewählt. 

Als Co-Artistic Director von Alan und Ron, einem neuen Klima Comedy Duo, schaffte sie es mit ihrem Stück Two Super Super Hot Men zum VAULT Festival 2020. Sie ist auch Mitglied beim Poltergeist Theater, wo sie das Stück Art Heist mitentwickelte und als Darstellerin und Klangkünstlerin mitwirkt. Das Stück wurde auch beim Latitude Festival, Underbelly beim Edinburgh Fringe Festival und New Diorama Theatre gezeigt.

2019 gründete sie Staging Change, eine Organisation, die von Darsteller*innen geführt wird und sich ökologische Nachhaltigkeit am Theater und in der Performance Industrie zum Ziel gemacht hat. Ihr Netzwerk aus Theaterschaffenden, Veranstaltungsorten und Organisationen zählt mittlerweile 250 Mitglieder, unter anderem auch Pleasance, Underbelly und National Theatre Wales.
 
Geboren 1988 in Berlin. Studium der Altertumswissenschaften und Geschichte in Basel, Poitiers und Cambridge. Daneben freie journalistische Tätigkeit bei der Basler Zeitung, Süddeutschen Zeitung und der Frankfurter Allgemeinen Zeitung. Hospitanzen und eine Gastdramaturgie am Theater. Mitorganisator des „Jungen Salons“ in Berlin. Von 2012 bis 2016 Promotionsstudium an der Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin, das er mit einer Dissertation unter dem Titel: „Von Mommsen zu Gelzer? Konzeptionen römisch-republikanischer Gesellschaft in ‚Staatsrecht‘ und ‚Nobilität‘“ abschloss.

Seit Oktober 2016 ist er Redakteur im Feuilleton. 2017 veröffentlichte er sein erzählerisches Debüt Sieben Nächte. Seit 2018 gehört er zum Vorstand des Vereins Arbeit an Europa e. V. und ist Initiator des europäischen Zeitzeugenprojekts European Archive of Voices. 2019 erschien sein Buch Römische Tage.
 

Talking Culture #3: „Why women may hold the keys to a sustainable future“

Iwona Blazwick Foto: Christa Holka Das Veschicken von Kunstwerken, Reisen ins Ausland oder Einwegprodukte bei Ausstellungen machen Nachhaltigkeit zu einer drängenden Frage in der Kunstwelt. Wie setzen sich weibliche Führungskräfte aus dem Sektor für eine nachhaltige Zukunft ein? In der dritten Folge erzählt Iwona Blazwick über Nachhaltigkeit in der Kunst- und Kulturwelt. Die Direktorin der Whitechapel Gallery nimmt auch an dem Women In Culture Netzwerk des Goethe-Instituts teil.

Audio wird geladen
 

Iwona Blazwick ist Kuratorin, Kritikerin und Lektorin und ist seit 2001 Direktorin der Whitechapel Gallery in London. Davor war sie bei der Tate Modern und dem Institute of Contemporary Arts (ICA) in London und als unabhängige Kuratorin in Europa und Japan tätig.

Zu ihren jüngsten kuratorischen Projekten zählen William Kentridge: Thick Time (2016), Thomas Ruff Photographs 1979-2017 (2017), Mark Dion: Theatre of the Natural World (2018) und Michael Rakowitz (2019) an der Whitechapel Gallery sowie Carlos Bunga: The Architecture of Life am MAAT, Lissabon (2019), The Palace at 4am, eine Gruppenausstellung am Archäologischen Museum auf Mykonos (2019) und Sight, eine Einzelausstellung mit Antony Gormley und der Neon Foundation auf Delos (2019).

Iwona Blazwick hat zahlreiche Monografien und Artikel über zeitgenössische Künstler*innen geschrieben und zu Themen und Bewegungen in der modernen und zeitgenössischen Kunst, Ausstellungshistorien und Kunstinstitutionen veröffentlicht. Sie ist Series Editor der Whitechapel Gallery/MIT Documents of Contemporary Art.

