International Olympics in German
A competition for pupils worldwide

International Olympics in German International Olympics in German| Foto: © Goethe-Institut London

Ready, steady, go!

Every two years, secondary school students from all around the world come together in a German city to showcase their skills in German language and culture. In 2016 the event will take place in Berlin, and the United Kingdom will participate for the very first time!
 
The method is simple: After preliminary national decisions, each country sends two students to the global final in Germany where they will compete against each other and showcase their language skills.
 
Prior to the event British students were asked to hand in videos giving reasons why they would like to be part of the International Olympics.
 
On 22nd of April of 2016 the Goethe-Institut London invited the best seven students to their premises in London. Apart from skills in German language and culture, the students also showed their team spirit and creativity by doing group presentations about Germany among other activities. In the end the judges had the difficult task to choose the best of the best.
 
The two winners, Eddie Fenwick and Tara Kilcoyne, from The Minster School in Southwell, Nottinghamshire and The Henrietta Barnett School in North West London respectively, get to participate in the global finals in Berlin for two weeks in July this year. There they will compete with 'language athletes' from 65 countries.
 
The Goethe-Institut London and Glasgow organised the event in co-operation with the Association for Language Learning (ALL) and a partner school from the United Kingdom. The German Embassy in London kindly supported the event.

Internationale Deutscholympiade
Ein weltweiter Schülerwettbewerb

Internationale Deutscholympiade London Internationale Deutscholympiade London| Foto: © Goethe-Institut London

Auf die Plätze, fertig, los!

Alle zwei Jahre kommen Jugendliche aus aller Welt in einer deutschen Stadt zusammen, um ihre Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache und Kultur in einem internationalen Wettbewerb unter Beweis zu stellen. 2016 findet das internationale Finale in Berlin statt und Großbritannien ist zum ersten Mal dabei!
 
Das Prinzip ist einfach: Nach nationalen Qualifizierungsrunden schickt jedes teilnehmende Land zwei Schüler zum internationalen Finale nach Deutschland, wo sie ihr Können in der deutschen Sprache beweisen.
 
Erste Station für die britischen Schüler war der nationale Videowettbewerb für den sie Videobotschaften erstellten und ihre Gründe für die Teilnahme an der Deutscholympiade erklärten.
 
Für die besten Sieben ging es am 22. April 2016 weiter in die nationale Finalrunde am Goethe-Institut London. Neben guten Sprachkenntnissen kam es hier vor allem auf Kreativität und Teamfähigkeit an, denn auf dem Programm standen die Erstellung einer Wandzeitung und Gruppenpräsentationen. Alle Finalisten waren hochmotiviert dabei und so hatte die Jury die 'Qual der Wahl' die Besten unter den Besten auszuwählen.
 
Als Gewinner fahren Eddie Fenwick, The Minster School in Southwell, Nottinghamshire und Tara Kilcoyne, The Henrietta Barnett School in Nordwest London, zum internationalen Finale vom 17. - 30. Juli 2016 nach Berlin. Wir drücken beiden fest die Daumen, denn in Berlin wetteifern sie mit den besten Deutschlernern aus 65 Ländern.
 
Veranstalter der Deutscholympiade in Großbritannien waren die Goethe-Institute in London und Glasgow unter Beteiligung der Association for Language Learning (ALL) und einer ihrer Partnerschulen. Die Veranstaltung wurde unterstützt von der Deutschen Botschaft in London.