Talking Culture #2: „Why theatre matters right now”

Kris Nelson Foto: Sharron Wallace Covid-19 ist eine der jüngsten Herausforderungen für die Theaterszene weltweit. Der Aufstieg rechtsnationaler Parteien haben in einigen Ländern zu Misstrauen und Unverständnis gegenüber dem Sektor geführt. Warum ist Theater gerade jetzt so wichtig? Darüber sprechen wir mit Kris Nelson in der 2. Folge. Gemeinsam mit dem Artistic Director und CEO von LIFT luden wir zahlreiche Theater- und Festivaldirektor*innen zum ersten Workshop von Dramatic Episodes ein.

Audio wird geladen
 

Kris Nelson is künstlerischer Leiter und CEO von LIFT, dem London International Festival of Theatre. Von 2013 bis 2017 war er Festivalleiter des Dublin Fringe Festivals.

In seiner Heimat Kanada gründete Kris Nelson Antonym, eine Agentur für darstellende Künste, und vertrat Theatre Replacement, Public Recordings und 2boys.tv. Er war Produzent und Encounters Curator für das Magnetic North Festival und initiierte und ko-kuratierte verschiedene Platformen, die sich für Künstertourneen einsetzt wie zum Beispiel PushOFF.

Talking Culture #1: „Why the Germans do it Better”

John Kampfner Brady Lecture Photo © Goethe-Institut/ Pau Ros Deutschland macht es besser. Das behauptet der Autor und Journalist John Kampfner. Anders als "Brexit-Großbritannien" und Trumps Amerika könne sich Deutschland den Herausforderungen der heutigen Welt besser als andere Länder stellen. In der ersten Folge widmen wir uns dem brisanten Vortrag Kampfners, der am 4. Dezember 2019 bei uns über sein Buch Why the Germans Do It Better. Lessons from a Grown Up Country sprach.

Audio wird geladen

John Kampfner ist preisgekrönter Autor, Rundfunkmacher, Kommentator und eine treibende Kraft in der britischen Kreativbranche. Er war leitender politischer Korrespondent bei der Financial Times, politischer Kommentator für das Programm Today beim BBC und Herausgeber des New Statesman. Regelmäßig liefert er Beiträge für britische und internationale Medien. 2014 gründete Kampfner die Creative Industries Federation, wo er fünf Jahre lang als CEO tätig war. Daneben war er Gründungsvorsitzender der Turner Contemporary, einer der erfolgreichsten Kunstgalerien Großbritanniens.

Zu seinen Büchern zählen der Bestseller Blair’s Wars (2003) und Freedom For Sale (2009), das in die engere Auswahl für den Orwell-Preis kam. Kampfner ist Senior Associate Fellow am Royal United Services Institute (RUSI) und Berater der Frankfurter Buchmesse. Zusammen mit der Komikerin Shazia Mirza präsentiert er die Podcast-Reihe Pale, Male and Stale, die sich mit Politik und Identität befasst.

Sein neuestes Buchprojekt trägt den provokanten Titel Why the Germans Do It Better. Lessons from a Grown Up Country (Erscheinungsdatum Juli 2020). Als 1989 die Berliner Mauer fiel, arbeitete John Kampfner als Ostberlin-Korrespondent für den Telegraph. Dreißig Jahre später findet er ein anderes Land vor, das vor vielen Problemen steht: die sozialen Auswirkungen durch den Zustrom an Geflüchteten, der Aufstieg der AfD, eine sich verlangsamende Wirtschaft, einer alternde Bevölkerung, eine überholte Infrastruktur und eine anhaltende Zurückhaltung in der Auslandspolitik. Doch im Vergleich zu Trumps Amerika und Großbritannien, das vom Brexit-Chaos gebeutelten ist, besitzt Deutschland die politische Reife, die es dem Land ermöglicht, sich den Herausforderungen der heutigen Welt besser als andere zu stellen, so Kampfner.
Top